Pentax 50mm f/1.4 SMC P-FA

 
Lens Reviews / Pentax Lenses i Not yet tested

Your purchases support this site

Buy the Pentax 50mm f/1.4 SMC P-FA
50mm $220
average price
image of Pentax 50mm f/1.4 SMC P-FA

(From Pentax lens literature) The Pentax SMC P-FA 50mm f/1.4 lens provides an angle of view and perspective similar to the human eye. Its natural perspective of subjects makes it ideally suited for everyday use including indoor photography, traveling, and hiking. Like every Pentax lens, the SMC P-FA 50mm f/1.4 lens features our acclaimed SMC multi-layer coating to lower surface reflection, reduce ultraviolet rays, and deliver clear, high-contrast images.

Pentax 50mm f/1.4 SMC P-FA

Your purchases support this site

Buy the Pentax 50mm f/1.4 SMC P-FA
B&H Sweepstake Rules

Pentax 50mm f/1.4 SMC P-FA User Reviews

9.0/10 average of 13 reviews Build Quality 8.2/10 Image Quality 9.2/10
  • 10 out of 10 points and recommended by (37 reviews)
    very, very sharp stopped down a few
    few CA's open and stopped down a few

    For portraits optimal

    I use it for astronomic photography, too.

    colors, contrast and sharpness very nice.

    Best sharpness on f4.My best lens.

    Highly recommended

    reviewed January 31st, 2014 (purchased for $100)
  • 9 out of 10 points and recommended by (2 reviews)
    from 1.8 sharp, from 2.4 really sharp, solid constructed, fast AF
    soft and CA at 1.4, not WR

    I bought this lens for my K5II for portrait shots, its really usable in all aspects, even at 1.4 the images are good, contrast is a bit low and it cut look like it is a bit foggy, can be put in use greatly! betweens F2 and 8 pictures are really sharp, rich in contrast and all in all really good! if you dont have one, get one, its always a usefull lens!

    reviewed January 28th, 2014 (purchased for $250)
  • 9 out of 10 points and recommended by (24 reviews)
    Fast, cheap, and compact
    Very tiny focus ring

    This is quite like the Pentax 50 I had 40 years ago, but it is optimized for a modern camera, and has autofocus, and an aperature ring, so you can set the aperature manually, if you want (excellent for 'dumb' extension tubes).

    Slightly bigger than the Pentax pancakes, it has excellent sharpness and is faster than any Pentax pancake (to date).

    I use it mostly reversed, for macro phtography, but it works well as a short tele as well!

    reviewed September 5th, 2010
  • 9 out of 10 points and recommended by (2 reviews)
    Very sharp from f/4 to f/8 / ideal for protraits / cheap
    soft wide open

    A very usefull small telephoto, sharp with a wonderfull bokeh.
    Ideal for portraits but also flowers...
    Even sports if you're close enough to the action
    My best lens up to now!

    reviewed February 20th, 2009 (purchased for $262)
  • 9 out of 10 points and recommended by (1 reviews)

    This is a top quality and rather cheap lens alternative to the highest quality and expensive lenses from the Pentax brand. I often use it as a all round lens under any situations; from the poor light indoor, in the sharp sunlight and in the portrait studio. See

    www.pbase.com/robert_kreutzmann

    with images taken with this superb lens! At it's best stopped down to 8 or 11.

    I also have the Pentax SMC F 50 mm 1.4 (discontinued from production years ago)....

    http://kmp.bdimitrov.de/lenses/primes/normal/F50f1.4.html

    ...and I tell You; it´s even better!!!! :o) Rob

    reviewed September 1st, 2008
  • 8 out of 10 points and recommended by (6 reviews)
    Cheap,
    Soft wide open

    This lens is reasonably sharp from f2.8, but at wide open it is a bit soft. It is cheap, and for the price it is a good lens. If the extra cost is no issue, I prefer the 40mm limited lens, which is better in any aspect.

    reviewed June 30th, 2008 (purchased for $300)
  • 9 out of 10 points and recommended by (7 reviews)
    Small, very sharp, cheap, good short portrait or tele lens, very compact and light
    None

    Build quality is more than adequate. This lens is a very nice addition to a Pentax bag. It's certainly a lot faster than the kit lens and also quite a bit sharper by F4.

    reviewed January 26th, 2008 (purchased for $194)
  • 9 out of 10 points and recommended by (1 reviews)
    fast, resolution, bokeh, cheap
    corner softness wide open

    Nice lens. Some weakness if you use it wide open, but at medium apertures the lens is superb.
    Buy it!

    reviewed August 15th, 2007 (purchased for $200)
  • 9 out of 10 points and recommended by (5 reviews)
    Excellent image quality, very fast aperture, great bokeh, small and light for the quality
    None that I've noticed, except that it's hard to find it in stock!

    This was my first purchase after the 18-55 kit lens, and I was looking for a sharp lens with a bright aperture for low-light indoors stuff. This has fit those criterea well. Stopped down a couple stops it's about as sharp as you can get, and even wide open it's still not bad at all. The bokeh is very smooth and pleasing too.

    If a 50mm is indeed what you want (it's more of a portrait lens / short telephoto for digital) then you can't go wrong with this lens. Personally, I think I would have made use of a 30mm more, but when I can use a 50, this is ideal.

    reviewed February 4th, 2007 (purchased for $230)
  • 10 out of 10 points and recommended by (4 reviews)
    Contrast, Color, and Sharpness
    slow focus for a prime, weird, plasticy body

    This was an upgrade from my 15-55 kit lens. It is absolutely worth it. I miss the wide range, 50mm on a cropping DSLR makes it a right-up-in-your-face view on most things. Now that I'm been shooting with this, I think I'll start saving for a wider Pentax prime.

    But I had no idea my *istDS could get such results. The pictures are sharp and contrasty. It's bright; the pictures, and even the viewfinder are much more light than with the 18-55mm. The photos seem to glow.

    highly recommended.... (also consider one of Pentax's older versions. I have a beautiful 50mm f1.7 that also gets very nice results. Pentax, though, seems to have a tradition of building these things in a strange, plastic casing..)

    reviewed January 14th, 2007
  • 9 out of 10 points and recommended by (5 reviews)
    Cheap, great opening, very sharp image.
    none so far

    - Great for low light pictures.
    - a little bit above average for built quality coz plastic feeling but its just a feeling great image quality!!!

    reviewed January 12th, 2007 (purchased for $219)
  • 8 out of 10 points and recommended by (3 reviews)
    Scharp, nice bokeh (but not great)
    lose manual focus ring

    This is a very fine lens. A bit soft wide open, especialy in the corners, but stoped down (past f3.5) it's extremely sharp. On a digital SLR is becomes a nice portrait lens.

    De manual focusring on my sample is a bit lose and less damped than the manual focus lenses (K, M, A)

    reviewed December 23rd, 2006 (purchased for $223)
  • 9 out of 10 points and recommended by (1 reviews)
    good bokeh, sharp image
    none

    FA50mm/f1.4 is one of my best lenses. It is a just a little soft wide open but very good for portraits (when used on DSLR). Stopped down one or two stops, the images are tack sharp!

    Physically, it is quite small but dense than it looks. Built quality is very good, plastic body with metal mount. Manual focus ring is very smooth but not as good to use as Pentax's old A and M series.

    reviewed February 4th, 2006 (purchased for $220)