Expecting SLRGear.com? We’re moving our lens reviews to Imaging Resource! Read about it here.

Nikon 28-105mm f/3.5-4.5D AF Nikkor

 
Lens Reviews / Nikon Lenses i Not yet tested

Your purchases support this site

Buy the Nikon 28-105mm f/3.5-4.5D AF Nikkor
28-105mm $212
average price
image of Nikon 28-105mm f/3.5-4.5D AF Nikkor

(From Nikon lens literature) Superior optical performance through use of IF technology and Aspheric lens element. Versatile lens for shooting landscapes, group shots and head and shoulder type portraits. 9 bladed diaphragm produce natural out of focus highlights.

Nikon 28-105mm f/3.5-4.5D AF Nikkor User Reviews

8.5/10 average of 13 reviews Build Quality 8.1/10 Image Quality 8.6/10
  • 8 out of 10 points and recommended by (20 reviews)
    Good focal length range, very sharp, usable macro.
    Heavy, no VR, macro is a bit difficult to switch into.

    Hardly a state of the art lens. But they're so cheap for what you get it's hard not to get your money's worth out of it. The focal length range is adequate for most purposes, and the macro is almost a true macro, plenty good enough for most purposes. The heft of the lens compensates a bit for the lack of VR, but VR would be nicer. Nevertheless, it's a good, handy package for a walkabout. I've thought of unloading it many times, but I still have it and intend to keep it. That says something.

    reviewed October 5th, 2013 (purchased for $250)
  • 8 out of 10 points and recommended by (9 reviews)
    jack of all trades
    some hallos fully open, on the heavy side

    It's an FF lens and it does perform better on FF. It's reasonably sharp wide open, very sharp one stop closed, some vignetting on 28mm, but nothing too bad. Macro goes to 1:2, it isn't very conveniently designed, but it's better than not having it.
    On APS-C it's not as good. Fully open the lens is soft and contrast isn't that good with some halos in high contrast situations. The lens has very good resolution when closed one stop on the short end. Resolution and contrast get worse on the long end, still one stop down and it gets very good.
    Overall, it's not a stellar lens, but it's a good performer for very little money.
    Compared to 24-120/3.5-5.6D lens this one is practically equal on the short end, though 24-120 doesn't have any haloing and slightly better wide open. The 24-120 also has better corners on FF. On the long end 24-120 lens is better wide open, but both are very much the same when closed to f/8. I would say 24-120 is overall a slightly better performer, but I wouldn't hesitate getting any of those D lenses.

    reviewed May 20th, 2013 (purchased for $120)
  • 9 out of 10 points and recommended by (7 reviews)
    Good optical quality, contrasty and sharp. Low cost
    Plasticy feel and construction.

    This is a good all around carry lens on a DX or FX autofocus camera. Good performer but a little soft on either end wide open. Very good all around. I like it and use it often on a F100 if I'm carrying one lens. Good color and contrast.

    reviewed October 16th, 2012 (purchased for $300)
  • 8 out of 10 points and recommended by (52 reviews)
    build quality, versatile range, IQ, macro mode
    none

    a very balanced lens. I got it as a "kit" on my F90x. It is a strong performer and does almost anything you'll ever needed in photography. An ideal walkaround-performance lens in its era. I used it much for portraits back then. It produces a nice looking bokeh.

    One nice additional is the "semi" macro capability. It has close focusing ability (manual mode) to boost up your creativity. Not a real macro lens, but it's so fun to use.

    reviewed October 13th, 2012 (purchased for $150)
  • 9 out of 10 points and recommended by (2 reviews)
    sharp, contrasty, well built, good range, little distortion, relatively fast,acceptable macro
    front element turns while zooming

    This is truly a hidden gem in the Nikon lens line-up. It is sharp and contrasty, displays good colour rendition, has little distortion and is fast for a non-pro lens. It also has on-board macro built-in (really close focusing but close enough).

    I have an aversion to the 18-xx(x) zooms because of the distortion at the wide end and the cheap plastic feel. All those consumer grade lenses seem mediocre in all respects, from IQ to build quality to aperture speed. I've owned several and used most of them.

    In my experience this 28-105 outperforms the newer, wider lenses in all respects (except maybe lack of AF-S). Even at that, the 28-105 auto focuses and acquires focus as fast or faster than it's newer counterparts. In my hands this lens feels more well built, sturdy and rugged than any of the plasticy AF-S lenses.

    I've moved to mostly prime lenses for the image quality, colour and contrast but for an everyday, walk around, do everything lens, the 28-105 stays on my camera most of the time. If I have a specific task to do I'll chose the prime(s) for the job but if I need a zoom other than an ultra wide or long telephoto I'll take the 28-105 anytime.

    I needed a lens for an up-scale fashion show and decided I needed a zoom for the versatility of a fast paced environment. I chose the 28-105 and came away with some of the best images in my portfolio.

    As far as use on a crop sensor DSLR, I know I don't have the wider end with this lens but I am satisfied with the range I know I have if I decide to use it.

    Granted, the macro feature is not for 1:1 reproduction but it allows me to get close photos of flowers, tree buds and abstract objects that I would not otherwise be able to get with other than a dedicated macro lens.

    Flare can be a bit of an issue with this lens if the sun or bright lights are in the frame but I bought an inexpensive, collapsible rubber lens hood for the lens that I just leave on it all the time. Flare is now seldom an issue.

