Sony FE 90mm f/2.8 Macro G OSS SEL90M28G

 
Lens Reviews / Sony Lenses i Lab tested
90mm $1,098
average price
image of Sony FE 90mm f/2.8 Macro G OSS SEL90M28G

Lab Test Results

  • Blur
  • Chromatic Aberration
  • Vignetting
  • Geometric Distortion
  • Blur
  • Chromatic Aberration
  • Vignetting
  • Geometric Distortion

SLRgear Review
June 21, 2015
by Andrew Alexander

---
Special update: The Sony FE 90mm ƒ/2.8 Macro was awarded a Lens of Distinction in the Best Prime Lens category of our 2015 Lenses of the Year awards!
---

Sony has been aggressively filling out its lineup of lenses in the E-mount, and the 90mm Macro fills a particularly obvious gap. Until now, if you wanted to do any kind of macro work on an E-mount body, you had to use an adapter.

The Sony FE 90mm ƒ/2.8 Macro G OSS will fit on both APS-C and full-frame E-mount Sony bodies; on the NEX-7, the lens provides an effective field of view of around 135mm.

The lens is scheduled to start shipping in July, 2015, ships with a round lens hood, and will be priced at approximately $1,100.

Sharpness
Our review sample of this lens proved to be exceptionally sharp, even when used at its widest aperture setting of ƒ/2.8. When used on the NEX-7 with its APS-C sensor, the images shot were tack-sharp from ƒ/2.8 onward. Mounted on the full-frame A7R, there's a trace of corner softness at ƒ/2.8, but stopping down to ƒ/5.6 provided incrementally better corner sharpness until it became tack-sharp.

Diffraction limiting begins at ƒ/11, but you'll be hard-press to notice any impact on sharpness until ƒ/16, where generalized softness begins to set in.

Chromatic Aberration
There's little chromatic aberration to speak of from both the test results and looking at the sample images. Both the NEX-7 and A7R employ in-camera correction for chromatic aberration, corner shading and distortion, and to give you a fuller picture of lens performance we've shot our sample images with and without these settings enabled.

Shading (''Vignetting'')
Light falloff is essentially a non-issue for the 90mm ƒ/2.8 macro when mounted on the sub-frame NEX-7; the only corner shading of note is found at the ƒ/2.8 setting, where the corners are a 1/4-stop darker than the center. At any other setting there is no light falloff.

Corner shading is a bit more prominent for the lens when mounted on the full-frame A7R. At ƒ/2.8, the corners are 3/4 of a stop darker than the center. This light falloff reduces dramatically when stopped down to ƒ/4 (where there is just over a third of a stop of light falloff). At any other setting, light falloff is inconsequential.

Distortion
The Sony 90mm ƒ/2.8 macro is optimized to produce almost no distortion; the numbers are essentially zero when mounted on the NEX-7. On the A7R, there is a tiny bit of barrel distortion in the corners (almost +0.2%) but this is a very small amount that's easily correctable.

Autofocus Operation
Despite the fact that it's a macro lens, the Sony 90mm ƒ/2.8 Macro focused quite quickly, taking around a second for the lens to focus its range from infinity to close-focus. The focus action is all internal, so there is no change in the lens' size as it focuses; the front element doesn't rotate, so attached 62mm filters will stay where they are.

Macro
The lens is purpose-built for macro work, so it's no surprise that it excels here, offering full 1:1 reproduction at its minimum close-focusing range of 11" (28 cm).

The lens is equipped with a focus limiter switch with three settings: one for unrestricted autofocus operation, and two settings which limit the range of autofocus movement and thus speed up the operation. The first setting limits the range to macro (between 11'' and 20'') while the second setting limits the range beyond macro (20'' to infinity).

Build Quality and Handling
The Sony FE 90mm ƒ/2.8 Macro OSS is a sturdy and well-built lens, with a metal construction. It's a bit larger than other prime lenses in the system and heavier (it's around 600 grams, or over 21 ounces). The size works against it for macro work, as the NEX and A7 series of camera have such a tiny body area to lock on a quick release plate. The plates have some amount of wobble when a plate is attached: a tripod socket on this lens would have been a real help. That said, Sony's implementation of OSS suggests that it's envisioning photographers will leave their tripods at home when they use this lens.

