Expecting SLRGear.com? We’re moving our lens reviews to Imaging Resource! Read about it here.

Nikon 10.5mm f/2.8G ED AF DX Fisheye Nikkor

 
Lens Reviews / Nikon Lenses i Not yet tested
10.5mm $772
average price
image of Nikon 10.5mm f/2.8G ED AF DX Fisheye Nikkor

(From Nikon lens literature) The first fisheye lens developed exclusively for use with Nikon DX Format. Ultra wide picture angle of 180 degrees on DX sensor achieved by producing a smaller image circle (the size of the image that is projected by the lens on to the sensor) enabling smaller lens diameter, lighter weight and optimal image quality from center-to edge-to-corner on the image. Equivalent to 16mm focal length on 35mm. Close-Range Correction (CRC) provides high performance for sharper images when taking pictures up close. Design enables a combination of wider angle-of-view with optical characteristics that are optimized for Nikon digital SLR camera sensors. Nikon D-type design provides precise distance information for flash and ambient light exposure processes. Rounded diaphragm to make out-of-focus elements appear more natural. Fully Compatible with D1, D1X, D1H, D2H, D100, and D70.

Nikon 10.5mm f/2.8G ED AF DX Fisheye Nikkor User Reviews

9.7/10 average of 10 reviews Build Quality 9.6/10 Image Quality 9.7/10
  • 10 out of 10 points and recommended by (1 reviews)
    Small, sharp, predictable, well built
    None

    This lens, like all fish-eye lens, is all about understanding where it will be at its best. I love to use it in big spaces. The bigger the space, the less noticeable the lens will be without editing. The fish-eye effect is great, when that is what you want, but when you want to squeeze as much of the Grand Canyon into one picture, there is no better way. When space is limited, the fish-eye will have maximum noticeable distortion on the image. As many have already said, there is software to remove that distortion, if that is what you want. If you buy this lens, you must experiment with it so you can get a feel for where is shines. Many people judge the fish-eye by the pictures they have seen that only exploit the obvious. Skate park pictures are one.

    reviewed November 11th, 2010 (purchased for $600)
  • 9 out of 10 points and recommended by (6 reviews)
    f/2.8 maximum aperature, sharp..even wide open, ultra-wide
    Build quality left wanting, don't lose your lens cap.

    What a great lens. Don't listen to people that tag this lens as a lens that is exclusive to skateboarder/snowboarder photography.

    This is a great lens that allows you to take some pretty unbelievable shots.

    Just keep in mind when you are shooting the actual distortion properties of the lens and you can get some pretty amazing and unique shots.

    I use mine as an ultra-wide angle lens when I need something more than the 17mm end of my Tamron 17-50mm f/2.8.

    If you wanna get rid of the fisheye effect there are many programs and patches for editing software that you can use. The ability to do this makes this a versatile 'prime' wide-angle lens, which allows you a lot of room for creativity.

    PROS
    This lens is SHARP and has excellent overall image quality.
    It is able to focus extremely close with your subject almost touching the front element.

    CONS
    If you want to use a filter it is going to be mounted on the back of the lens.
    Don't lose the front lens cap...cause I doubt your local camera store has a replacement on site.
    Build quality leaves a little to be desired. It has a lot of plastic.

    CONCLUSION
    If you are looking for the extra-wide fisheye effect...buy it. You won't regret it. Find a used one at a good price and you won't lose money as this lenses resale value holds pretty well.

    reviewed March 27th, 2010 (purchased for $500)
  • 9 out of 10 points and recommended by (12 reviews)
    Tiny, fun, optical quality
    as with any fisheye limited use

    Tiny lens I always tend to keep in the bag as it takes up so little space.

    Dense and solid build quality.

    Wonderful distortion and angle of view for the right shots. Its sharp where it matters and very good into the corners, with the lovely contrast and colour rendition of the pro lenses. Some inevitable CA in the corners.

    Mind that front element as the lens can focus very close and make you feel a long way off even when you are about to knock it on the subject!

    As with any fisheye, it has limited use but is a little jewel and a lot of fun when the inspiration strikes.

    reviewed May 15th, 2009
  • 10 out of 10 points and recommended by (3 reviews)

    This is easily the most fun lens in my bag. Anytime I hit a creative block all I need to do is throw this on and go nuts.

    Obviously this is a fisheye and you get the crazy distortion effect, but come on, isn't that the point?!?!

    Lens itself is sharp, and quick to focus. f/2.8 allows you to get some interesting lower light effects as well.

    I love this lens and highly recommend it to anyone...anyone who understands it isn't to be used for everything, but is a heck of a lot of fun when you do use it!

    reviewed January 11th, 2007 (purchased for $600)
  • 10 out of 10 points and recommended by (7 reviews)
    fun, really wide, sharp
    be careful with the front element!

    I initially had read Ross_Alford's review (down below), among others from around the web and decided to get the lens. It definitely is a fun lens, allowing me to capture shots that would otherwise be impossible in tight quarters, like this shot I took of a photo booth at a wedding:

    http://www.marokero.com/2006/large-4.html

    Distortion be damned, fun shots like that wouldn't be as fun if this lens was rectilinear :)

    Image quality is great, contrast, saturation, chromatic aberration can be minimized shooting at smaller apertures (and most CA can be further corrected in Nikon Capture or ACR as previously mentioned), virtually no ghosting or flaring as all incoming light is image forming.

