Expecting SLRGear.com? We’re moving our lens reviews to Imaging Resource! Read about it here.

Tamron 28-105mm f/2.8 LD Aspherical IF SP AF

 
Lens Reviews / Tamron Lenses i Not yet tested

Your purchases support this site

Buy the Tamron 28-105mm f/2.8 LD Aspherical IF SP AF
28-105mm $494
average price
image of Tamron 28-105mm f/2.8 LD Aspherical IF SP AF

(From Tamron lens literature) This lens establishes a new benchmark as a standard lens, extending from a wide 28mm all the way to 105mm telephoto, all with a fast constant f/2.8 maximum aperture. The use of four large diameter aspherical elements and three LD glass elements reduces various aberrations while minimizing the fall-off of light at the corners. Tamron's Integrated-Focusing Cam system, Internal Focusing system and Triple-Cam zoom system all combine to permit a body that at the 28mm zoom position is very compact, with excellent optical performance. Also, a new Anti-Slip-Mode mechanism is incorporated for the first time.

Anti-Slip Mode-A new Tamron mechanism that prevents the lens barrel from sliding outward under its own weight.

Tamron 28-105mm f/2.8 LD Aspherical IF SP AF User Reviews

8.4/10 average of 5 reviews Build Quality 6.8/10 Image Quality 8.8/10
Write your own review! link will open to SLRgear.com
  • 9 out of 10 points and recommended by (6 reviews)
    Great focal length range, sharp images, decent af performance.
    big heavy lens, not AFS, no longer being made so take care of them if you have one!

    This is an excellent portrait or party lens due to its fast aperture and excellent focal range.

    It is a bit heavy but not anything I'd really complain about handling. I've heard of issues with the barrel extending due to gravity although I haven't experienced it in my unit (my best friend though has).

    That said, I'd recommend it without reservation to any photographer who wants to shoot in moderately close quarters and moderately low lighting.

    It's just really too bad that Tamron nor any of the other lens vendors offered an updated equivalent.

    reviewed April 25th, 2011 (purchased for $250)
  • 9 out of 10 points and recommended by (5 reviews)
    Great Images, Fast, good zoom range
    Heavy, Heavy, Heavy

    This is one HUGE hunk of glass! But, what do you expect for a 105mm f/2.8 Full Frame lens? Its both long (when extended) and wide. It is also quite heavy. It does focus slowly, which is more the norm for something this big and heavy (exactly how fast and strong do you expect your camera's focusing motor to be be?) If you're looking for a high quality, fast lens, this is a great choice. If you're looking for a "walk around" lens, look elsewhere, this thing is closer to a bowling ball than a feather.

    reviewed July 7th, 2008 (purchased for $275)
  • 8 out of 10 points and recommended by (17 reviews)
    Bright, BEAUTIFUL BOKEH, Sharp sharp sharp, zoom range
    SIZE, speed of focus

    I really like this lens.

    First of all, it produces GORGEOUS pictures. Remarkable really. Almost all of the focal lengths you'd ever want for portraits. It's bright and clear with beautiful bokeh. It's a bit soft wide open on the wide end, but from 40mm on, it's really exceptional for an off-brand 2.8. When it's stopped down to 4.0, is fantastically sharp.

    The autofocus is quite slow, I'll admit, especially in low light on thelong end. But it doesn't really hunt. It knows what it's focusing for, and gets there with determination and really startling accuracy.

    On the down side, it's huge and ugly. I dislike the texturing (or more appropriately, lack thereof) on the zoom and focus rings. It feels slippery and cheap. The huge front element makes me very nervous. I haven't found a lens hood for it, but a high quality UV filter is an adaquate second choice.

    But at half the price of the canon 24-105 2.8L IS, with a usable extra stop, it really is a bargain.

    Highly recomended if you can accept the slow autofocus (and can find one... it's discontinued)

    reviewed December 28th, 2006 (purchased for $650)
  • 8 out of 10 points and recommended by (10 reviews)
    very useful focal length
    barrel extends a long ways, too much plastic

    This was my first lens when I upgraded to a Nikon F100. I did so because the focal length covered a gap between my 20mm and my 80-200 zoom. I have no complaints about its image quality; I always got good shots. When zooming to 105mm, the barrel will extend several inches. After using it for five years, I was a little concerned about the "play" in the lens when it was fully extended. Also, the lens would sometimes extend on its own when I was carrying the camera on my shoulder. The autofocus is slower than Nikon's silent wave lenses--and much noisier.

    Because of my durability concerns and the tendency of the lens to extend itself, I ended up buying a 28-70 Nikon zoom to replace it.

    reviewed December 13th, 2006 (purchased for $800)
  • 8 out of 10 points and recommended by (3 reviews)
    Excellent zoom range for all around, Great with a flash
    Weight, slow auto focus speed.

    I had bought this lens primarily for use on vacation. A lens I could keep on the camera for all around touring. The zoom range works excellent with my 580EX flash. The biggest plus, F2.8 through the entire range, which makes it nice in low light conditions where a flash is not allowed. There is slight color aberration at 105mm @ F2.8. This is a heavy lens and the weight is noticable. The antislip feature on the zoom ring is a nice addition but I can see it as a wearable part in time. One of my biggest negatives is the speed of the autofocus. Very slow and it seems to hunt alot. However the diversity of this lens makes up for that.

    reviewed April 24th, 2006