Expecting SLRGear.com? We’re moving our lens reviews to Imaging Resource! Read about it here.

Nikon 1 6.7-13mm f/3.5-5.6 Nikkor VR

 
Lens Reviews / Nikon Lenses i Not yet tested
6.7-13mm $497
average price
image of Nikon 1 6.7-13mm f/3.5-5.6 Nikkor VR

(From Nikon lens literature) Create stunning ultra-wide-angle photos and HD videos with this compact high-performance lens. Ideal for travel, architectural photography, indoor shooting and more, it delivers a 100° angle of view to bring more into the frame; and foreground-subject emphasis for exploring creative new compositions.

Capture an entire building from street level; a large group of friends without having to back up, or a brilliant sunset with the breathtaking expansiveness it deserves. Featuring premium NIKKOR optics and built-in Vibration Reduction technology, the 1 NIKKOR 6.7-13mm f/3.5-5.6 VR is a versatile travel companion and high-performance addition to your Nikon 1 system.

Nikon 1 6.7-13mm f/3.5-5.6 Nikkor VR User Reviews

9.0/10 average of 3 reviews Build Quality 9.3/10 Image Quality 8.7/10
  • 10 out of 10 points and recommended by (10 reviews)
    Buy it, and you will know what your camera is capable of. Sharp and solid.
    None (I bought it used, but it is worth its new price too)

    Before, I used my Nikon 1 V1 with the 10-30mm kit lens. It felt like a decently built camera with an image quality slightly superior to a good compact (in my case, a Canon G9). Then I bought this lens. Now my camera feels like a solid block of metal, like a Fujifilm X100, and the picture quality feels like DX or APS-C, like my Nikon D5000 or Samsung NX100. Before, I was not sure that my Nikon 1 was worth its price. Now it is is a bargain.

    reviewed March 26th, 2014 (purchased for $400)
  • 9 out of 10 points and recommended by (23 reviews)
    Sharp, rugged, and with anti-shake
    Slightly larger than most Nikon 1 lenses, quite costly

    This is a darling of a lens: utterly sharp, with built-in anti-shake (Nikon calls it VR), and a practical size.

    It is slightly bigger than most other Nikon 1, and covers ultra-wide, to normal wide, or in 35mm terms: 18mm to 35mm, a very useful range, for street photography, indoors, and a lot of other users!

    Almost all other Nikon 1 lenses uses 40.5 filter thread, but this uses the more common 52mm thread, thus a great advantage, if you like filters, close-up lenses, and similar items.

    Its two disadvantages are size, and cost, compared to most Nikon 1 lenses.

    reviewed May 21st, 2013 (purchased for $680)
  • 8 out of 10 points and recommended by (40 reviews)
    Sharp center, small, lightweight, fast and silent autofocus, metal
    Soft corners, CA, distortion

    The Nikon 1 6.7-13mm is a compact lightweight lens that offers a versatile wide angle zoom range equivalent to approx. 18 to 35 mm in 35mm format.

    The zoom ring is nice and wide and the textured metal provides adequate grip. Zooming is a little stiff though. The plastic inner barrel doesn't extend much when you zoom in and out (approx. one centimeter). The lens feels sturdy but light.

    Nikon decided to go completely wild and provides a nice plastic petal shaped lens hood (HB-N105) with this lens. Thank you Nikon.

    Autofocus is quick, silent and accurate. The 6.7-13mm has image stabilization which in some situations can compensate for the relatively small maximum aperture. It's a nice option to have and it doesn't seem to make the lens too big.

    Sharpness and contrast are very good in the center of the image. Unfortunately, the corners are a little soft, especially at 6.7mm. The sample I tried was softer on the left side then on the right. The bottom left corner in particular was soft.

    Stopping down helped, but the corners never got really good. To be honest, I expected this, because most cheap(ish) ultra wide angels suffer from some corner softness. I also found some CA and vignetting and the lens suffers from distortion at all focal lengths.

    If your images need to be tack sharp from corner to corner without any distortion, you'll have to switch to another (bigger and/or more expensive) lens or use a different camera system all together.

    So, is this little wide angle zoom worth the money? I think it is, if you can live with the shortcomings and if you want to keep the size and weight of your Nikon 1 system down to an absolute minimum.

    reviewed April 6th, 2013