Canon EF-S 10-22mm f/3.5-4.5 USM

 
Lens Reviews / Canon Lenses i Lab tested

Lab Test Results

  • Blur
  • Chromatic Aberration
  • Vignetting
  • Geometric Distortion
10-22mm $649
average price
image of Canon EF-S 10-22mm f/3.5-4.5 USM

(From Canon lens literature) This zoom lens provides ultra wide-angle coverage to the APS-C shooter. Equivalent to a 16-35mm zoom on a 35mm camera, its optics were designed from the ground-up for digital SLR use. Three aspherical lens elements, plus a Super-UD element, assure image quality. Its ring-type USM means fast and silent AF along with full-time manual focus.

(Our own comments) Because the APS-C sensor is smaller than the 35mm frame, even 18mm lenses achieve only the equivalent of a 29mm lens on a 35mm camera. Canon's new 10-22 gives digital SLR users back that ability to see the more of the world. At (US$)800, it's not for everyone, but the intermediate photographer will enjoy drawing in more of the world around them; they'll just have to be careful to not include their feet own too often, because this lens will do that.

Test Notes

The Canon 10-22 EF-S is a surprisingly high quality optic, although one would perhaps expect that, given its premium pricing. It does unusually well wide open, although some softness creeps into the corners of the frame at its longest (22mm) focallength. It's "sweet spot" of maximum sharpness ranges from f/5.6-8.0 at 10mm, f/8 at 14mm, and f/8 at 22mm.

Chromatic aberration is a little high at the 10mm focal length, but decreases steadily as the focal length is increased. Shading (aka Vignetting) is also a little high, reaching a maximum of about 0.85 EV units wide open at 10mm, but dropping to about 0.5 EV when stopped down to f/5.6 at that focal length. Shading decreases as the focal length is increased, and drops to a minimum at apertures two stops or more down from maximum.

Geometric distortion is fairly low, for such a wide-angle lens, ranging from about 0.5% barrel distortion at 10mm to about 0.2% pincushion at 22mm. (The zero distortion point is somewhere around 15-16mm.)

All in all, this is a lens of remarkable quality, a real boon to shooters needing true wide angle capability on their d-SLRs with APS-C size sensors.

Canon EF-S 10-22mm f/3.5-4.5 USM User Reviews

8.8/10 average of 40 reviews Build Quality 8.5/10 Image Quality 8.8/10
  • 8 out of 10 points and recommended by (52 reviews)
    sharp, USM, build, price
    none

    the best ultrawide zoom for Canon APS cameras. period.

    reviewed October 20th, 2012 (purchased for $650)
  • 1 out of 10 points and not recommended by (1 reviews)
    lightweight, ultrawide capability
    sharpness poor outside centre, especially in low light

    I photograph landscapes, buildings and occasionally do aerial photography and was looking forward to using this lens. Unlike many reviews on here, I have found this lens to produce poor image quality, especially around 10 mm and wide apertures. Sharpness is fine in the centre, but falls off dramatically towards the edges and corners. It performs particularly poorly in low light conditions. For the money, it's a big disappointment

    reviewed May 30th, 2012
  • 10 out of 10 points and recommended by (3 reviews)
    Wide for crop, light, easy to use, great images
    none really

    My fav, its great just get it. One of the best wide lenses of its caliber the best EF-S lens Canon makes. Like most lenses, any slight tech probs are fixable via post. A better lens won't help you shoot better photos only your ability.

    reviewed March 24th, 2012 (purchased for $650)
  • 6 out of 10 points and not recommended by (4 reviews)
    Interesting zoom range
    Too much lateral chromatic aberration

    I had many expectations when I bought at high prices that lens in 2005. Cleared less than a year later.

    Pros:
    The zoom range is interesting and allows for shooting wide angle point of view.

    Cons:
    Too high price for the real qualities. Very bad investment.
    No lens hood included. Shame on you Canon!
    Compatibility which is limited only to APS-C.
    A light cyan color cast typical of EF-S lens.
    A lateral chromatic aberration too visible to the shortest focal lengths.
    A lack of homogeneity from the center to the edges.

    Today, competition is offering better product. If I were you, I will forget that lens.