The fit and finish of this lens is really nice: the lens has a distance and reproduction scale adjacent to the focus ring, as well as the focus limiter function. Also present is a focus hold button, which allows the user to lock in focus while recomposing the scene.

The focusing ring is 1 1/4" wide, composed of a dense plastic with raised plastic nubs. The focusing ring has two settings: pushed away from the camera body, it is in autofocus mode; pulled towards, it is in fully manual mode. In this mode, the ring has hard stops on the infinity and closest focus settings, and has a generous 150 degrees of travel between these points.

The ALC-SH138 lens hood is a bayonet-mounted round hood that's 2 1/4" long, providing a generous shade to prevent lens flare.

Sony includes its OSS ("Optical Steady Shot") image stabilization technology in the lens. While the NEX series of camera includes sensor-shifting image stabilization, the A7 series of camera does not, so image stabilization is possible regardless of the platform. In our testing, we note around 2 and a half stops of hand-holding improvement; check out our IS Test tab for more detail.

Alternatives

Sony 100mm ƒ/2.8 Macro ~$750
The only directly comparable lens in the system: however, you'd need the Sony LAEA3 adapter to attach it to an E-mount camera, and we couldn't say how that might affect the image quality. On the Alpha SLT series of cameras, the lens performed quite well, though it's clearly not as impressive as the Sony 90mm Macro; sharpness and corner shading have been distinctly improved, as well as incorporating image stabilization.

Conclusion
It's a pricey lens, but right now it's the only E-mount option that works out-of-the-box for macro photography. It might be expensive, but you get an exceptionally sharp lens with some great features - certainly, worth the investment.

Product Photos

Sample Photos

The VFA target should give you a good idea of sharpness in the center and corners, as well as some idea of the extent of barrel or pincushion distortion and chromatic aberration, while the Still Life subject may help in judging contrast and color. We shoot both images using the default JPEG settings and manual white balance of our test bodies, so the images should be quite consistent from lens to lens.

We've decided to present our sample images with both in-camera corrections ON and OFF.

As appropriate, we shoot these with both full-frame and sub-frame bodies, at a range of focal lengths, and at both maximum aperture and ƒ/8. For the ''VFA'' target (the viewfinder accuracy target from Imaging Resource), we also provide sample crops from the center and upper-left corner of each shot, so you can quickly get a sense of relative sharpness, without having to download and inspect the full-res images. To avoid space limitations with the layout of our review pages, indexes to the test shots launch in separate windows.

Sony FE 90mm f/2.8 Macro G OSS SEL90M28G User Reviews

8.3/10 average of 36 reviews Build Quality 8.4/10 Image Quality 8.7/10
  • 6 out of 10 points and recommended by (1 reviews)
    This camera is really amazing we know that Sony have a big market of digital camera that we have to crest in order to make sure that we need new camera

    This camera is really amazing we know that Sony have a big market of digital camera that we have to crest in order to make sure that we need new camera Dissertation Writer

    reviewed October 17th, 2017 (purchased for $122)
  • 9 out of 10 points and recommended by (1 reviews)

    I love this lens. I use it to take pics of all my paintings!

    House Painters Fargo

    reviewed October 11th, 2017
  • 1 out of 10 points and recommended by (1 reviews)

    The words "Characteristic Flavor" are obviously set up to ensure many organizations "mystery" fixings in their Assignment Writing Service formulas. The awful news this is happening in every single handled sustenance to give them that appropriate overwhelming flavor that holds you returning for progressively and at last influencing you to unfit, debilitated, sick and have different other restorative intricacies.

    reviewed October 10th, 2017
  • 8 out of 10 points and recommended by (1 reviews)

    Its all perfect I have no such issues with this camera yet but one thing for sure is that its hell expensive, it tool me some months to get this as I did savings to buy this camera, I'm a wildlife photographer, who loves to click every beautiful moment, the aperture is good, focal point 2.8 its good but need to be increased and I Buy Cheap Papers Online and do some clicks of the paper work, and took one of the best shots wish I could share it here with you all.

