Sony FE 90mm f/2.8 Macro G OSS SEL90M28G

 
Lens Reviews / Sony Lenses i Lab tested
90mm $1,098
average price
image of Sony FE 90mm f/2.8 Macro G OSS SEL90M28G

Lab Test Results

  • Blur
  • Chromatic Aberration
  • Vignetting
  • Geometric Distortion
  • Blur
  • Chromatic Aberration
  • Vignetting
  • Geometric Distortion

SLRgear Review
June 21, 2015
by Andrew Alexander

---
Special update: The Sony FE 90mm ƒ/2.8 Macro was awarded a Lens of Distinction in the Best Prime Lens category of our 2015 Lenses of the Year awards!
---

Sony has been aggressively filling out its lineup of lenses in the E-mount, and the 90mm Macro fills a particularly obvious gap. Until now, if you wanted to do any kind of macro work on an E-mount body, you had to use an adapter.

The Sony FE 90mm ƒ/2.8 Macro G OSS will fit on both APS-C and full-frame E-mount Sony bodies; on the NEX-7, the lens provides an effective field of view of around 135mm.

The lens is scheduled to start shipping in July, 2015, ships with a round lens hood, and will be priced at approximately $1,100.

Sharpness
Our review sample of this lens proved to be exceptionally sharp, even when used at its widest aperture setting of ƒ/2.8. When used on the NEX-7 with its APS-C sensor, the images shot were tack-sharp from ƒ/2.8 onward. Mounted on the full-frame A7R, there's a trace of corner softness at ƒ/2.8, but stopping down to ƒ/5.6 provided incrementally better corner sharpness until it became tack-sharp.

Diffraction limiting begins at ƒ/11, but you'll be hard-press to notice any impact on sharpness until ƒ/16, where generalized softness begins to set in.

Chromatic Aberration
There's little chromatic aberration to speak of from both the test results and looking at the sample images. Both the NEX-7 and A7R employ in-camera correction for chromatic aberration, corner shading and distortion, and to give you a fuller picture of lens performance we've shot our sample images with and without these settings enabled.

Shading (''Vignetting'')
Light falloff is essentially a non-issue for the 90mm ƒ/2.8 macro when mounted on the sub-frame NEX-7; the only corner shading of note is found at the ƒ/2.8 setting, where the corners are a 1/4-stop darker than the center. At any other setting there is no light falloff.

Corner shading is a bit more prominent for the lens when mounted on the full-frame A7R. At ƒ/2.8, the corners are 3/4 of a stop darker than the center. This light falloff reduces dramatically when stopped down to ƒ/4 (where there is just over a third of a stop of light falloff). At any other setting, light falloff is inconsequential.

Distortion
The Sony 90mm ƒ/2.8 macro is optimized to produce almost no distortion; the numbers are essentially zero when mounted on the NEX-7. On the A7R, there is a tiny bit of barrel distortion in the corners (almost +0.2%) but this is a very small amount that's easily correctable.

Autofocus Operation
Despite the fact that it's a macro lens, the Sony 90mm ƒ/2.8 Macro focused quite quickly, taking around a second for the lens to focus its range from infinity to close-focus. The focus action is all internal, so there is no change in the lens' size as it focuses; the front element doesn't rotate, so attached 62mm filters will stay where they are.

Macro
The lens is purpose-built for macro work, so it's no surprise that it excels here, offering full 1:1 reproduction at its minimum close-focusing range of 11" (28 cm).

The lens is equipped with a focus limiter switch with three settings: one for unrestricted autofocus operation, and two settings which limit the range of autofocus movement and thus speed up the operation. The first setting limits the range to macro (between 11'' and 20'') while the second setting limits the range beyond macro (20'' to infinity).

Build Quality and Handling
The Sony FE 90mm ƒ/2.8 Macro OSS is a sturdy and well-built lens, with a metal construction. It's a bit larger than other prime lenses in the system and heavier (it's around 600 grams, or over 21 ounces). The size works against it for macro work, as the NEX and A7 series of camera have such a tiny body area to lock on a quick release plate. The plates have some amount of wobble when a plate is attached: a tripod socket on this lens would have been a real help. That said, Sony's implementation of OSS suggests that it's envisioning photographers will leave their tripods at home when they use this lens.

The fit and finish of this lens is really nice: the lens has a distance and reproduction scale adjacent to the focus ring, as well as the focus limiter function. Also present is a focus hold button, which allows the user to lock in focus while recomposing the scene.

The focusing ring is 1 1/4" wide, composed of a dense plastic with raised plastic nubs. The focusing ring has two settings: pushed away from the camera body, it is in autofocus mode; pulled towards, it is in fully manual mode. In this mode, the ring has hard stops on the infinity and closest focus settings, and has a generous 150 degrees of travel between these points.