    Samples:

    http://i150.photobucket.com/albums/s111/Rotremjr/_MG_5814-1.jpg

    http://i150.photobucket.com/albums/s111/Rotremjr/_MG_5772.jpg

    http://i150.photobucket.com/albums/s111/Rotremjr/_MG_2203.jpg

    http://i150.photobucket.com/albums/s111/Rotremjr/France/_MG_5241.jpg

    reviewed January 20th, 2012
  • 10 out of 10 points and recommended by (5 reviews)
    Sharp Lens, Nice Colors, Extreme Wide Angle of View, USM, Good Flare resistance
    Expensive

    I originally bought this lens for landscapes but when I first started to use it, I felt a bit disappointed. This has nothing to do with the lens but in my skill and understanding of this lens.
    The first thing to realize about an Ultra Wide Angle lens is that this lens is for foregrounds and not backgrounds. As the foregrounds are brought closer forward and enlarged while the backgrounds are pushed further back. However if you keep this in mind you will be well rewarded with some outstanding photos that you otherwise would not have been able to get.

    Landscape Photos:
    http://flic.kr/p/ajbq7W
    http://flic.kr/p/9T4NBX


    Low Light Handheld
    http://flic.kr/p/aiMk5C
    http://flic.kr/p/anYFf6
    http://flic.kr/p/ao2qN7
    http://flic.kr/p/adv7z5

    Low Light with tripod
    http://flic.kr/p/9pqbQq

    HDR Shots
    http://flic.kr/p/9tM4mh
    http://flic.kr/p/9tDNTZ
    http://flic.kr/p/9tLArn
    http://flic.kr/p/9p7K1Y
    http://flic.kr/p/9tGHXW
    http://flic.kr/p/a8XbVd
    http://flic.kr/p/9pn26n

    Interesting Shots that need Ultrawide Lens
    http://flic.kr/p/9pqnMd
    http://flic.kr/p/af1HiD
    http://flic.kr/p/aevqoY

    Expensive yes but fills a unique niche in your camera bag. If these types of shots inspire you and you can afford it then highly recommended.

    reviewed September 28th, 2011 (purchased for $650)
  • 10 out of 10 points and recommended by (8 reviews)
    Excellent IQ,
    Not a lot, being picky for the money could be faster and/or have IS

    Despite all that has been said as to how sharp this lens is, and I totally agree I was still surprised by its IQ when I got a copy, it has out-standing IQ. Frankly on my 40D while stopping down a stop or two may improve things marginally it really seams unnecessary. Although some have reported it as having problems with flare I found the opposite. Along with the also very sharp canon 15 - 85 it will live on my 40D. While the 15 - 85 overlaps the 10 - 22 they do for me compliment each other.

    reviewed August 22nd, 2011
  • 9 out of 10 points and recommended by (3 reviews)
    Sharp at wide angle
    soft at 22mm

    One of my favorite lens. I use it for making spherical panoramas at 10mm mostly. It is very sharp at all focal length up to apr.20mm and soft at 22mm, but who cares.
    I also tried sigma 10-20mm, but Canon was better in my test.

    reviewed May 8th, 2011 (purchased for $650)
  • 10 out of 10 points and recommended by (6 reviews)
    Super wide, lovely lens

    I am definitely going to buy this lens! (Even if it is EF-S). I rented one for a wedding and I was able to get shots that were otherwise impossible. The image quality is superb.

    reviewed November 23rd, 2009
  • 9 out of 10 points and recommended by (2 reviews)
    supersharp for ultrawide, good buildquality,
    price, no suncap included

    For an ultrawide this is a very sharp lens, look at this photos and amaze yourself.

    http://www.flickr.com/photos/vongole/3896044334/sizes/l/

    http://www.flickr.com/photos/vongole/3896044296/sizes/l/

    http://www.flickr.com/photos/vongole/3896044380/sizes/l/

    http://www.flickr.com/photos/vongole/3895259015/in/set-72157622281598526/

    http://www.flickr.com/photos/vongole/3896044110/in/set-72157622281598526/

    I really like this one. I use it at 10mm 95% of the time.

    reviewed November 19th, 2009 (purchased for $780)
  • 10 out of 10 points and recommended by (4 reviews)
    Everything
    Nothing

    Oh wow, what a lens!
    I thought long and hard before I bought this lens and wished I hadn't taken so long.
    I love wide angles and this is just stunning. I took this lens to Brazil and the shots I got just knocked me out. It costs a lot more than others but this will last you a lifetime and give you much photographic pleasure.
    I cannot recommend this lens highly enough.

    reviewed March 5th, 2009
  • 9 out of 10 points and recommended by (16 reviews)
    light, sharp, holds price very well.
    Expensive , ugly hood also very expensive!

