Expecting SLRGear.com? We’re moving our lens reviews to Imaging Resource! Read about it here.

Sigma 18-50mm f/3.5-5.6 DC

 
Lens Reviews / Sigma Lenses i Not yet tested

Your purchases support this site

Buy the Sigma 18-50mm f/3.5-5.6 DC
18-50mm $105
average price
image of Sigma 18-50mm f/3.5-5.6 DC

(From Sigma lens literature) Exclusively designed to suit the characteristics of digital SLR cameras. The image circle was designed to match the size of the image sensors of most digital SLR cameras and this has resulted in a compact lightweight lens. The use of aspherical lenses provides correction for various aberrations and makes high quality images a reality throughout the entire zoom range.

Compact-Lightweight zoom lens has a maximum diameter of 62mm (2.4 in.), overall length of 67.5mm (2.6 in.) and weight of only 250g (8.7 oz) and filter size of 58mm. Compact dimensions offers superb handling and mobility. The use of aspherical lenses provides correction for various aberrations throughout the entire zoom range and produce high level of optical performance.

We took digital characteristics into consideration when designing the lens power layout and created the most suitable lens that makes high quality images a reality throughout the entire zoom range. We used the most appropriate coating for digital products to cut down flare and ghost caused by digital SLR cameras and to produce the best color balance. It can be used with the supplied lens hood to block out extraneous light.

The 18-50mm f/3.5-5.6 DC zoom lens has a minimum focusing distance of 25cm (9.8 in.) at all focal lengths and is capable of macro photography with a maximum magnification ratio of 1:3.5. The focus ring provides easy operation in manual mode. A distance scale on the focus ring is an easy to use and convenient addition.

Note: Sigma has announced an HSM (Hyper-Sonic Motor) version of this lens for Nikon mount (will autofocus with D40 and D40x, as well as other Nikon DSLRs).

Sigma 18-50mm f/3.5-5.6 DC User Reviews

6.1/10 average of 7 reviews Build Quality 6.1/10 Image Quality 6.0/10
  • 6 out of 10 points and recommended by (37 reviews)
    sharp lens in center, good macro
    some visible CA's, corners not so sharp

    not excellent, but not bad;too

    a simple build zoom for beginners, for prints up to 8x10"

    some CA's, weak in the corners

    it must be closed to f8-11

    pentax 18-55 is nearly full open much mor sharper, especially in the corners. red fringings wide ope with 18mm

    reviewed April 27th, 2014 (purchased for $60)
  • 8 out of 10 points and recommended by (26 reviews)
    Great walk around lens when you want to travel light
    Rotating lens

    I must have been fortunate enough to get a really good copy of this lens because it has been a pleasure to use and the quality of pictures is much better than you may have read from other reviewers. I like this lens much better than the Nikon kit lens on the D50 as it has much better build quality and comparable image quality.
    If you are on a strict budget, don't hesitate to buy this one as you will most likely not be disappointed. You can buy this lens used for about $70 at your local camera shop so this is a way you can limit your investment and still have a good lense to get started.

    reviewed January 5th, 2007 (purchased for $125)
  • 8 out of 10 points and recommended by (17 reviews)

    good cheap lens

    reviewed January 1st, 2007
  • 9 out of 10 points and recommended by (1 reviews)
    Image quality, color, contrast, price!
    corner sharpness;

    I own this lens since half a year and compared it to a hand full other lenses including nikkor 50 , 1,8 and i can say, that on a d50 the results are excellent even compared with the 50mm, 1,8. Given the price tag this lens is not to beat. Sharpness and contrast are excellent. Only the coners drop a little, but nothing to concern. Some of the guys that worry about this jewel , havern´t ever tried it or or too snobby with their 17-55 ´s.

    reviewed May 21st, 2006
  • 2 out of 10 points and not recommended by (1 reviews)
    Mechanics is quite ok for the prize, it has a REAL focus ring,
    Less than average imaage quality

    I just bought it as a 2nd lens in addition to my 28 -135 IS. It was cheap, so I did not expect stellar image quality. But this lens is really nasty, it has an allways unsharp area about 10% from the left hand, oddly its ok reight hand. Maybe de-centered?

    This effect does not go by stopping down the lens.

    If the image quality (in terms of resolution / sharpness / contrast) would be like on the right hand side, I'll rate it about 6 on that scale above

    reviewed April 20th, 2006
  • 8 out of 10 points and recommended by (2 reviews)
    Sharp
    Quality body

    i like

    reviewed December 27th, 2005 (purchased for $130)
  • 2 out of 10 points and not recommended by (5 reviews)
    price
    range, aperture, construction, image quality, AF ,

    very poor image quality
    vignetting
    very very slow AF

    construction: plastic, when you touch it, you want to throw it in the bin.

    reviewed October 21st, 2005