The ALC-SH138 lens hood is a bayonet-mounted round hood that's 2 1/4" long, providing a generous shade to prevent lens flare.

Sony includes its OSS ("Optical Steady Shot") image stabilization technology in the lens. While the NEX series of camera includes sensor-shifting image stabilization, the A7 series of camera does not, so image stabilization is possible regardless of the platform. In our testing, we note around 2 and a half stops of hand-holding improvement; check out our IS Test tab for more detail.

Alternatives

Sony 100mm ƒ/2.8 Macro ~$750
The only directly comparable lens in the system: however, you'd need the Sony LAEA3 adapter to attach it to an E-mount camera, and we couldn't say how that might affect the image quality. On the Alpha SLT series of cameras, the lens performed quite well, though it's clearly not as impressive as the Sony 90mm Macro; sharpness and corner shading have been distinctly improved, as well as incorporating image stabilization.

Conclusion
It's a pricey lens, but right now it's the only E-mount option that works out-of-the-box for macro photography. It might be expensive, but you get an exceptionally sharp lens with some great features - certainly, worth the investment.

Product Photos

Sample Photos

The VFA target should give you a good idea of sharpness in the center and corners, as well as some idea of the extent of barrel or pincushion distortion and chromatic aberration, while the Still Life subject may help in judging contrast and color. We shoot both images using the default JPEG settings and manual white balance of our test bodies, so the images should be quite consistent from lens to lens.

We've decided to present our sample images with both in-camera corrections ON and OFF.

As appropriate, we shoot these with both full-frame and sub-frame bodies, at a range of focal lengths, and at both maximum aperture and ƒ/8. For the ''VFA'' target (the viewfinder accuracy target from Imaging Resource), we also provide sample crops from the center and upper-left corner of each shot, so you can quickly get a sense of relative sharpness, without having to download and inspect the full-res images. To avoid space limitations with the layout of our review pages, indexes to the test shots launch in separate windows.

Sony FE 90mm f/2.8 Macro G OSS SEL90M28G User Reviews

8.1/10 average of 21 reviews Build Quality 8.2/10 Image Quality 8.4/10
  • 9 out of 10 points and recommended by (1 reviews)
    Very good product

    This lens is perfectly sharp, fast, smooth and great handling. The construction of the lens feel heavy and solid. However, the rear camera mounting ring of the lens is actually screwed into four protruding plastic parts inside the lens.
    visit us

    reviewed January 23rd, 2018
  • 7 out of 10 points and recommended by (1 reviews)
    I like this post,And I assume that they having an incredible time to examine this post, Optical SteadyShot Image Stabilization Aspherical, ED and Super ED Elements Aperture Range: f/2.8 to f/22 1:1 Magnification Ratio; Internal Focus
    Costly

    Its extremely astounding focal point and picture quality is amazing contrast with others. Visit Abruzzo put with Sony focal points and take awesome Pictures.
    Best Essay Writer UK

    reviewed January 16th, 2018 (purchased for $45)
  • 6 out of 10 points and recommended by (1 reviews)
    good quality

    Your blog website provided us with useful information to execute with. Each & every recommendations of your website are awesome. Thanks a lot for talking about. satta matka

    reviewed January 14th, 2018 (purchased for $7)
  • 10 out of 10 points and recommended by (2 reviews)
    Excellent construction quality. Super sharp clarity.
    None I can think of!

    This lens has been so awesome for the pics we take at our boat shop in Miami especially when we are showing the close ups for craft display, definitely recommend it for capturing the details!

    reviewed January 12th, 2018 (purchased for $170)
  • 6 out of 10 points and not recommended by (1 reviews)
    Image Stabilization Really easy to use
    A bit costly

    I have Recently Found here the most recent article that is completely related the camera. I am extremely fortunate that You have distributed about it. I will give the best evaluating as I can in light of the fact that in the day by day Life I am likewise utilizing this camera. Techsmith Coupons is extraordinary compared to Best Assignment Writers UK another programming to make and give a clean to your Videos thank you to such an extent.

    reviewed January 12th, 2018
  • 6 out of 10 points and recommended by (1 reviews)

    The Sony FE 90mm f/2.eight G OSS Macro is a special case. at any rate in picture pleasant branch and that is for the most part in my book convent. Assignment Help Online The focal point is extraordinary for a dispersion of makes utilization of.

    reviewed January 10th, 2018
  • 10 out of 10 points and recommended by (1 reviews)

    here is not so expensive and the quality of the product is incredible, thanks for posting https://melhoresmusicas.net/gospel/

    reviewed January 9th, 2018 (purchased for $350)
  • 8 out of 10 points and recommended by (1 reviews)
    Image Stabilization Perfect product Best focusing, and Water seal, as well manual-autofocus switch ring.
    lens-tripod mount