    I have had this lens for a couple of months now, using it on a 30D body. I have owned a Sigma 10-20 (2 copies) before and always felt a little disappointed with them despite the hype in many magazine tests. I always found edge sharpness to be poor and colour not to my taste.

    This cost a fair bit more, even secondhand, but was a wise buy. The lens is very sharp, comparing very favourably with the 5D 17-40 or 16-35 combination I have also used, at a much lower cost.

    The colour is exactly as it should be , no casts, and I am quite happy with it.

    For a 1.6 crop Canon this is probably the best option if you are more than just an occasional wide angle user.

    reviewed January 19th, 2009
  • 8 out of 10 points and recommended by (13 reviews)
    Light; wide; reliable; AF
    short zoom range

    If you want wide on a Canon body, this is the lens to go. I tried some of the 3rd party's but they always disappoint in the AF area.
    I have to admit, like some other reviewers, and especially already owning a reasonably wide 17-55, that often this lens is wider than what you need. a wide sunset is boring (you want to see the sun, right?), most pictures get more interesting with some focus (zoom).
    It's great for indoor pictures of houses and wide landscapes w/o water.
    If you're not tight on budget, it's definitely a fun lens to play with! :)

    reviewed December 6th, 2008 (purchased for $600)
  • 10 out of 10 points and recommended by (14 reviews)
    good color and contrast , great flare resistance , sharper than the Sigma.
    nothing.

    I was forced to buy the Sigma 10-20EX about a year a go when I was going to Ayuttaya for a kind of work shooting temples there because the dealor I usually deal with did not have this Canon at the night........

    So , I was shooting with the Sigma for about a year but always hated the lens , heavy, built very poorly and colors are too warm.

    In lAst week, I bought this Canon lens as I knew I liked it better and did some compariosn , I would say this lens is outstanding , it does not extend itself while zooming or AFing, the USM is better than the HSM, the Canon lens produces more neutral color a bit cooler than most of other lenses but I do like it(I hate warm colors).

    It's also very resistant to flares, I love this lens.

    This is absolutely the best UWA in Canon mount and it is actually a much better lens than the Nikon 12-24DX or Tokina 11-16f2.8 , with better flare resistance and faster aF.

    This lens usually trashed for its light weight design barrel but it is very well built , and most of people bash its build quality are usually these old fashioned people believing in the heavier and more metal used lens the better they are, dont listen to them.

    PLASTIC is more durable than metal in real life , when I was shooting in Cambodia ,I dropped a few lenses from my car and all lenses died from the drop were these well regarded metal barreled expensive lenses, all my light weight lenses survived.

    Dont judge a lens build quality by its appearance or superficial feel of it .

    reviewed December 4th, 2008 (purchased for $650)
  • 10 out of 10 points and recommended by (6 reviews)
    very wide, sharp, deep contrasty colors
    no hood included

    Contrary to expectations, this lens is better than my 17-40 in all respects on the 40D. I rarely use the 17-40 now because this was so good on the crop camera & I use a prime on the 5D. The colors are beautiful right out of the camera, it is very wide....VERY wide....and a fun lens to experiment with.
    I bought a cheap hood on eBay which I always use, and would highly recommend this to anyone wanting really wide on a crop camera.

    reviewed June 7th, 2008 (purchased for $700)
  • 10 out of 10 points and recommended by (6 reviews)
    sharp , vibrant color , resistant to flare , almost no CA.
    none.

    just the best UWA ever made , no need to compare it with others.

    Just get it if you need an UWA.

    reviewed October 9th, 2007 (purchased for $700)
  • 10 out of 10 points and recommended by (19 reviews)
    sharp wide open, no linear distortion , excellent color rendition , excellent flare resistance
    none.

    Very sharp wide open , no linear distortion detected, very vibrant color and natural rendition.

    No CA issue , no flare issue and this lens stays on 30d 90 percent of time.

    I love it , if you have an EF-Scamera, you should get it , this is better than the over rated Sigma 10-20 , Tokina 12 -24 and all other UWAs, period.