    The one area with which I am dissatisfied with the 28-105 is the rotating front element. I find having to try and remember to re-adjust my C. Pol. filter each time I zoom to be a real pain. Thankfully it is much easier to adjust the C. Pol with a rubber hood that screws into it than to adjust a C. Pol by reaching into the bayonet hood found on newer lenses.

    Choosing photography gear is all about making compromises. I feel I make the least compromises and come away with the most useful all around lens when I chose the 28-105.

    reviewed May 5th, 2011 (purchased for $125)
  • 8 out of 10 points and recommended by (4 reviews)
    Great walk around on my D700, sharp, built well
    Macro works but clunky operation

    This is a hidden gem for the price point. Reasonably fast focus, sharp, great range, slight distortion at28mm. This is certainly not a pro lens but it holds up quite well if used properly.

    reviewed November 25th, 2010 (purchased for $225)
  • 10 out of 10 points and recommended by (21 reviews)
    f4.5 at 105mm and well built
    not AF-S

    Nikon professional user. I use this lens on my D300 and D200 for general outdoor work and macro. It is a good all-round lens but not as good as the pro lenses I use. New copies are fairly scarce in the UK but worth searching out if you want a good reliable lens at a reasonable price. At f4.5 for a 105mm lens it is a good buy.

    reviewed November 28th, 2009 (purchased for $330)
  • 10 out of 10 points and recommended by (7 reviews)
    sharp!, great range (cept wide), nice macro, quick focus, nice handling, color, contrast.
    no cons, just find one and buy it!

    What a perfect walk around lens, the range is very nice, f3.5-f4.5 keeps this lens reasonably fast, quick to focus accurately, and plenty sharp wide open. The bokeh looks nice. I think the 28-105mm has a solid build, with all the color and contrast Nikon is known for. The 28-105mm is the hidden gem of the Nikon line. I have Many great Nikon lenses, but this stays mounted to my DSLR more than any of the others.

    reviewed February 6th, 2009 (purchased for $130)
  • 9 out of 10 points and recommended by (4 reviews)
    Well built, lightweight with sharp optics.
    None

    I've been very pleased and satisfied with the performance of this lens. It's a bit lightweight, but it is built well. The "macro feature (1:2) is much better than I expected. I've also found it to be quiet sharp at all focal lenghts (aspheric elements). I've used it hard, professionally for over five years, and it still performs like new. I wouldn't hesitate to purchase another one or recommend it to someone else.

    Kiron Kid

    reviewed January 17th, 2009 (purchased for $300)
  • 8 out of 10 points and recommended by (2 reviews)
    Reasonable range, little distortion, sharp
    Macro not the best

    Purchased a used 28-105 lens to go with a N80 for my wife a few years ago. Great image quality, sharp, contrasty and very little distortion--especially for an inexpensive zoom. Bought a second, used lens for my F100, same great optical results. I've also used it on my D80 and had the same experience. The second lens had seen more use and is a little stiff but the optics are as good as the first.

    The macro is touchy and sometimes difficult to get out of. You have to refocus on something distant.

    No, it's not a 2.8, but it is one of the better mid range f3.5 zooms I've found.

    reviewed September 18th, 2008 (purchased for $190)
  • 7 out of 10 points and recommended by (7 reviews)
    very good standard zoom for 24*36 SLR, 1:2 macro mode
    not a good range for DSLR

    this lens is a very good one on analog SLR, but nearly useless on DSLR, I only use it for macro on my D70.

    build quality is average (lots of plastic, but metal lount).

    optical quality is very good for a consumer lens :
    few distortion
    acceptably sharp wide open
    very sharp stopped down
    very sharp at macro distance and apertures
    quite large aperture compared to other consumer standard zooms

    flare is the only drawback I found about it, since contrast suffer a lot of it when the sun is in or near the frame.

    it was my only lens for years with my f60, and a good one.

    Aymeric

    reviewed December 1st, 2006
  • 8 out of 10 points and recommended by (11 reviews)
    Nice range, surprisingly good optics
    poor macro

    For the money, this is a great little lens. I had it on my F100 and used it daily- never a flinch. The supposed 1:2 macro feature is a total waste of time. Buy a micro Nikkor if you want decent macro ability. The construction quality of the lens is very light weight & plastic. However, it never gave me any problems. There are many great deals out there on older nikkor glass for you film buffs. However, if you want n every day lens that will cover most subjects with decent optical quality- go no further.

    reviewed November 21st, 2006
  • 9 out of 10 points and recommended by (5 reviews)
    Small, very good macro, sharp, little distortion
    Plastic body but what would you espect, slowish AF, flare

    A true midrange lens in many senses.

    Offering standard to mild telephoto, the lens offers alot for walk around use, on digital its a 42-157mm lens.

    The plastic body is tough and is built ok, the Zoom is smooth but the front of the lens rotates 1/4 a turn while zooming.

    The optics are supurb, the only difference between this and a "professional" lens is that this is 3.5-4.5 not 2.8. distortion is very wel controled due to a aspherical lens element, and CA is tightly controlled.
    The only slight issue is flare when the front is struck by the sun.

    The other great feature is the 1:2 macro, this lens is very sharp in macro mode and the 157mm effective focal length is good for bug macro's and plant shots.

    As a set with the 18-35 D ED and 70-300 D ED it makes a compact and light travel setup.

    reviewed June 5th, 2006