Go to:
Previous Item
Current News
Next Item

The following is an unedited press release, shown as received from the company represented. We've elected to present selected releases without editorial comment, as a way to provide our readers more information without further overtaxing our limited editorial resources. To avoid any possible confusion or conflict of interest, the Imaging Resource will always clearly distinguish between company-provided press releases and our own editorial views and content.

PRESS RELEASE: $11,000 Grand Prize Winner Announced for Scott Kelby's Second Annual Worldwide Photo Walk Largest Global Event for Photographers With 32,000 Participants in 900 Cities

TAMPA, FL ­ Aug. 19, 2009 ­ Scott Kelby is pleased to announce the $11,000 grand prizewinner and 10 honorable mentions from the Second Annual Worldwide Photo Walk?, which took place on Sat., July 18. This year's record-breaking Photo Walk was held in 900 cities around the globe with more than 32,000 participants.

"There were so many amazing, intriguing, fascinating, and just fun shots, that it made going from nearly 900 shots down to 10 finalists and one winner incredibly challenging. The sheer quality of the shots taken this year were just over the top," said Scott Kelby, Photo Walk organizer, #1 bestselling computer and technology book author, and president of the National Association of Photoshop Professionals  (NAPP).

From Thailand, the 2009 Photo Walk grand prizewinner is Bossakorm Buena for the image titled "Can't Stop Smiling." Bossakorm Buena receives an $11,000 prize package from the Photo Walk sponsors, including Adobe, Nikon, B&H Photo, Bogen Imaging, Wacom, Kelby Training, Lensbaby, Photoshop World, onOne Software, X-rite, PeachpitNAPP, Think Tank Photo, Digital Photo Academy, Drobo, and iStockphoto . Prize details available at http://worldwidephotowalk.com/prizes/.

The 10 honorable mentions each receive a prize package valued at $1,500 are:

  1. Sam Wong -Newcastle, Australia
  2. Frank Thys - Brussels, Belgium
  3. Svein Ove Boe ­ Bergen, Norway
  4. Sarah Gjertsen - London, England
  5. Jeroen Idema - Amsterdam, Netherlands
  6. Sudiru Abdullah - Brunei
  7. Ronal Suello - Cebu City, Phillipines
  8. Luke Ling - Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
  9. Son Papdi - Chennai, India
  10. Marcelo Londono Alvarez - Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

The best photo taken during each July 18th Photo Walk was chosen by the walk leader and submitted for judging. From this group of images, Scott Kelby selected one single best photo for the grand prize and 10 honorable mentions.

In addition to the prizes above, each Photo Walk leader is receiving a complimentary copy of Scott Kelby's latest book release ­ The Digital Photography Book, Vol. 3 ­ as thanks for leading their walk.

Registration was free for this event and open to all photographers ­ amateur to professional. Photo Walk groups were limited to 50 participants per walk. Scott Kelby's Photo Walk is a fun, social photography event where photographers get together for two hours to walk around, shoot photos, and have fun with other photographers. Each Photo Walk has a local assigned leader who chooses the route of the walk and the ending place (a local pub, café, or restaurant) where participants have a chance to look at each other's photos from the walk and make new photography friends.

'Can't Stop Smiling' by Bossakorm Buena Photo provided by Scott Kelby. Click for a bigger picture!

'Can't Stop Smiling' by Bossakorm Buena
Photo provided by Scott Kelby.

About Scott Kelby
President of the National Association of Photoshop Professionals , editor in chief of Photoshop User  and Layers magazines, training director and instructor for KelbyTrainingLIVE, CEO of Kelby Media Group, and the #1 bestselling computer and technology book author for the past five years, technical chair of Photoshop World Conference & Expo, and co-host of PhotoshopUser TV  and DTown TV  podcasts.

Adobe and Photoshop are registered trademarks of Adobe Systems Incorporated.
Photo Walk is a trademark of Kelby Media Group.

(First posted on Friday, August 21, 2009 at 13:43 EDT)

Go to:
Previous Item
Current News
Next Item