    reviewed October 9th, 2017 (purchased for $500)
  • 10 out of 10 points and recommended by (1 reviews)

    i could choose for Nikon D40. you could take your pictures to a various point with DSLR. apart from, a DSLR provides extra suited administration over your digital camera (you may get what you go with - or much extra suited). Buy an Ez Assignment UK additionally can use many forms of lens (in simple terms exchange the lens and you're arranged to shoot!). Macro, telephoto, huge perspective, fisheye; those lenses supply thrilling twist on your photos.

    reviewed October 6th, 2017 (purchased for $500)
  • 10 out of 10 points and recommended by (1 reviews)

    The VFA target should give you a smart thought of sharpness in the middle and corners, and some thought of the degree of barrel or pincushion twisting and chromatic abnormality, while the Still Life subject may help in judging difference and shading. We shoot the two pictures utilizing the default JPEG settings and manual white adjust of our test bodies, Write my Coursework for me so the pictures ought to be very steady from focal point to focal point.

    reviewed September 29th, 2017
  • 6 out of 10 points and recommended by (1 reviews)
    -Nice for macro mode - very fast shooting - Superb image quality
    expensive

    The focusing ring is 1/4" wide, made from a thick plastic with raised plastic stubs. The focusing ring has settings: pushed a long way from the advanced camera body, Coursework offerings it's far in self-direct mode; pulled towards, it's far in completely manage mode. on this mode, the ring has intense stops on the immensity and closest center settings, and has a liberal 150 phases of go between these core interests. Essay Writing Company

    reviewed September 28th, 2017
  • 10 out of 10 points and recommended by (1 reviews)

    There's little chromatic deviation to talk about from both the test outcomes and taking a gander at the example pictures. Both the NEX-7 and A7R utilize in-camera amendment for chromatic deviation, corner shading and bending, and to give you a more full picture of focal point execution we've shot our example pictures with and without these settings empowered. Coursework Help

    reviewed September 27th, 2017
  • 10 out of 10 points and recommended by (1 reviews)

    Sony has been forcefully rounding out its lineup of focal points in the E-mount, and the 90mm Macro fills an especially clear hole. As of not long ago, in the event that you needed to do any sort of large scale take a shot at an E-mount body, you needed to utilize a connector. Coursework Writing Service

    reviewed September 27th, 2017
  • 9 out of 10 points and recommended by (1 reviews)

    The Sony FE its educate is bigger brilliant its equipment is bigger savvy and it encourages blue beam tech. on the off chance that every one of them have been given appropriate here out a same expense once you confined them then the Sony is the suited choice Macs overheat and HP to parts cash for excessively li. A-One Assignments

    reviewed September 26th, 2017
  • 10 out of 10 points and not recommended by (1 reviews)

    The centering ring is 1/4" wide, made out of a thick plastic with raised plastic stubs. The centering ring has two settings: pushed far from the camera body, Coursework Services it is in self-adjust mode; pulled towards, it is in completely manual mode. In this mode, the ring has hard stops on the vastness and nearest center settings, and has a liberal 150 degrees of go between these focuses.

    reviewed September 26th, 2017
  • 10 out of 10 points and recommended by (1 reviews)

    The contrast between the focal points you recorded is the central length/edge of the view. The 30mm has a more extensive edge of view than the Click Essay other two and is wide to the typical focal point.

    reviewed September 21st, 2017 (purchased for $23)
  • 9 out of 10 points and recommended by (1 reviews)

    I had used a camera for write my coursework photography I liked the lens 90mm f/2.8 Macro, I had borrowed that lens with one of my friend who also a professional photographer.. Now after using it I'd like to buy it for myself...

    reviewed September 20th, 2017 (purchased for $22)
  • 8 out of 10 points and recommended by (1 reviews)
    Quality image great performance
    Function are little difficult to understand

    The focus of this camera are amazing really a very great experience. The lens have some great focus i love the way when i do my assignment and have to sent to my friend with high quality just amazing experience.

    reviewed September 20th, 2017
  • 9 out of 10 points and recommended by (1 reviews)

