Expecting SLRGear.com? We’re moving our lens reviews to Imaging Resource! Read about it here.

Nikon 24-85mm f/2.8-4D IF AF Nikkor

 
Lens Reviews / Nikon Lenses i Not yet tested
24-85mm $742
average price
image of Nikon 24-85mm f/2.8-4D IF AF Nikkor

(From Nikon lens literature) Wide to telephoto 3.5x zoom lens ideal for landscape, full length portraits, travel and portrait photographs. Maximum Reproduction Range (R:R) at 85mm is (1:2) Life Size. Filter attachment does not rotate during focusing or zooming. Fast f/2.8 maximum aperture at 24m setting is ideal for available light shooting or Slow/Rear flash sync techniques.

Nikon 24-85mm f/2.8-4D IF AF Nikkor User Reviews

8.4/10 average of 5 reviews Build Quality 8.2/10 Image Quality 8.0/10
Write your own review! link will open to SLRgear.com
  • 8 out of 10 points and recommended by (2 reviews)
    Relatively fast, solid build, aperture ring, excellent Macro capability
    Very soft wide open, no VR, quite hefty

    I got this lens because it's faster than most kit zooms, but not huge like the 24-70, it's compatible with my film body, and it has a decent 1:2 macro ability.

    It's capable of great shots, but it's pretty disappointing wide open. The system of switching in and out of macro mode is a bit annoying, but fine once you're used to it.

    The price I paid was on eBay for a 2nd hand model with very light signs of use.

    reviewed February 19th, 2014 (purchased for $400)
  • 9 out of 10 points and recommended by (21 reviews)
    good range, FX compatible, fast at wide angle, fast focussing, sharp
    very short focus range so hard to focus manually, slightly too much plastic

    this is a very underestimated zoom which is capable of great image quality from about F5.6 onwards. Its slightly weak at 85mm. I have primes for 85, 50, and 28 mm but this lens loses little to these up to around F11. This is my go-to lens for most casual shooting - the only knock-off for Nikon is the fact that I cant see any reason to buy the 24-70 F2.8 but it sure doesn't bother me!

    As mentioned in the cons section the construction says "consumer" and it has what must be the least amount of focus travel of any lens I have ever used - but this also results in really quick auto focus. Again, VERY underrated and its not a surprise that Nikon have killed their much later replacement lens and kept this one going.

    reviewed November 2nd, 2009 (purchased for $850)
  • 8 out of 10 points and recommended by (6 reviews)
    Very impressive IQ between 24-50mm, low price
    More plastic than metal

    You'll be satisfied with this lens unless you desperately require new AF technology or true IF design. I bought it because of its low price and I don't prefer DX format zooms for my lens collection. By the way, AF is fast and accurate, but noisier than newer versions (is that really a problem?!)

    It's a fast lens with very impressive IQ (esp. between 24-50mm @ f/2.8-5.6). Even at 85mm you'll get great sharpness when stopped down to f/8. I believe the IQ of this beats the newer AF-S 24-85mm (except for IQ at long end).

    The macro option (1:2 @ 85mm) is nice to have and produces results as good as it gets for a 1:2 ratio.

    BQ: The weakest chain when compared to newer nikon models. Too much plastic but well built. Has non rotating front element. Focus ring rotates during AF but not much of a problem because the ring is quite thin (which is not good if you focus manually).

    Distortion: Barrel distortion at 24mm (visible on architectural shots) and slight pincussion at long end.

    LaCAs: Well controlled for a zoom lens but can be seen @ wide open. Better performance than AF-S 24-85mm ED.

    Bokeh: Nice bokeh (has 9-blade diaphragm).

    Vignetting: It's a FF lens. Mounting it on a D90 let you forget the vignetting issues even at wide open.

    reviewed September 30th, 2009 (purchased for $500)
  • 10 out of 10 points and recommended by (20 reviews)
    Image quality, build quality, macro
    Little bit soft at 24mm/f2.8

    It's my second 24-85/2.8-4 lens. I sold the first in order to upgrade to 17-55mm/f2.8. After I saw the picture of 17-55, I sold it and got that new again =) There's no rivals for this. Great picture, beautyful bokeh and outstanding macro... it's all in one lens =) Made in Japan

    reviewed December 30th, 2007 (purchased for $580)
  • 7 out of 10 points and recommended by (7 reviews)
    24mm, macro
    weighty, build, manual focus, soft

    A jack of all trades, relativly fast, usefull zoom range, espcially in the wide side, 24 mm is a real bon over the norm 28mm.

    Macro ability is brilliant, you can realy get up close.

    Robustly built, however build quilty let down by some playin focus ring and plastic zooming barrel.

    Image quality is good (though not brilliant) a bit soft.

    lightdrop through these lens is quit large, image through viewfinder is darker and not as crisp compared to other lenses (nikor 80-200/2.8, tamron 28-80/2.8).

    Fast autofocus though manual focus is a let down short movment and plasticky feel.

    rather pricey for what you get. buy it if you don't care for third brands, want the extra wide angle or macro, otherise the tamron 2.8 is lighter sharper and cheaper.

    reviewed November 15th, 2006 (purchased for $560)