    PS. I think many guys here are confused the linear distortion with perspective distortion and the perspective distortion is a good thing and the linear distoriton is the real problem associated with super wide , and this one has almost no linear distortion.

    reviewed July 31st, 2007 (purchased for $720)
  • 8 out of 10 points and recommended by (6 reviews)
    wide wide wide.. great colour, bokeh, contrast and geometry
    not as sharp or as well built as it should be for the price, and strong field curvature at 10mm

    This is a great lens.. but I can't help but be disappointed compared to the 17-40L. It's the same price pretty much and serves the same purpose (within its market) but it's not as well built, it's not constant F4, it's not as sharp .. but it's all we have, so we make do for now.

    Field curvature at the wide end makes it difficult to work with. Bodies like the EOS350D isn't accurate enough with its focussing to decide that infinity really IS infinity, so you need to manual focus at 10mm if you want sharp landscapes (or use f16).

    Really handles light sources well. This lens just doesn't lose contrast no matter what you do (unless you use a cheap filter, which someone mentioned earlier - but that is always the filter's fault).

    Provides excellent bokeh, on the few occasions that you might see it on such a wide angle lens!

    Colour rendition is excellent, to my eyes. I think this comes out of the excellent flare resistance.

    Geometry is excellent, all the way through the zoom. Personally I would have swapped some distortion for a little extra sharpness, but it is nice to not have to bother correcting it because it's so minor. Better than some primes in fact.

    CA is reasonably low, but remains noticeable at 10mm.

    This is a no-brainer purchase, despite the cons. I simply love using the lens now that I know how to deal with the field curvature. (And it's worth noting that the 17-40L has that same problem too!)

    reviewed June 13th, 2007
  • 4 out of 10 points and not recommended by (1 reviews)
    Good distortion performance
    overall sharpness, unusable wide open at 10mm

    Reading the other reviews I can't believe I have the same lens. While the performance of the lens from f/5.6 is OK, wide open and in particular at 10mm is terrible in the corners. Maybe I'm too demanding but for this price I can't be satisfied with the fact that for the common focal lenghts my kit lens is sharper at every aperture.

    I also own a 28-70mm f/2.8L, for the record. I have compared 10-22mm against the 16-35mm f/2.8L for the common focal lenghts, and what a difference!

    Contrary to what the other tests state, my copy is sharper at 22mm than at 10mm. Since I bought the lens for the 10mm range, where I need a very sharp foreground, I can't use this lens with the aperture wider than f/5.6

    My copy was tested by Canon and it was within spec. Email me if you want details (very dissapointing tests).

    Bottom line is that if you are considering this lens (which obviously can be great), buy it from a place where you can return it and test the lens thoroughly before you decide to keep it.

    reviewed May 28th, 2007 (purchased for $700)
  • 10 out of 10 points and recommended by (8 reviews)
    image quality, AF, lightweigth, build quality
    lens hood not included, a bit expensive

    It's a rather expensive piece of glass but what a glass it is! It's very well corrected, even at 10mm there's very little distortion. It's wide, very, very wide! Image quality is very good.

    Build quality is very good, the lens does not change its length when focusing. Polarizing filter can be expensive since it's 77mm diameter and should be slim or you'll get vignetting wide open.

    Lens hood is not included. At this price! Hey, Canon! Still, I have the lens hood and find it rather cumbersome -- it has very wide diameter makes it hard to fit it Lowe Pro Off Trail II camera bag. More often than not it stays at home :(

    reviewed January 14th, 2007 (purchased for $1,000)
  • 9 out of 10 points and recommended by (8 reviews)
    Fills the ultrawide gap for cropped-sensor cameras
    Not an L lens

    I was looking for a lens that I could use for both underwater work and for land work for my XTi, and this was a perfect fit. Underwater photography excels with a wide angle lens, and this lens is perfect. For land work, this lens is the perfect fit for landscape photography (in certain situations, of course).

    Build quality is very good- almost L class. The fact that it uses the highest quality lenses simply makes it that much better. The weight is perfect for carrying around, and the FoV is incredible.

    I'd highly recommend this lens; it's only useful for certain shots, but excels at them.

    reviewed January 14th, 2007 (purchased for $680)
  • 9 out of 10 points and recommended by (5 reviews)
    Image quality, build
    No hood included

    This is a specialty lens, and probably the one where it makes most sense to go for the EF-S line instead of EF - there won't be any EF lens with these focal lengths.

    10-22 (16-35 effectively) is ultrawide and needs to be handled properly, but once you got the hang of it you'll love it - in certain situations.