    As I've stated in the con for this lens, you have to be careful when using this lens. I've already got a very tiny nick on the lens coating - have no idea how or where that happened. I keep the cap handy everytime I use it, so as soon as I my eye is no longer on the viewfinder I place the cap back on.

    In my D2x I can use this lens for group shots if in a pinch - I change to HSC mode and get a view slightly wider than I'd get shooting with my 17-35. A bit more distortion, but again, only in a pinch.

    I guess my only regret is not getting this lens sooner! :)

    reviewed December 15th, 2006 (purchased for $580)
  • 10 out of 10 points and recommended by (9 reviews)
    Unique Perspective, Great Image Quality, Compact Package
    Gelatin Filters only

    Can't say a whole lot more than what has already been said about this lens. Very few people probably NEED this lens, but it provides a great creative outlet that enables you to shoot in ways you wouldn't have otherwise thought of.

    Definitely has some CA wide open, which I've found is largely correctable in Capture. As has been noted, converting the images to rectilinear format results in cropping and softening of the corners - it is certainly not a replacement for the ultra-wide zooms that are out there.

    AF speed is lightening quick (no need for AFS here) and overall build quality and handling are great.

    Bottom line, this lens put a smile on my face everytime I shoot with it!

    reviewed November 22nd, 2006 (purchased for $589)
  • 10 out of 10 points and recommended by (10 reviews)
    One fun lens!
    Soft on the edges when corrected for distortion

    This is one fun lens!

    It is sharp and if you are careful, you won't notice the barrel distortion.

    Its only draw back is that when you correct the distortion in Nikon View, the edges are soft and you are stuck with red-cyan CA on the edges.

    Keeping the image distorted and imported via ACR, the CA is easily corrected.

    Rather than fight it, I leave the images distorted and just have fun.

    If you want a fun lens, this is it. Just watch for your feet, fingers and hat when you shoot with this lens!

    reviewed November 5th, 2005 (purchased for $500)
  • 9 out of 10 points and recommended by (2 reviews)
    Sharp, gorgeous contrast & colour rendering
    Just be careful of that front element

    I bought this lens just for a bit of fun without even bothering to read any reviews. I have been absolutely astonished and delighted by the quality of the images it produces which have exceeded any expectations I might have had. I rarely do any correction in post-processing since I love the fish-eye distortion it produces.
    It is superbly sharp, but an even bigger surprise was just how beautifully contrasty images are, producing sumptuous colour saturation.
    Build quality is excellent in my opinion and it feels solid and reliable.
    My only warning is, just be ultra-careful of that exposed front element. There is a huge temptation to get really up close and personal with the subject you are shooting and it's all too easy to bump into something whilst concentrating on the view through the viewfinder.
    Highly recommended.

    reviewed October 28th, 2005
  • 10 out of 10 points and recommended by (3 reviews)
    excellent image resolution edge to edge, compact, fun, little flaring
    none

    An extremely fun lens that produces a very high percentage of keeper images. Sharpness is excellent. Very little flare or ghosting even if the sun is brought into the field. Color rendition is also excellent. Nikon Capture works very well and easily to convert to rectilinear image, although I find that I usually prefer the fisheye perspective. Full field view is also a big advantage over circular fisheyes.
    Highly recommended.

    reviewed October 24th, 2005 (purchased for $600)
  • 10 out of 10 points and recommended by (36 reviews)
    excellent image quality, small, light, well-built
    none

    This is a superb lens. Image quality is really stunning; sharp from corner to corner even near wide open (I have not done careful tests, so am not sure about f/2.8 which I rarely use, but even 1 or 2 stops down it is superb, easily coping with the dense pixels of a D2x). There is little if any vignetting, CA is pretty well under control , but there is some, worth correcting in post-processing, particularly at wider apertures.

    Even when remapped to extreme-ultrawide rectilinear using Nikon Capture or Panorama Tools it retains excellent quality, except at extreme edges (which cannot be avoided as distortion due to mapping onto flat projection gets to be extreme and every pixel is smeared out). You can get about 120-130 degrees with very high quality by doing this.

    Physical quality of the lens seems excellent, it is solid and feels well-built. Interestingly, it appears to cover edge-to-edge on full-frame 35mm. Top and bottom are vignetted by the lens hood, but corner-to-corner appears reasonably sharp and covers well over 180 degrees. Unfortunately, due to almost never shooting on film anymore, I have not yet gotten any full-frame photos developed; it will be interesting to see how they look.

    samples:

    image remapped to panorama

    http://www.pbase.com/northqueenslandphotos/image/43490026

    images remapped to ca 120 degree ultrawide

    http://www.pbase.com/northqueenslandphotos/image/43490028
    http://www.pbase.com/northqueenslandphotos/image/43490048

    (note that, amazingly enough, the built in flash on the D70 actually covered the whole frame on the second one!

    reviewed October 23rd, 2005