Expecting SLRGear.com? We’re moving our lens reviews to Imaging Resource! Read about it here.

Canon EF 300mm f/4L IS USM

 
Lens Reviews / Canon Lenses i Not yet tested
300mm $1,349
average price
image of Canon EF 300mm f/4L IS USM
(From Canon lens literature) Compact L-series telephoto lens with an Image Stabilizer which compensates for camera shake with the equivalent effect of a shutter speed two stops faster. Two Image Stabilizer modes are provided: Stabilizer Mode 1 (the same mode featured on the EF 75-300mm f/4-5.6 IS USM) and the new Stabilizer Mode 2 which steadies the image during horizontal or vertical panning. Mode 2 detects the panning direction automatically.

Canon EF 300mm f/4L IS USM User Reviews

9.8/10 average of 9 reviews Build Quality 9.8/10 Image Quality 9.9/10
Write your own review! link will open to SLRgear.com
  • 10 out of 10 points and recommended by (5 reviews)
    Exelente em todos os sentidos
    Nada

    Uma lente fantástica!!!!!!

    reviewed January 13th, 2012
  • 10 out of 10 points and recommended by (82 reviews)
    Sharp, compact, reasonable price!
    Nothing at this point.

    High-Res sample shots using a Canon EOS 30D

    Pros:
    Folks, this is a no-brainer these days. With the sensor
    technology advancement resulting in lower noise levels
    at higher ISO’s you can save the bank and your arms.

    It was a pleasure hand-holding this while shooting at the
    San Antonio Zoo. With ISO 400 on average and IS for back-
    up, I was shooting high enough shutter speeds to capture
    sharp and in-focus images. Much more compact that the
    Canon 300mm f/2.8 IS USM lens and for MUCH less!

    Built in lens hood...works great!

    Cons:
    The only think I can think of is even though it has internal
    focus, when the lens hangs down it will focus’drop (you
    can fell it in the barrel). This focus-drop will cause every
    subsequent shot in AF to travel more and therefore add a
    slight bit of time to focus-lock on the subject.

    -Lex

    reviewed November 16th, 2008 (purchased for $1,150)
  • 9 out of 10 points and recommended by (3 reviews)
    Light weight, sharp, relatively fast, fair cost, IS, love the hood.
    Too slow w/extender

    Having converted to the digital world a 18 months ago the new technology today continues to amaze me. This is a Great lens for the $. This lens has convinced me to try the 400 DO/4.0. With todays cameras and lens, the ability to shoot @800 ISO with good results finishing in CS2, the once prime 2.8's are not as necessary as in the past. I purchased several L's a year ago and all are miles ahead of yesterday's lens in my opinion. I find this one goes with me 95% of the time vs the 2.8 that unless needed for a specific shot is used much less than before.

    reviewed January 10th, 2007 (purchased for $1,100)
  • 10 out of 10 points and recommended by (10 reviews)
    Great image quality, price relative to that of the super teles
    Slow AF with Extender attached.

    I have been very happy with this lens for my nature photography. Well over half the shots I take have the Canon 1.4 Extender attached so that, on my 20D, the field of view is equivalent to that of a 672mm lens on a FF camera. Yes, for small birds the 500mm f4 would be much nicer but it costs much, much more than this combination. For large birds (like Herons) and for similarly large mammals the amount of reach that I have is adequate. My copy of the 300mm L IS is extremely sharp. At f4.0 it is very nearly as sharp as my 135L at f2.0. The extender drops the effective maximum aperture to f5.6 and the combination provides very good shapness. There is some slowing of the AF function when the 1.4X Extender is used. A big bonus is that the IS (along with the relatively light weight of this lens) means that I can use this lens hand held for most of my wildlife photography. I also like the retractable design of the lens shade since that makes it quick and easy to remove the lens cap or change filters.

    reviewed December 4th, 2006 (purchased for $1,650)
  • 10 out of 10 points and recommended by (1 reviews)
    IS

    Very versatile. Good for bird flight photos. IS helps with slower aperture. Nice if you only want one lens for wildlife.

    reviewed November 30th, 2006 (purchased for $1,300)
  • 10 out of 10 points and recommended by (2 reviews)
    Quick focus, sharp at all apertures, effective IS, integrated hood
    Noisy IS

    Lens has excellent image quality (sharpness, color and contrast). Almost as good as the 70-200L f4. This lens begs to be shot wide open. Focusing is very quick and silent. The lenses close minimum focusing distance allows it to be used for macro use if needed. The IS is very effective, however, it is rather noisy when it engages. The sliding hood is very convenient and well built. Overall, this lens is one of Canon's best bang for the buck bargains. Coupled with the 17-40L f4 and 70-200L f4, this rounds out a very high quality and versatile lens package.

    reviewed November 5th, 2006 (purchased for $1,000)
  • 10 out of 10 points and recommended by (2 reviews)
    Excellent sharpness, IS works well, lightning fast AF
    Slow AF with 1.4x TC II

    This lens is my sports shooting lens (soccer). Works great and is wonderful for being able to shoot tight. The AF tracks perfectly in AI Servo with a 5D - allowing one to keep the shutter half pressed allowing the AF to track until just the perfect instant to fire. Rate of keepers is very high.

    With the 1.4x TC II on board, this lens is still a pretty good 400mm f/5.6 lens. However, it is not all that good for sports since the AF is now that much slower - noticeably slow. You can do it but you are going to drop your keeper rate for sports.

    The sliding lens hood is the ticket. Much better than the screw on nonsense.

    Highly recommended.

    J.

    reviewed September 17th, 2006 (purchased for $1,100)
  • 10 out of 10 points and recommended by (5 reviews)
    Sharp Images - Smooth Operation
    IS is noisey but so what?

    Love this lens! Sharp images and a pleasure to use. IS feature is a bit noisey but doesnt bother me.

    reviewed November 2nd, 2005 (purchased for $1,000)
  • 9 out of 10 points and recommended by (5 reviews)
    Very Good Lens w/ Image Stabilization
    I want it to be even longer . . .

    I bought this one instead of the 400 f5.6 because it has the Image Stabilization. Add the 1.4x mulitiplier and this lens is still very good, as long as the 400, same effective aperture, WITH IS! I have excellent quality 13 x 19 prints taken with the 5D2 & older 10D.
    (I wish Canon would put IS on the 400mm f5.6)

    Newer body (5D2) and results are still excellent.

    Only down side to using the 1.4x is focusing speed for moving wildlife.

    reviewed October 20th, 2005 (purchased for $1,000)