Expecting SLRGear.com? We’re moving our lens reviews to Imaging Resource! Read about it here.

Carl Zeiss 15mm f/2.8 Distagon T* 2.8/15

 
Lens Reviews / Carl Zeiss Lenses i Not yet tested

Your purchases support this site

Buy the Carl Zeiss 15mm f/2.8 Distagon T* 2.8/15
15mm $3,083
average price
image of Carl Zeiss 15mm f/2.8 Distagon T* 2.8/15

(From Carl Zeiss lens literature) Infinitely wide horizons, cramped interiors or small objects in large surroundings - with the Distagon T* 2.8/15, all photographers can deliberately orchestrate extreme perspectives. With a field angle of 110°, the super wide angle is the ideal companion when it comes to capturing events in a way that makes them dynamic and extraordinary. Whether salt crystals or drops of water – its integrated lens shade and standard filter thread afford the front lens optimal protection from wind and weather.

The technically impressive features of the Distagon T* 2,8/15 include extraordinary chromatic aberration correction and the prevention of color fringes caused by chromatic aberration almost without exception. Two aspheric lenses, special types of glass with exceptional partial dispersion and the floating elements design, guarantee high image quality from close-up to infinity. The Carl Zeiss T* anti-reflective coating and the advanced treatment of the lens edges with special dark black lacquers ensure insensitivity to reflections and stray light.

Carl Zeiss 15mm f/2.8 Distagon T* 2.8/15 User Reviews

9.3/10 average of 3 reviews Build Quality 9.7/10 Image Quality 9.7/10
  • 8 out of 10 points and recommended by (1 reviews)
    Excellent image quality, colors are quite amazing with a circ. polarizer. I was trying this lens out against the Zeiss 18mm and the Rokinon 14mm for Sony on my A7 and my big Nikon. No contest. I especially like the 'look' one gets with the 15mm. Some thin
    cost, and cost of the polarizer.

    Optical performance of this ZE 15 f/2.8 Distagon is astounding. It is manual focus and demands a deliberate approach to conceiving and framing compositions.

    The Canon 14L II has AF and is a fine performer. The Zeiss, however, is superior with its precision focus ring, flatter field, and sharp rendition right out to the corners. I expect the Zeiss to excel in photography of the northern lights.

    I noticed that infinity focus on my Canon 5D Mark III is not at the hard stop of the focus ring. Furthermore, the AF confirmation beep is not reliable even with micro-adjustment. To extract the best out of this lens, use Live View.


    Barry
    ----------------------

    http://www.hitsticker.com | http://www.printradiant.com | http://www.adstateagent.com

    reviewed November 21st, 2015 (purchased for $2,950)
  • 10 out of 10 points and recommended by (1 reviews)
    Colour rendition, contrast and wonderfully sharp. Astonishing build quality.
    price

    Quite simply a superb wide angle lens. Image quality is to die for. Colours and contrast are amazing. Build quality is in a league of its own.

    Manual focus is entirely appropriate for the characteristics of this lens.For Landscapes, interiors and street photography so far it is in its element.

    Price in the UK is even higher than elsewhere but "mortgaging my Grandmother", metaphorically speaking I hasten to add, has been worth it!

    In a phrase, wide angle heaven.

    reviewed January 8th, 2013 (purchased for $3,600)
  • 10 out of 10 points and recommended by (2 reviews)
    Sharp, no distorsion, excellent build quality
    Price and size

    It is simply the best super wide I ever used.

    It is not much to say about it - else than amazing!
    I thought the Nikkor 14-14mm was so close to perfect as it was, but after tried this one, it is far behind.

    The only thing that could be better is the price. It is to expensive for most photographers not getting paid for their photos.

    reviewed September 5th, 2012 (purchased for $2,700)