    The Sony FE 90mm f/2.eight G OSS Macro is an exception. at the least in picture nice branch and that is usually in my book priory. Write my Essay The lens are exceptional for a diffusion of makes use of.

    reviewed January 8th, 2018 (purchased for $750)
  • 9 out of 10 points and recommended by (1 reviews)

    I have nothing to complain about the Sony FE 90mm f / 2.8 Macro G OSS SEL90M28G. Meets all expectations, we are talking about Sony.
    Codigo EDV

    reviewed December 28th, 2017 (purchased for $925)
  • 10 out of 10 points and recommended by (1 reviews)

    Thank you for posting such a great article! I found your website perfect for my needs. It contains wonderful and helpful posts. Keep up the good work!. Thank you for this wonderful Article!
    five nights at freddy's

    reviewed December 27th, 2017
  • 8 out of 10 points and recommended by (1 reviews)

    I have Recently Found here the latest article that is totally related the camera. I am very lucky that You have published about it. I will give the best rating as i can because in the daily Life I am also using this camera. Techsmith Coupons is one of the best software to make and give a polish to your Videos thank you so much.

    reviewed December 27th, 2017
  • 10 out of 10 points and recommended by (1 reviews)
    Perfect product

    I love this lens too much, will use it for the images of my products

    reviewed December 22nd, 2017
  • 8 out of 10 points and recommended by (1 reviews)

    This is a really excellent product and all the details are in this product is awesome and I am glad to see this kind of post. Call Girls in Gurugram

    reviewed December 22nd, 2017
  • 10 out of 10 points and recommended by (1 reviews)

    Its really amazing lens and picture quality is awesome compare to others. Visit Abruzzo place with Sony lenses and take wonderful Pictures.
    http://www.abruzzo-villas.com/abruzzo/

    reviewed December 22nd, 2017
  • 5 out of 10 points and recommended by (1 reviews)
    I like this post,And I figure that they having a great time to peruse this post,they might take a decent site to make an information,thanks for sharing it to me. <a href="https://top10perfect.com/most-comfortable-bras/">best bra for comfort and support</a

    I like this post,And I figure that they having a great time to peruse this post,they might take a decent site to make an information,thanks for sharing it to me. best bra for comfort and support

    reviewed December 5th, 2017
  • 10 out of 10 points and recommended by (8 reviews)
    wow good

    wow good information provide free gift code generator

    reviewed November 26th, 2017 (purchased for $1)
  • 9 out of 10 points and recommended by (1 reviews)
    Image Stabilization Really easy to use
    Costly

    I use this lens since 3 years old and i cannot use another one. This one is so easy to use and to setup. I have tried so many lenses before to found the good one. So i recommend this 100%.

    reviewed November 24th, 2017
  • 1 out of 10 points and recommended by (1 reviews)

    Thank you for sharing this article with us! I believe there will be more people like me, they can find many interesting things in this article of you!
    - impossible game - roll the ball

    reviewed November 22nd, 2017
  • 9 out of 10 points and recommended by (1 reviews)

    I love this lens. I use it to take pics of all my paintings!

    reviewed October 11th, 2017
  • 9 out of 10 points and recommended by (1 reviews)
    Optical SteadyShot Image Stabilization Aspherical, ED and Super ED Elements Aperture Range: f/2.8 to f/22 1:1 Magnification Ratio; Internal Focus
    A bit costly

    The lens are amazing for a variety of uses. I gave this gadget to my wife and we have been trying every lens available including zeiss and sony zeiss and this is the outstanding lens we have found where we looked at expert da conquista our loving weding photos and said "amazing".

    reviewed April 7th, 2017 (purchased for $1,500)
  • 10 out of 10 points and recommended by (1 reviews)
    Outstanding sharnes, nice focusing, water seal, manual-autofocus switch ring.
    Luck of lens-tripod mount rig.

    I did have them all, Canon, Nikon, and Zeiss ... But, The Sony FE 90mm f/2.8 G OSS Macro is an exception. At least in image quality department and that is always in my book priory.

    This lens feels good, the focusing is extremely accurate and overall, working with the lens is a pleasure. I am using this lens on A7R and A7RII and also on my A6000.

    The best result I am getting is in my studio on both A7r's with Elinchrom strobes. Processing images in CaptureOne v9.x is a delightful pleasure since seeing sharp, well-saturated results amazing me.

    The Sony FE 90mm f/2.8 G OSS Macro was awaiting addition in my Pelican case and no question about it also a well-worth investment.

    reviewed April 12th, 2016 (purchased for $905)