    Image quality is very good and so is the build quality. I consider this lens almost L like. Unfortunately it's not, which also means that the lens hood and pouch are not include, in line with the usual cheapo Canon policy.

    Note: price is converted from EUR, after special rebate for 350D owners

    reviewed January 14th, 2007 (purchased for $685)
  • 10 out of 10 points and recommended by (5 reviews)
    Sharp, relatively light, quick focus, very little distortion, great contrast
    Price, doesn't include hood, 77mm filter size (cost of filters at that size)

    This lens has been somewhat magical for me. It's a blast to use, and I've done my best work with it.

    I rated it only a 9 in construction because it is plastic. Sometimes I worry when screwing in a metal cokin adapter ring, it feels like it's resisting and I'm worried about accidentally rethreading the plastic. But it hasn't happened, and the lens has been holding up well.

    It focuses quickly. But one hardly needs to focus at this focal length.

    My only minor gripes:

    It didn't come with a hood, and the hood is a bit pricey and hard to find. (At least it was when I got the lens--I haven't looked lately, since I've had the lens so long, and lived without the hood this long..)

    This was my first lens with a 77mm filter size; boy 77mm filters can be expensive. I would have been happy if it used the same size filter as my 70-200/F4L (67M)

    I guess as long as I'm listing "wishes" it could be a fixed aperture 2.8 lens. And come with IS (sometimes you just can't bring that tripod with you!).

    reviewed January 9th, 2007 (purchased for $725)
  • 9 out of 10 points and recommended by (2 reviews)
    Almost perfect!
    Bad results when UV filter on

    I really love love love this len. It's on my Eos 20D all the time. Sharpness is really good though not the best. Excellent image from 14-22 zoom. (10mm sharpness is not my favorite). AF fast, night shot and indoor with no flash are very good, close up also give a good pictures. Not recommend for portrait photography. I love taking pictures of painting with this len over 50mm f/1.4.

    I have some issue with UV filter (sorry H_YA). My outdoor picture sharpess was down sicnificantly, but indoor was still good.

    Indeed, perfect all around for me. Yet depended on your preference.

    reviewed January 7th, 2007 (purchased for $600)
  • 10 out of 10 points and recommended by (17 reviews)
    A wide lens for crop bodies!
    I wanted to list the non-constant aperture but read on..

    I don't actually own this lens but had it for a week or so..

    Anyway.. finally a wide lens for crop body! Basically this is a 16-35 lens.. you won't know what you're missing until you get this one (either that or you'll realize that maybe you don't need a lens this *wide*)

    Regarding the non-constant aperture.. Well.. as a physicist I realized that it'll be hard to construct with a lens of field view of 10mm!!! (the 1.6x crop happens because of the small sensor size, so i'm amazed that they were able to make a lens this wide with very low distortions! -- wider than some fish eyes)

    So there... IQ is good, the UD elements are there.. almost L quality images, so stop thinking and grab one!

    reviewed January 6th, 2007 (purchased for $640)
  • 9 out of 10 points and recommended by (17 reviews)
    weight, image quality, focal lengths
    price, it could have a wider aperture

    Fantastic piece of glass.

    Sharp even wide open.
    I've rented this for my last 2 weddings, and have really enjoyed capturing everyone in the room in one shot on my cropped frame cameras. I feel like I can finaly put the film cameras away. (I still can't afford a FF digital)

    Focus is fast and accurate.

    It would be great if it was a constant 4.0 or 2.8, but at these focal lengths, if I have to drag the shutter a bit, it still comes out pretty sharp.

    Highly recomended.

    reviewed December 27th, 2006
  • 9 out of 10 points and recommended by (6 reviews)
    useful series of angles, good build, best image quality, logical price
    lens hood ugly, for some its EF-S label

    What a lovely lens is this ! Better built than average, very useful series of angles for everyday photography, supported by clear, colourful sharp results and a realistic price. I've missed the ultra wide angle since my CZ Distagon 18mm becomes an "ordinary" 29mm on a 1.6 crop DSLR. That the lens is a EF-S is not much of an importance to me, it works just fine. And when someday I'll decide to go FF, the 17-40L will serve the same purpose as this EF-S 10-22 on a 1.6 crop DSLR. But as usual, images say more than words, so I have posted some photos taken with this ultra wide here:

    http://www.photo.net/photos/jim_rais

    As there's no image quality issues for me, a remark is addressed to its butt-ugly EW-83E lens hood which shares the same purpose for the 17-40L and the 16-35L. This hood is very wide, absolutely out-of-proportional to the lens' nice balanced build, a stand-in-the-way in many bags and on top of it relatively expensive as well. So I decided not to use any hood at all until I bump into the right alternative, nicely formed one, not too big but still functional hood someday (EW-83II?). I use a screw-in UV filter instead to protect the vulnarable lens' front element/coating. Luckily this EF-S 10-22 isn't too sensitive to flare, although I've seen a lighter aperture blade-ish spot in an image one time. It could also be caused by the use of the protection filter.

