Olympus 9mm f/8 BCL-0980 Fisheye Body Cap Lens

 
Lens Reviews / Olympus Lenses i Not yet tested
9mm $99
average price
image of Olympus 9mm f/8 BCL-0980 Fisheye Body Cap Lens

(From Olympus lens literature) As creative as a body cap can get; It appears to be a protective body cap for your micro four-thirds camera, but this body cap also doubles as a fisheye lens.

The 9mm (35mm equivalent: 18mm) fixed-aperture F8.0 Fish Eye Body Cap lens is an ultra-slim accessory for creative wide-angle shooting through its 5-element, 4-group lens construction. The multi-use lens barrier MF lever switches from pan focus shooting to close up 8-inch shooting with a single press of the lever.

Olympus 9mm f/8 BCL-0980 Fisheye Body Cap Lens User Reviews

7.8/10 average of 5 reviews Build Quality 6.2/10 Image Quality 7.0/10
  • 10 out of 10 points and recommended by (1 reviews)
    Small, cheap, light, huge d.o.f., surprisingly sharp and contrasty for a "toy", good flare control, great for video, enormous fun.
    Softness and CA at edges, slow.

    This lens was made for video - it turns your MFT camera into the optical equivalent of a GoPro. It has the same field of view as a GoPro and the same depth of field. Having said that, it's a proper lens - it has 5 elements and modern coatings - and it takes pretty decent stills as well. It isn't quite as sharp as a Samyang 7.5mm, the nearest equivalent that I've tried, but who would quibble at this price? The only drawback is that it isn't waterproof. Buy one and have some fun!

    reviewed June 14th, 2017 (purchased for $99)
  • 8 out of 10 points and recommended by (1 reviews)
    Ultra-wide view Extremely compact lens Simple to use Fun to use
    Slow lens No electrical connection to camera Shows as unknown lens in EXIF

    This is a very fun lens to use. It is not stellar in image quality but then it is not poor either. I would rate it good. I've gotten many very good photos with it. It is a "One Trick Pony" as some would say. It does one thing, but it does that one thing quite well. It is absolute simplicity and can fit in a shirt pocket, just don't forget to take it out before you do your laundry. It weighs almost nothing. It is slow but in good light or even indoors with a steady hand or good image stabilization it can do some impressive things. So fun, just don't expect it to perform like a several hundred dollar lens. For less then $100 US it is quite amazing though.

    reviewed May 31st, 2017 (purchased for $89)
  • 8 out of 10 points and recommended by (1 reviews)
    super wide field of view and depth of field. very compact size and low cost. great for discrete street photography (use electronic shutter, high ISO, and shoot from the hip level).
    focus lever can be moved too easily.

    I love discrete street photography and my best tool is an Olympus EM10 II and an Olympus 9mm f/8.

    1. Shoot from the hip. I hold the camera in my left palm and use my thumb to press the shutter.

    2. I set the EM10 II to use electronic shutter so that no sound is made when the shutter is tripped. Set the mode dial to P, so that electronic shutter setting can be selected.

    3. Because the 9mm lens' wide field of view and small aperture, there is no need to raise the camera to eye level to aim a shot. I just set the focus to infinity and point the camera in the subject's direction then wait for the right moment to press the shutter. This is key to discrete photography.

    4. In order to achieve faster shutter speed, I set the ISO to 3200. There is little noise even at this setting. The EM10 II's In-Body Image Stabilization (IBIS) greatly helps to keep pictures free of blur.

    5. My success rate of capturing my subject at the right moment is greater than 90%.

    reviewed May 2nd, 2017 (purchased for $93)
  • 6 out of 10 points and recommended by (5 reviews)
    Somehow unique in its kind
    Limited application

    I have only one useful application for this lens today, but I admit that it triggered my admiration for fish eyes. Many say that a fish eye distorts, which is true, but it is just as true for wide angle lenses. Why? Our surrounding is a sphere that is projected to a plane to be captured by a flat sensor. Rectilinear and equidistant projections are two approximations that bare truths and errors by design, so both are neither right nor wrong. What I want to say is that our field of view and perception is closer to a fish eye than a wide angle. And with the not too extreme 9mm fisheye e.g. persons at the edge of the picture look more natural than with a wide angle.
    I stick the lens cap on a good old GF3, set it to hyperfocal distance focus (2nd click) and go wild with shooting or filming action from unusual angles, without even looking at the display. The camera captures pretty much what your looking at if you point it there. Even with the limitation of the optical quality, you get stunning pictures or clips this way. And there is no other device available (to my knowledge) that can shoot raw equally well at this price point. And the kit slips even in a small pocket. I think the fun and results are worth the bucks.

    reviewed October 22nd, 2016 (purchased for $90)
  • 7 out of 10 points and recommended by (33 reviews)
    For this price it is .. exceptionally FUN!
    Close focus little restricted. No electronic lens-info. No serious IQ off course.

    For the price it is unbeatable. With the EM10 it produces nice pictures. The focus settings need practising, even for a super wide you have to be carefull to focus correct. If not you lose a lot of contrast and detail. Compared to my 9-18 mft this bodycap does remarkably well and makes a lot of fun. Bewaren you do not get real IQ like with the normal m43 lenses.

    reviewed March 20th, 2014 (purchased for $90)