Expecting SLRGear.com? We’re moving our lens reviews to Imaging Resource! Read about it here.

Sigma 28-300mm f/3.5-6.3 DG Macro

 
Lens Reviews / Sigma Lenses i Not yet tested

Your purchases support this site

Buy the Sigma 28-300mm f/3.5-6.3 DG Macro
28-300mm $242
average price
image of Sigma 28-300mm f/3.5-6.3 DG Macro

(From Sigma lens literature) The Sigma 28-300mm f/3.5-6.3 DG Macro lens covers all the focal lengths from 28mm wide angle to 300mm telephoto with a 10.7:1 high zoom ratio as well as macro capability. It packs a lot of performance in a compact package with ultra compact dimensions (Diameter 74mm and Length of 86mm) that make this lens the ultimate traveling companion. It's the ideal lens all types of photography and optimized for digital SLR cameras.

The new multi layer lens coating and lens design reduce flare and ghost, which is a common problem with digital cameras and also creates an optimum color balance through the entire zoom range.

This lens features one Special Low Dispersion (SLD) glass element and one aspherical lens in the front lens group, and one SLD glass element and three aspherical lenses in the rear lens group. This lens provides excellent correction for all types of aberrations.

The 28-300mm f/3.5-6.3 DG Macro lens has a minimum focusing distance of 50cm at all focal lengths and is equipped with a macro mechanism for close-up photography at 300mm telephoto, allowing a maximum reproduction ratio of 1:3.

This design allows for stability and compactness in design as changes in focus are made in an internal lens grouping. This also gives the advantage of a non-rotating front lens assembly, which is of great benefit when using polarizing filter and Petal-type hood.

The 28-300mm f/3.5-6.3 DG Macro lens is equipped with a zoom lock to prevent the lens from creeping due to its own weight, and to offer protection while the lens is being carried.

Sigma 28-300mm f/3.5-6.3 DG Macro User Reviews

5.7/10 average of 7 reviews Build Quality 6.0/10 Image Quality 5.3/10
  • 5 out of 10 points and not recommended by (1 reviews)
    Price, zoom range
    build quality, image quality

    I used Tamron's 18-200 with D200 a lot but bought the Sigma for D3 because it is way cheaper than Tamron's offering. I thought the build quality was as good (or as bad) as the Tamron but I was wrong, the Sigma started to create FEE error from time to time in less than a year after purchase and I need to unlock the aperture ring, turn it a few times and relock it to make it work again. Regarding image quality, the lens is actually rather sharp in its short end, ok at mid-range, but anything slightly off-center will become soft at focal lengths over 200. And the softness is somewhat directional so it's very difficult to correct with any sharpening / refocussing software.

    reviewed March 22nd, 2012 (purchased for $257)
  • 6 out of 10 points and recommended by (6 reviews)
    Price, zoom range
    Soft, soft, soft. Dust pump.

    As a light walkaround lens, it is good, but don't expect ultrasharp images. Mine had a sweet spot at f/8.0, but only in the mid zoom ranges.
    For its price, its a good lens to learn on, but it is not a keeper.
    If perfect IQ is not that important to you, its not a bad lens, but it is not a great lens.
    I sold mine and am now going to buy the Canon 70-200.

    reviewed October 10th, 2009 (purchased for $360)
  • 1 out of 10 points and not recommended by (24 reviews)
    none
    through it in the basket

    terrible lens - I trough it away!

    reviewed May 18th, 2007 (purchased for $200)
  • 6 out of 10 points and recommended by (3 reviews)
    compact, good range
    soft, focus not accurate, slow, zoom has gritty feel

    I got to try this out on a trip to Wash DC on a Canon Rebel XT. The images were ok, but not exceptionally sharp. Get it for its great zoom range, not for IQ.

    reviewed January 15th, 2007
  • 6 out of 10 points and recommended by (8 reviews)
    good walk around lens
    not very sharp

    when i want a lightweight all-around lens i use this.

    Mine works fine(not very sharp and contrasty, but still usable) from the wide end untill 200mm, then sharpness decline and it's very hard to use.

    I use it only with digital bodies because on full format borders are very soft.

    reviewed January 14th, 2007 (purchased for $150)
  • 9 out of 10 points and recommended by (1 reviews)
    a good all around lens / macro capability in any zoom range / very affordable price
    zoom is hard to rotate or not smooth enough

    I like this lens enough and very satisfied with it. Although, I can't ask for more with its price. If you do not have enough money yet for canon "L" series with 200-300mm range, this is the best alternative.

    reviewed November 6th, 2006
  • 7 out of 10 points and recommended by (1 reviews)
    range, small size and average weight.
    zoom tight when not horizontal, not high speed lens

    Seems like good value as a walk around lens. On one weekend in Adelaide and travel to and fro it was all i really needed. Impressive zoom range for the size and weight. Picture quality is better than with the canon 18-55 kit lens for my 350d camera.

    Shot test so far but i am impressed with the ease of use. large range and reasonable cost.

    reviewed March 12th, 2006