Expecting SLRGear.com? We’re moving our lens reviews to Imaging Resource! Read about it here.

Sony 35mm f/1.8 DT SAM SAL35F18

 
Lens Reviews / Sony Lenses i Not yet tested

Your purchases support this site

Buy the Sony 35mm f/1.8 DT SAM SAL35F18
35mm $220
average price
image of Sony 35mm f/1.8 DT SAM SAL35F18

(From Sony lens literature) The Sony DT 35mm F1.8 SAM (SAL35F18) adds the important 35mm focal length to the ‘Easy Choice’ series. ‘Easy Choice’ is intended to provide great value, compact and lightweight lenses that are attractive to entry-level and advanced photographers alike. Each lens in the series is selected for a specific purpose, for example portraiture or macro.

Part of the ‘Easy Choice’ series, offering photographers at all levels great value, compact and lightweight lenses, the DT 35mm F1.8 SAM (SAL35F18) weighs just 170g. It can be added to a lens kit system and carried without noticeably increasing the weight of the bag.

With an approximately 50mm (35mm equivalent) focal length on an APS-C sensor, this lens is ideal for snapshots and portraits under a wide range of shooting conditions. The high-speed F1.8 maximum aperture is particularly advantageous for hand held shooting in low light.

At just 0.23 metres, the DT 35mm F1.8 SAM (SAL35F18) has the shortest minimum focus in its class, making it an excellent choice for dramatic close-ups too. Whatever the shot, the internal Smooth Autofocus Motor (SAM) drives the focussing group directly and ensures responsive and fluid autofocus operation.

Sony 35mm f/1.8 DT SAM SAL35F18 User Reviews

8.3/10 average of 6 reviews Build Quality 6.8/10 Image Quality 8.7/10
Write your own review! link will open to SLRgear.com
  • 9 out of 10 points and recommended by (3 reviews)
    Excellent sharpness, light (170gr), fast aperture for low light hand held
    mainly plastic

    I owned it and shoot with my A77 :
    - Focusing with SAM motor : a bit noisy, not fast for action but accurate for most of the cases
    - Plastic built : looks cheap and the cost is cheap indeed
    - I recommend you to try some chose-up shots ( at about 0.30m ), you will be amazed by the result even at the max aperture 1.8
    - From f/2.0, very impressive for landscape, candids, portrait.
    - Very good sharpness from center to corner from f/4
    - At 170gr, you never notice that you have this lens attached to you camera.
    Sony DT 35mm f1.8 simply deserved a BRAVO.

    reviewed January 7th, 2013 (purchased for $220)
  • 5 out of 10 points and not recommended by (5 reviews)
    cheap, light weight
    cheap, not that sharp or contrast

    Feel like a toy, a cheap toy, not like any other Sony's product. Not any better then a zoom lens.

    reviewed December 20th, 2012 (purchased for $200)
  • 8 out of 10 points and recommended by (4 reviews)
    Lightweight, cheap
    None

    This lens is currently on my A77 more than the other lenses at the moment. Its light and has replaced my SAL1650 as my main walkabout lens. I use it mainly for street photography and for those who are familiar with the SAL50F18 lens, it produces very similar quality results but with the 52mm field of view. Good value for money.

    Check out samples of the photos at http://translucentmirror.com/2012/07/walking-around-with-my-35mmlens/

    My photos with the SAL35F18 and SAL50F18 also can be found at
    www.500px.com/translucentmirror

    Thanks!

    reviewed July 12th, 2012 (purchased for $254)
  • 9 out of 10 points and recommended by (22 reviews)
    Inexpensive. Very light. Very good IQ (even wide open). Works well on a700 and NEX5n (w/LA-EA1). More compact than most 35mm lenses. SAM is noisier than SSM/USM/HSM, but quieter than in-camera focus.
    Plastic lens mount, distance scales are very basic

    I like this lens mainly for indoor work on NEX5n (w/LA-EA1). It gives the advantage of NEX5n electronic shutter and mirrorless shooting. It helps me exploit the high-ISO functions of NEX5n better than E-mount lenses, so far. It's price also puts it within reach of people just-starting-out.

    This is probably the first prime lens that any Sony Alpha users could consider. This FL is very useful on APSC, it performs really well and is quite inexpensive.

    Using it on LA-EA1 does compromise NEX5n's lens-correction (for vignetting, distortion and CA) that is available with E-mount 16mm pancake lens. Also LA-EA1 CDAF on NEX5n is about as fast as E-mount CDAF on NEX5.

    reviewed October 5th, 2011 (purchased for $195)
  • 10 out of 10 points and recommended by (8 reviews)
    Very high resolution
    Nothing considering the low price

    This is a perfect std. lens for the Sony a77 with a field of view equivalent to 52.5mm in 35mm camera terms (x1.5 comparison factor), and with the Sony DSLRs you always have image stabilisation. It is very well corrected and delivers top IQ. I use it when I need as much details as possible in my buildings and landscape pictures. For full figure and candid shooting in nature as well as studio it provides a comfortable working distance; skin tones are pleasing and depth of field easy to control. This equipment is a fast and reliable companion enhancing interactive creativity using the EVF for checking WB, highlights and contrast, and the tilting LCD for composing in awkward positions. Regards JvE.

    reviewed October 4th, 2011 (purchased for $251)
  • 9 out of 10 points and recommended by (2 reviews)
    Very small, lightweight, fast 1.8, SAM motor-in-lens
    Plastic construction through and through

    I wanted a fairly fast, inexpensive lens for indoor situations. This lens is eqivalent to a 57mm on my Sony a580. I've done my usual testing and this lens is very sharp at all aperatures. The construction is ALL PLASTIC ...., even the mount is plastic (How much can a metal mount add to the price?). How it holds up is a big question. Although it has a built-in focus motor I see no difference in speed from my other, non-SAM lenses (should have used the extra $$ for a metal mount!). Manual focus is a little sloppy with about 1/16th inch play in the focus ring. Bottom line: a very good deal for the money. We'll see if it lasts.

    reviewed September 17th, 2011 (purchased for $200)