    All in all, it's an excellent all purpose lens. Highly recommended, provided one can handle its very wide angle which can be confusing to photography newbies.

    reviewed December 25th, 2006 (purchased for $893)
  • 9 out of 10 points and recommended by (62 reviews)
    superb image quality, fast and silent AF
    EF-S only

    This is the best ultrawide solution for canon APS-C DSLRs. Much better than any third party lens (albeit more expensive). It rivals Canon's "L" lens in IQ (although it doesn't have the constant aperture), but contruction quality is a little plastic-y.

    All-in-all, however, it it fits your budget, I highly recommend this lens.

    reviewed December 15th, 2006
  • 10 out of 10 points and recommended by (6 reviews)
    The widest lens available for cropped sensor cameras
    Pricey

    This is THE wide angle lens for a Canon cropped sensor camera if you own one.

    Can't recall how many times this lens has saved me from a 'tight' situation.

    Event photographers will benefit from this lens when the location space gets limited.

    Weddings also benefit from the wide angle effect presented by this lens.

    This lens will also give you a very good perspective view if you are shooting buildings and interiors.
    Also great for making small spaces look bigger than they actually are. Real estate agents will engage your services for this.

    The one thing to look out for is the distortion effect on faces at the edges. Much as I am aware about it, it is very difficult to detect the distortion on the little viewfinder in the camera.

    Then again, if you need to get the job done, shoot first and figure out later how to solve the problem in Photoshop...

    Get it if you need it and don't worry about the picture quality because it is about as good as it can get.

    reviewed December 14th, 2006 (purchased for $700)
  • 8 out of 10 points and recommended by (6 reviews)
    Nice and wide, reasonably compact and lightweight, nice wide zoom ring, internal focus/zoom, good contrast/color/detail, can use ridiculously long shutter speeds in some situations
    For the price you might expect a more solid feel, zooms in this range exhibit noticeable distortion, EF-S mount only, variable max aperture, EF-S mount only

    This is a fine lens that gets about as wide as you would ever want on a DSLR. Great for cramped interiors, landscapes, near-far shots, etc.

    I love wide perspectives, yet I find myself constantly swapping this off as soon as I'm done shooting my wide shot.

    Distortion is an issue, so be prepared to post-process if you bother with that sort of thing. Doesn't really touch the quality of my prime lenses, but who would expect that?

    For the money, it feels just a little less solid that I'd expect. But it is lightweight.

    The rule of thumb of shutter speed down to 1/focal-length seems to hold true - I'm able to get away handheld sometimes with a 1/15 shutter at 10mm, which is wonderful.

    Contrast and color seem good to my untrained eye.
    It captures far more detail than I'd expect from such a wide zoom.

    reviewed December 8th, 2006 (purchased for $750)
  • 8 out of 10 points and recommended by (7 reviews)
    USM, ultrawide
    front element a bit exposed, some CA, biggish, fucusing ring small

    Although it's almost a novelty lens i use this a lot as a general zoom. It is quite a big lens, and does draw attention to itself. It also has a propensity to get its front element dirty for some reason.

    Focus seems a little inconsistent sometimes, but it doesn't seem to affect end results too much (due to the tiny focal lengths). It is quite hard to pick a proper hyperfocal distance (just look at the tiny jump from 1m to infinity in the photo of the lens). Sharpness is good, except at the long end (which gets a surprising amount of use from me).

    reviewed December 7th, 2006 (purchased for $730)
  • 9 out of 10 points and recommended by (10 reviews)
    Wide angle on a 1.6X crop camera, high image quality
    Useless if I upgrade toa FF camera

