Expecting SLRGear.com? We’re moving our lens reviews to Imaging Resource! Read about it here.

Nikon 28mm f/1.8G AF-S Nikkor

 
Lens Reviews / Nikon Lenses i Not yet tested
28mm $697
average price
image of Nikon 28mm f/1.8G AF-S Nikkor

(From Nikon lens literature) Nikon Inc. has announced the wide-angle AF-S NIKKOR 28mm f/1.8G, a fixed focal length lens with a large maximum aperture to carry on the legacy of superior NIKKOR imaging technology for enthusiasts and professionals. With a large maximum aperture of f/1.8 and Nikon’s exclusive Nano Crystal Coat to reduce ghost and flare, the 28mm FX-format lens offers stunning sharpness and versatility for both photos and HD video.

“This NIKKOR lens is the latest addition to the popular family of f/1.8 primes designed to give HD-SLR shooters the performance and versatility needed to capture images and HD video with outstanding image quality,” said Bo Kajiwara, director of marketing, Nikon Inc. “The new AF-S NIKKOR 28mm f/1.8G is a great way for photographers to discover a high-quality, wide-angle prime lens that provides amazingly crisp focus and natural background blur.”

Professional and enthusiast HD-SLR photographers will appreciate the 28mm f/1.8G’s wide-angle versatility and enjoy the sharp focus and lightweight yet durable construction befitting a NIKKOR lens. The lens’ Nano Crystal Coat prevents ghosting and flare and helps produce spectacular high-resolution photos and HD video in even the most challenging lighting conditions. This 28mm lens also features a large f/1.8 maximum aperture, giving the photographer the ability to effortlessly highlight natural background image blur.

The 28mm f/1.8G’s construction and optical formula is deep-rooted with NIKKOR core technology to ensure the highest level performance and versatility for the most demanding imaging applications. Featuring eleven optical elements in nine groups with two aspherical elements, the 28mm f/1.8G is designed to be a compact and durable lens maximized for versatility. Additionally, the new 28mm lens is able to resolve high resolution images with amazing sharpness and clarity, making it an ideal companion for the new 36.3-megapixel Nikon D800 HD-SLR. Professionals and enthusiasts are offered complete lens control with two focus modes, (M) manual and (M/A) autofocus with manual override that allow the photographer to tailor their focus for any shooting scenario. The 28mm f/1.8G lens is also equipped with a Silent Wave Motor (SWM) allowing for smooth, silent and precise autofocus operation essential for capturing pristine HD video.

The AF-S NIKKOR 28mm f/1.8G lens will be available at the end of May 2012 for the suggested retail price (SRP) of US$699.95

Nikon 28mm f/1.8G AF-S Nikkor User Reviews

8.1/10 average of 8 reviews Build Quality 8.1/10 Image Quality 8.3/10
  • 8 out of 10 points and recommended by (1 reviews)
    Minimum focusing distance (for 28mm), contrast, sharpness, cost
    Nothing really

    Oh boy, this is a one unique and interesting lens. I bought it used just few months ago. I read many online reviews but you know how misleading that can be. Anyway, I decided to give it a try and I'm so glad I did. I shoot FF so the lens covers an exceptionally cool 28mm which is not too wide yet far from being narrow.

    In the past 20 years I tried many different 28mm primes. The best by far is Nikkor 28mm f/1.4 but Nikon is not making them any more. The Zeiss 28mm f/2 comes second but I got to say I was really surprised to see what Nikon 28mm f/1.8G can do. It's almost 3x cheaper than Distagon, produces great results and feels exceptionally good on the camera.

    Shooting wide open, I found it to be a bit soft especially corners of the frame. Lack of contrast and sharpness could be fixed in post production but it does require some work. Stop it down at about f/2.8 and you have an amazing kicker capable of producing some stunning images. Overall, I can't be happier ... high quality images for a very reasonable price.

    http://www.hitsticker.com | http://www.printradiant.com | http://www.adstateagent.com

    reviewed November 13th, 2015 (purchased for $600)
  • 9 out of 10 points and recommended by (8 reviews)
    Light, sharp, fast, what more to ask for?
    Spherochromatism, quite large for a prime

    After trying half a dozen lenses to use as as a fast normal prime on my D7100 I've finaly found one I like. Nikon 35mm was too long, Sigma 30mm was to soft, Nikon 28mm f/2,8 AF was nice, but f/2,8 is quite slow for a prime. The Nikon 28mm f/1,8 on the other hand is perfect. Has ideal focal length, it's fast and it is sharp. It is larger than the others (although the Sigma 30mm is thicker). About the same size as a small zoom like Nikon 16-85, but much lighter.

    The only drawback is noticable spherochromatism at short range and large aperture. The other cons that sometimes is mentioned in reviews, focus shift and spherical abberation, is nothing that I have noticed with my lens.

    Although it is no macro it still focuses quite close, less than one foot (25 cm). Also, it is probably the cheepest Nikon lens with a gold ring.

    reviewed May 13th, 2014 (purchased for $500)
  • 7 out of 10 points and recommended by (1 reviews)
    sharp stopped down
    soft wide open - which is a shame

    We all read pros/cons about this lens. You know about build, slack in focus ring, and price. I spent too much time with this lens and wish I could get it back. Despite monkeying with af adjustment I just could not get a sharp picture wide open on my D600. You could see things starting to get there with a +20 adjustment but it never made it. Returning.

