Expecting SLRGear.com? We’re moving our lens reviews to Imaging Resource! Read about it here.

Canon TS-E 24mm f/3.5L II

 
Lens Reviews / Canon Lenses i Not yet tested
24mm $1,899
average price
image of Canon TS-E 24mm f/3.5L II

(From Canon lens literature) A superb refinement to a true Canon classic, the new TS-E 24mm f/3.5L II offers enhanced functionality and image quality in its most popular tilt-shift focal length. Designed with UD glass to minimize and compensate for chromatic aberrations and specially coated aspherical elements for the highest possible glare-free image quality, this tilt-shift lens features an angle of view of 74°. New TS revolving lets users freely combine tilting and shifting within the range of +/- 90° in the direction of movement. It has an enhanced range of movement of up to +/- 8.5°, a revolving construction for both portrait and landscape shooting modes, locking, ergonomically designed and easily operated tilt and shift knobs, uses a circular aperture for beautiful out-of-focus areas, and is constructed using only lead-free glass and has an SWC lens coating that controls ghosting and flare to a far greater degree than earlier coating technologies.

Canon TS-E 24mm f/3.5L II User Reviews

9.8/10 average of 5 reviews Build Quality 10.0/10 Image Quality 10.0/10
  • 10 out of 10 points and recommended by (5 reviews)
    Awesome lens, IQ is so good even for general photography without movements.
    None

    One of my three "perfect" primes: 24TSE II, 50/1.2L, and 100L macro.

    This 24 TSE is probably the cherished lens of my collection.

    I got rid of the Zeiss ZE 21/2.8 after comparing to this 24 TSE II and finding it redundant as a focal length (great imaging though, but not better) and no movements.

    reviewed April 4th, 2013 (purchased for $2,200)
  • 10 out of 10 points and recommended by (3 reviews)
    Extremely sharp to the corners, no CA, low distortion, tilt & shift
    Cost, large filters

    I was looking for a lens which was flexible enough to shoot buildings and landscapes, without having to correct for keystone errors. Well the only way to go is to get a TS-E lens. I read the reviews and feedback from users, and this is THE 24mm to get. It may not have the f1.4 or autofocus, but it is sharp, really sharp, and the creative effects from lens tilt just increase your creative options.

    Takes a little getting used to at first: manual focus and manual exposure setting. The result is well worth the effort. Highly recommended.

    reviewed June 6th, 2011 (purchased for $2,006)
  • 10 out of 10 points and recommended by (2 reviews)
    Razor sharp, brilliant picture quality, no CA

    This lens will work very well with 30 Mpix.

    The best results are near f/8
    http://www.dpreview.com/lensreviews/canon_24_3p5_tse_c10/page3.asp

    Tilt lens simulator
    http://www.bstorage.com/photo/tilt/tilt.htm

    reviewed October 19th, 2010 (purchased for $2,700)
  • 10 out of 10 points and recommended by (2 reviews)
    Razor sharp, brilliant picture quality, no CA
    none

    I'm just amazed the quality of images obtained with this lens! Sharp as a razor, from the center to the extreme corners, even at open aperture. Perfect for the artistic and architectural photography, TS-E 24/L3.5 II simply the best 24mm lens.

    reviewed December 6th, 2009 (purchased for $2,300)
  • 9 out of 10 points and recommended by (1 reviews)
    Superb image quality, sharp, extremely well build
    price

    This a superb lens. It's even the best 24mm lens I have used so far. This lens offers you creativity with excellent optical performance. This lens is in my bag all the time.

    reviewed October 14th, 2009 (purchased for $2,100)