Expecting SLRGear.com? We’re moving our lens reviews to Imaging Resource! Read about it here.

Canon EF 180mm f/3.5L Macro USM

 
Lens Reviews / Canon Lenses i Not yet tested
180mm $1,399
average price
image of Canon EF 180mm f/3.5L Macro USM
(From Canon lens literature) Another telephoto macro lens with a maximum magnification of 1x. Life-size close-ups can be taken from a farther distance without disturbing the subject (insects, etc.). The internal floating system minimizes fluctuations in aberrations caused by changes in the focusing distance. Optical performance is outstanding from 1x to infinity.

Canon EF 180mm f/3.5L Macro USM User Reviews

9.8/10 average of 5 reviews Build Quality 10.0/10 Image Quality 9.8/10
Write your own review! link will open to SLRgear.com
  • 10 out of 10 points and recommended by (2 reviews)
    IQ on 5DII and 1DsIII
    IQ on 7D + extender EF1.4XII

    The CA must be corrected when use with the 7D but it's not difficult with DPP.

    reviewed October 19th, 2010 (purchased for $1,500)
  • 9 out of 10 points and recommended by (3 reviews)
    IQ, IQ, IQ, Tripod Collar, Focal Lenght, Bokeh
    No IS, AF*

    Just GREAT lens. Great! Color rendition is awsome. Bokeh is smooth and silky. It's built like a tank.
    On Canon 5D the focus tends to hunt IF the limiter is off. On Canon 1D Mk III this is not such a problem.

    Would be great if this one had an IS built-in.

    reviewed October 4th, 2009 (purchased for $1,230)
  • 10 out of 10 points and recommended by (82 reviews)
    Sharp, good color, great for longer reach macro, and built like a tank!
    Cost and weight.

    Built better than the Canon 100mm f/2.8 macro USM, every bit as good as the 100mm macro. Very sharp and good colors. This lens is a tank, but you will get more reach from it. Great lens, no issues here!

    Sample Photos Shot with a Canon 30D

    -Lex

    reviewed March 16th, 2008 (purchased for $1,250)
  • 10 out of 10 points and recommended by (21 reviews)
    Sharp, built like a tank, great working distance
    Little heavy, slow focusing

    This is the only macro I have ever used so cant compare to others. Iam very pleased with the lens. I shoot small creatures like bugs and frogs. The working distance is great as is the sharpness.
    I also use it as a long portrait tele on my 5D. In this role the focusing is alittle slow but still seems faster than the 85L. The 3.5 aperature is also a limiting factor in this role.

    reviewed December 14th, 2006 (purchased for $1,239)
  • 10 out of 10 points and recommended by (5 reviews)
    Good standoff, 1:1, useable with extention and 1.4x and 2x
    Very heavy, Slow to focus

    For field work I would use a TS lens or maybe the 100 which is also great.

    But for studio or out the tailgate this lens is just awesome.

    Very good macro, a little less DOF would be appreciated but that can be done with TUBES, though then the working range is very limited.

    Also works with the 1.4x and 2x which gives you good results and interesting effects.

    This or the 100 with a ring flash does awesome butterfly stuff.

    Both are great for flowers but I prefer the 180 for single subject and wide anlge with 12mm tube for multi subject shots.

    If they made this a 2.8 and updated the focus speed it would be legendary (in my opinion) though the 100 is the same or better and lighter and cheaper.

    Canon does good macro...

    reviewed December 30th, 2005