Expecting SLRGear.com? We’re moving our lens reviews to Imaging Resource! Read about it here.

Nikon 35mm f/1.4 AIS Nikkor

 
Lens Reviews / Nikon Lenses i Not yet tested
35mm $1,100
average price
image of Nikon 35mm f/1.4 AIS Nikkor

(From Nikon lens literature) Versatile, ultra-fast wide-angle lens captures classic images with super-sharp results.

Key Features:

  • Fastest wide-angle manual Nikkor lens
  • Close Range Correction (CRC) system assures high quality even at minimum focusing distance (1 ft.)
  • Ideal for photojournalism and other low-light applications

Note: Available through special order only against confirmed and non-cancelable orders. Allow 60 to 120 days for delivery. Subject to limited availability.

Nikon 35mm f/1.4 AIS Nikkor User Reviews

8.7/10 average of 6 reviews Build Quality 9.7/10 Image Quality 8.3/10
  • 10 out of 10 points and recommended by (7 reviews)
    Great normal, fast lens. Classic image for B&W
    softer wide open

    A little soft wide open but from 2.8 to f11 it's very good. Nice bokeh and contrast. A classic Nikon lens. I use it for my normal lens and it's fast for low light and classic B&W image quality. Nikon has been making it forever and that's a statement to its popularity.

    reviewed October 16th, 2012 (purchased for $650)
  • 8 out of 10 points and recommended by (52 reviews)
    fast f/1.4, build quality, compact, takes 52mm filter
    outdated

    a photojournalist's standard.. like in 30 years ago. Nowadays, many has overrated this lens as its "legendary" performance.

    Yes, this lens has a great design. Small, light, sturdy, fast & delivers good performance too. It had created world's greatest press photos many years ago. Today, I prefer the 35/1.8G (DX) for usability. Images are a little bit soft wide open and it has a visible CA.

    I got this lens along with my F3HP, which was a great pair for almost anything. I wouldn't use it with my digital bodies.

    reviewed October 11th, 2012 (purchased for $250)
  • 7 out of 10 points and recommended by (15 reviews)
    Nice Price, Nice Bokeh
    tough to focus at F1.4 manual focus on APS-C

    I would not buy if shooting APS-C for stills, especially if subject is in motion.

    Would buy for film, or video, or perhaps FX.

    See review and sample photos: http://glamourphotography.co/?p=2791

    reviewed June 23rd, 2011
  • 10 out of 10 points and recommended by (1 reviews)
    One of the sharpest lenses, very robust, best Nikon quality
    ?

    Absolutely my favorite lens. Super sharp, super fast, perfect for both full frame and DX. I really don't have anything negative to say about this lens. No autofocus, just makes it more charming. Cheaper than the AF 35 1.4, just makes it irresistible :)

    reviewed April 18th, 2011 (purchased for $900)
  • 8 out of 10 points and recommended by (3 reviews)
    Sharp image
    Fair color rendition

    It is a sharp lens but a bit behind the other Nikons in color rendition. Well made and fast. However in practice I end up using the 50/1.2, 28/2, and 24/2 more than this one.

    Note that it is still in production

    reviewed March 13th, 2011 (purchased for $500)
  • 9 out of 10 points and recommended by (4 reviews)
    Fast and legendary MF prime Made out of metal
    Not perfect vide open

    Little fast and beautiful Made out of metal lens. Sharp from f2, very sharp from f2.8 to f8.
    Do his best with full frame sensor.
    Made with same optical design for NASA

    reviewed December 9th, 2010 (purchased for $400)