    Gonna wait for Sigma 35mm 1.4

    reviewed November 3rd, 2012 (purchased for $700)
  • 10 out of 10 points and recommended by (1 reviews)
    sharp corner to corner, best for landscapes, light, great colors
    none

    best IQ and corner to corner sharpness for landscapes; better than 24-70,

    light, Nano coating, precise.

    reviewed October 31st, 2012 (purchased for $700)
  • 9 out of 10 points and recommended by (10 reviews)
    Very sharp and contrasty on my D700, D3S and D800. Crystal clear rendition with no color cast.
    Almost too light weight for a $700 lens if that's possible.

    I was in one of my favorite camera stores buying a new Nikon V1 for my gal when feeling a little under the weather, I started looking at glass. Spending can perk me up. ;)

    I'd been casually thinking about this new 28 f/1.8G for a couple of months but was a little worried about the reports of focus shifting and had 28mm covered so many ways. Besides, I rarely need fast glass in wides. Also 28mm is not my sweet spot. I bought it anyway on shear impulse thinking I could return it if it had too much uncorrectable focus shift.

    I'm going to have to say I'm quite happy with the initial results on all three FX cameras I own. Not only is there not perceptable focus shift but the lens is sharper and more contrasty than I ever expected. It has as pretty and as clean of an output as any of my top lenses like my 85 f/1.4G or any other Nano coated lens in my kit. Even the bokeh is rather nice if slightly busy. It's creamy enough and better than most wides. That's for sure.

    The only possible negative I can think of is that it's almost too light weight. All my FX cameras and one DX model are somewhat heavier all magnesium bodies. All my better glass is heavier metal and glass lenses, so this lens is super light. It feels like my 50 f/1.8G for Heaven's sake. As good as it is, I'll get used to it, I'm sure. I might even learn to love 28mm. ;)

    I"m going to use it on the job next week and that's saying something for sure. I usually use a lens for pleasure a long time before committing to it on paid assignments. Highly recommended.

    Cheers

    reviewed October 21st, 2012 (purchased for $699)
  • 4 out of 10 points and not recommended by (1 reviews)
    Light, could be a nice walk around lens
    Insane front focus

    Ordered it because I really liked it was so light, and it should be a great companion for my Nikon D700, but I have to return it - I have never seen so much front focus, and perhaps there are also huge focus shift (as som tests describe), because the front focus dissapears when stopped down to about f. 5.6, but it can also be the deeper DOF which hide the front focus ?

    reviewed June 30th, 2012 (purchased for $850)
  • 10 out of 10 points and recommended by (1 reviews)
    Light, well built, sharp, great walk around lens
    None

    No complaints here. Sharp to very sharp throughout its aperture range. Corner and edge quality quite acceptable wide open. New 'G' lens construction is great, light and functional. Reviewers who complain about play in manual focusing are foolish, believing it is a flaw. No folks, Nikon designed it that way for a reason.

    reviewed June 29th, 2012 (purchased for $699)
  • 8 out of 10 points and recommended by (40 reviews)
    Lightweight, AF-S, sharpness
    Vignetting, build quality, smell

    The image quality of this lens is good, but not excellent. Center sharpness is acceptable (for me) from f/2 and combined with the short focal length and a FX sensor it makes this lens very suitable for low light indoor photography.

    At f/1.8 the image is usable, but I feel it lacks a little sharpness and contrast. You'll need to do some post processing to compensate. I think it depends on the subject and of course your expectations. I'm not completely sure about this, but I think there might be some unevenness in sharpness throughout the image.

    I like this 28mm better then the AF35mm f/2D, which is soft at f/2. It's also better the the classic 28mm f/2.8 Ais version. It's substantially bigger though. The 28mm f/1.8G can be a really nice lens for photojournalistic work I think.

    There's a lot of vignetting going on at f/1.8 to f/2.8. When you shoot at wide apertures, you'll hardly need to vignette in post processing. It's relatively easy to remove and it can be an asset rather then a problem when you use it creatively.

    Auto focus is not completely silent, but not loud either. I think it sounds a little too scraping. You hear the same sort of sound when you turn the focus ring for manual focus. Speed is good and I've had no problems with accuracy yet. You can focus very close with this lens, nice!

    Bokeh is smooth for a wide angle. There is some distortion and I think it's of the moustache kind, but I haven't tested this. I think the lens is fairly resistant to flare.

    The lens is made of plastic and it feels a bit cheap. Especially considering it's 'professional' price, big box, gold band, nano diamond crystal super coating and other impressing stuff. Also, it smells bad. The smell transfers to my fingers. I think it's the rubber on the focussing ring. The lens has a metal bayonet with a rubber ass gasket but it has a cheap plastic filter ring.

    All in all I think I would definitely recommend this lens for portraiture and documentary photography. I'm not sure if it's suited for architecture and landscape photography (corner sharpness and distortion).

    It's a fast mild wide angle with good sharpness and contrast and it packs all the latest Nikon bells and whistles.

    reviewed May 26th, 2012 (purchased for $700)