Pentax 70mm f/2.4 Limited SMC DA

Lens Reviews / Pentax Lenses i Not yet tested
70mm $532
average price
image of Pentax 70mm f/2.4 Limited SMC DA

(From Pentax lens literature) Thanks to its newly developed, high-performance optics, this new medium-telephoto lens measures only 26 millimeters long and weighs a mere 130 grams. When mounted on a Pentax digital SLR camera body, it protrudes very little from the camera's front panel and offers a focal length equivalent to 107mm in 35mm format, making it a perfect choice for casual portrait and landscape photography.

The Pentax Limited Lens series is designed for distinctive visual description by combining a series of mechanical and numerical evaluations with human assessment of test-shooting samples. As a result, this lens produces smooth, natural skin tones and beautiful out-of-focus backgrounds at open aperture in portrait applications, while assuring crisp, high-contrast images at closed-down aperture in landscape photography.

The lens barrel, hood and cap are all made of a high-grade aluminum material, shaped for perfect proportions and striking beauty. The focusing ring is designed for superb accessibility and maximum ease of focusing operation.

The Pentax-original Super Protect (SP) coating is applied to the front surface of this lens. Through a vapor deposition process, the lens surface is coated with a special fluorine compound to repel dust, weather and grease, making it easy to wipe off fingerprints and cosmetics.

This lens is exclusively designed for use with Pentax digital SLR cameras, with an image circle perfectly proportioned to the CCD size (23.5mm x 15.7mm), and optics optimized for digital imaging characteristics. Combining high-quality image reproduction with an ultra-thin, super-lightweight design, it is a perfect partner to Pentax digital SLR cameras.

Additional Features:

  • Pentax-developed Quick-Shift Focus System for instant switching to manual-focus operation after the subject is captured in focus by the AF system
  • Detachable, extendible lens hood (included) for enhanced portability
  • Nine-blade diaphragm for natural out-of-focus description

Pentax 70mm f/2.4 Limited SMC DA User Reviews

10.0/10 average of 5 reviews Build Quality 10.0/10 Image Quality 10.0/10
  • 10 out of 10 points and recommended by (2 reviews)
    Size, weight, build, optics, colours, sharpness wide open, AF speed, bokeh
    Speed, close focusing distance

    This lens is spectacular in every way, excepting for it's close focusing distance which is a real disappointment. Aside from that, this is just a magnificent lens.

    The build is superb, tight tolerances, smooth focusing, aesthetic beauty in and out. The speed is ok, f2.4 is good enough, and considering the size of the lens as a result of the narrower aperture, it's not much of a problem. Optically it is just something else. I don't have another lens whose images I enjoy so much. The bokeh is always beautiful. Somehow I haven't used it as much as I like it, but still, it's absolutely special.

    A couple of examples: (for bokeh) (blow it up for sharpness)

    reviewed January 19th, 2010
  • 10 out of 10 points and recommended by (11 reviews)

    Well, it's all been said really... Fast, wonderfully sharp, excellent bokeh and brilliant build quality. This lens is a gem and fits perfectly on my K-7... :-)

    reviewed August 1st, 2009 (purchased for $800)
  • 10 out of 10 points and recommended by (6 reviews)
    Sharp, fast, bokeh
    none (that I am able to discover)

    Very good portrait lens, people do not feel intimidated by it's size. Sharp with fast and precise autofocus. Lightweight but still solid construction. A lens that I use more and more as I discover how good it is. Bought it as a portrait lens, but now I bring it almost everywhere I go.

    reviewed January 1st, 2009 (purchased for $400)
  • 10 out of 10 points and recommended by (3 reviews)
    It's all there: quality, quality, quality!!!

    This is the very best I ever had!
    Scratches the K10D sensor limits!


    reviewed September 19th, 2007
  • 10 out of 10 points and recommended by (5 reviews)
    Best ive used to date
    none at this point.

    I've used Nikon D50 and now Pentax K10D and this new limited edition lens is really giving me the best results without any difficulties.

    - It's very good quality feeling.
    - It's Light
    - It's Small.
    - It produced superb quality images every single shot.

    Recommend to all!!!

    Here a pic taken with this lens:

    reviewed January 12th, 2007 (purchased for $498)