    Sony FE 90mm f/2.8 Macro G OSS SEL90M28G, I still remember I had waited for this lens for a long time, in start I was hesitating to switch to the Sony A7 because of the shortage of lens, assignment help uk students suggests me or you can say convince me to move to Sony FE 90mm and it was a fruitful decision till now...

    reviewed September 19th, 2017 (purchased for $23)
  • 10 out of 10 points and recommended by (1 reviews)

    This one is just awesome. I do reccommend a lot. meinegesundheit-24 waiting 4 new model to upgrade more stuff in my stuff :) lamiasalute-24. You can buy this one for 100% no fake.
    sante-24

    reviewed September 12th, 2017
  • 10 out of 10 points and recommended by (1 reviews)
    Perfectly Used
    Expensive much

    This great lenses very suit for my photos, i love it, will highly recommend to my friends. And will use for my products phen-375 and forskolin-fuel shotting. Thanks for your great sharing.

    reviewed September 3rd, 2017
  • 9 out of 10 points and recommended by (1 reviews)

    You CAN increase your overall penis length and girth. Using an penis extenders can also improve sexual performance and stamina through the process of cell division which can improve blood flow to the penis. Our Peyronies Editions are highly recommended penis straightener devices. http://www.sizegeneticsguides.com/top-penis-extenders-2016/

    reviewed August 28th, 2017 (purchased for $3)
  • 8 out of 10 points and recommended by (3 reviews)
    -Nice for macro mode - very fast shooting - Superb image quality
    -a bit expensive to me

    Very nice product, we're gonna use it for our bank project https://www.simulation-credit-immo.com/.

    reviewed August 28th, 2017
  • 2 out of 10 points and not recommended by (1 reviews)
    Optical SteadyShot Image Stabilization Aspherical, ED and Super ED Elements Aperture Range: f/2.8 to f/22 1:1 Magnification Ratio; Internal Focus
    High quality

    The best result I am getting is in my studio on both A7r's with Elinchrom strobes. Processing images in CaptureOne v9.x is a delightful pleasure since seeing sharp, well-saturated results amazing me 192.168.1.1

    reviewed August 26th, 2017
  • 10 out of 10 points and recommended by (1 reviews)

    I have read your article, it is very informative and helpful for me.I admire the valuable information you offer in your articles. Thanks for posting it..
    Vegan Clothing

    reviewed August 18th, 2017 (purchased for $200)
  • 6 out of 10 points and recommended by (1 reviews)
    Superb image quality in most situations,
    A bit costly

    The lens are amazing for a variety of uses.i like this lens very much,but it is a bit expensive, where to buy cheaper one.it is my web.

    reviewed August 11th, 2017 (purchased for $2,000)
  • 10 out of 10 points and recommended by (1 reviews)
    a lot
    no

    It's really nice device, i recommending it to everybody! 192.168.0.1

    reviewed August 11th, 2017 (purchased for $100)
  • 10 out of 10 points and recommended by (1 reviews)

    Well, this got me thinking what other workouts are good for those of us who find ourselves on the road or have limited equipment options. financial problem of students

    reviewed August 2nd, 2017
  • 10 out of 10 points and recommended by (2 reviews)
    Black
    pretty expensive

    I purchased a professional logo design for my business and this sony was so great in taking shots for my logos.
    This company logo design is more than I expected. A full review through the logo design process with a very well-written text by David Airey. I recommend it!

    reviewed August 1st, 2017 (purchased for $211)
  • 10 out of 10 points and recommended by (1 reviews)
    Good for use
    A little expensive

    This great lenses very suit for my photos, i love it, will highly recommend to my friends. And will use for my products shotting. Thanks for your great sharing.

    reviewed July 31st, 2017
  • 9 out of 10 points and recommended by (1 reviews)
    Affordable Easy to use
    No one

    I love photography and i bought this lens some weeks ago and i love it. I use my camera when i'm doing hoverboard to make photo of my travels. Also, the price on this lense is really affordable and i recommend it.

    reviewed July 20th, 2017
  • 6 out of 10 points and recommended by (1 reviews)
    Very cheap and easy to handle
    I cant find one, really!

    Photography is my passion but unfortunately not what earns me a living. However, I use this lens and other Sony lenses when I'm taking photos for my business at jobs such as plan cul Dating as a fierce photographer, sinon allez voir ce site pour savoir comment bien baiser sa meuf. et ce site pour trouver un pendentif arbre de vie esotik

    reviewed July 20th, 2017
  • 9 out of 10 points and recommended by (1 reviews)
    very high quality lens
    a little bit expensive

    I used to play with this lens when my friend bought it and let me try. In a word, it's fantastic but the price is out of my range. So bad, it would nice to work with this one for my job on the website agence web dijon. I would have to found a cheaper one.

    reviewed July 8th, 2017
  • 1 out of 10 points and recommended by (1 reviews)

    Pretty good post. I found your website perfect for my needs. Thanks for sharing the great ideas. I liked the article, Ill be back to read more of your blog later =) Thanks for posting it, again!
    happy wheels , five nights at freddy's

    reviewed June 13th, 2017
  • 8 out of 10 points and recommended by (1 reviews)

    Critical to macro is accurate focusing, which is assisted by the speedy Direct Drive Super Sonic wave Motor present in the 90mm lens. Users also have direct access to a focus hold button and focus range limiter for further optimizing the lens' performance in certain situations. On top of this, the focusing ring slides for immediate switching between manual and auto focusing. And, the lens has built-in Optical SteadyShot image stabilization for compensating for camera shake at all focusing distances.
    We shot couple of images for our web design thing thanks to Sony.
    Simply Brilliant in Many ways.

    reviewed June 6th, 2017
  • 9 out of 10 points and recommended by (1 reviews)
    Superb image quality in most situations, sharp performance, quick focusing performance and very quiet stabilization.
    The colors aren’t quite there compared to many of Sony’s other lenses.

    Photography is my passion but unfortunately not what earns me a living. However, I use this lens and other Sony lenses when I'm taking photos for my business at jobs such as water damage cleanup in Orange Beach, Alabama.

    reviewed May 12th, 2017 (purchased for $1,098)
  • 8 out of 10 points and recommended by (3 reviews)

    Wonderful optics, never regretted buying, it is definitely worth its money, and will cost later
    little caesars near me

    reviewed April 27th, 2017 (purchased for $450)
  • 9 out of 10 points and recommended by (1 reviews)
    Optical SteadyShot Image Stabilization Aspherical, ED and Super ED Elements Aperture Range: f/2.8 to f/22 1:1 Magnification Ratio; Internal Focus
    A bit costly

    The lens are amazing for a variety of uses. I gave this gadget to my wife and we have been trying every lens available including zeiss and sony zeiss and this is the outstanding lens we have found where we looked at expert da conquista our loving weding photos and said "amazing".

    reviewed April 7th, 2017 (purchased for $1,500)
  • 10 out of 10 points and recommended by (1 reviews)
    not expansive
    High quality

    The best result I am getting is in my studio on both A7r's with Elinchrom strobes. Processing images in CaptureOne v9.x is a delightful pleasure since seeing sharp, well-saturated results amazing me. site

    reviewed March 18th, 2017 (purchased for $956)
  • 10 out of 10 points and recommended by (1 reviews)
    Outstanding sharnes, nice focusing, water seal, manual-autofocus switch ring.
    Luck of lens-tripod mount rig.

    I did have them all, Canon, Nikon, and Zeiss ... But, The Sony FE 90mm f/2.8 G OSS Macro is an exception. At least in image quality department and that is always in my book priory.

    This lens feels good, the focusing is extremely accurate and overall, working with the lens is a pleasure. I am using this lens on A7R and A7RII and also on my A6000.

    The best result I am getting is in my studio on both A7r's with Elinchrom strobes. Processing images in CaptureOne v9.x is a delightful pleasure since seeing sharp, well-saturated results amazing me.

    The Sony FE 90mm f/2.8 G OSS Macro was awaiting addition in my Pelican case and no question about it also a well-worth investment.

    reviewed April 12th, 2016 (purchased for $905)