    I felt that I had no choice but to purchase this lens for my D60 as soon as Canon released it because my widest angle (a 20mm Canon) was just not wide enough for my landscape work or for use indoors in cramped situations. And I continue to use it on my 20D for the same reasons. But now, as I am thinking about upgrading to a FF Canon, I do feel that I may have made a mistake in buying a lens whose use is restricted to the 1.6X cameras. That said, the 10-22mm lens has given me excellent service. I am completely satisified with the image quality. My 13x19 inch prints are beautifully sharp. And since I mostly use it for landscapes it is fast enough and I do not see any noticeable distortion. while the build quality does not have the smooth (and heavy) feel of an "L" lens I have not encountered a single problem using the 10-22mm in the field under a variety of conditions.

    reviewed December 4th, 2006 (purchased for $765)
  • 9 out of 10 points and recommended by (13 reviews)
    Excellent coverage (field of view) for landscape work, excellent resolution, well controlled distortion, neutral color
    price, ef-s only mount

    I just spent 10 days in Japan and visited very impressing temples from Nara to Nikko. The scenery was truly spectacular and the Budhist temples were amazing. The lens I used to capture images ranging from grand scenics, to architecture to candid people shots was the EF-S 10-22mm f/3.5-4.5 USM exclusively for those 10 days. The shots I came back with are excellent. Resolution is outstanding, color is true, exposures were spot on, and distortion is very well controlled. I debated whether to take other lenses and actually did, but never changed the lens during the entire stay. I highly recommend this glass.

    reviewed November 25th, 2006 (purchased for $680)
  • 9 out of 10 points and recommended by (5 reviews)
    Wiiiiiide...., light..
    No hood, no lens bag, don't be cheap with your EF-S Canon!

    This is a wiiiiiide lens for Canon's 1.6x bodies. The images it delivers are good IF the lens is used correctly. because it's very wide, you need to hold the lens (and your camera) parallel to the ground to get the best possible picture, unless you want to get the special effect by holding it otherwise. Part of my travel kit along with the 24-105 f/4L, which covers 16mm through 165mm (FF equiv.) Short distance from the lens will result in distorted image, can be fun to play with...

    The recommended hood is not supplied and is quite expensive, which is really annoying, coming from Canon. I paid around US$ 80 for it

    reviewed November 23rd, 2006 (purchased for $650)
  • 9 out of 10 points and recommended by (7 reviews)
    Widest zoom you can get on a 1.6x, great for getting the scenery
    Barrel distortion, max aperture could be lower

    This lens spends more time on my 20D than any other lens in my bag. I lends a great sense of place to any scene and is the widest zoom you can get on APS-sized sensor (digital rebel/20D/30D). I've shot everything from landscapes to concerts with it.

    Complaints:
    My constant need to shoot in low light makes me wish the maximum aperture was 2 or lower. Instead I just have to kick up the ISO or use a mono/tripod.

    At 10mm (16mm effective) there is quite a bit of barrel distortion on close subjects. Not a big deal for landscapes, but I also keep this lens on for family events, and the distortion rears its head frequently there.

    Praises:
    You can get a lot of shots you can't get with any other lens. It is the only way to get to 16mm effective on 1.6x cameras. Color reproduction is good. There is vignetting, but its a wide angle - it happens.

    The filter thread is shared with lots of other lenses (ie. 70-200) so you can double your filter investment (if you aren't using the cokin system). However, if you are using the cokin system then you can't go all the way out without getting vignetting from the filter holder.

    Focusing is pretty fast but it seems the lens can get confused with close subjects on the outside of the frame.

    I use this lens A LOT and highly recommend it for the 1.6x cameras - which it only works on (EF-S). If you are planning to move up to a full frame (1Ds, 5D) consider the 16-35 instead. It won't be a wide on a 1.6, but at least you won't be buying the same focal range twice.

    reviewed November 20th, 2006
  • 10 out of 10 points and recommended by (1 reviews)
    Surprisingly very sharp lens, excellent color rendition and contrast resulting in punchy images without excessive photo shopping needed.. excellent super wide angle lens for 1.6 crop sensors
    No “L” denomination but optically it is “L” quality glass, reversed focus/zoom position, no lens hood included for the price charged

    I had my copy of my Canon 10-22 now for about 6 months, I have been very surprised by the image quality of this lens.

    All by all, I would like to first touch upon a couple of important aspects of this lens and then show some pictures taken over the last couple of months to get my point across.

    Optically the image quality is very good wide open, but absolutely shines stopped down to f5.6- 8.0. Wide open (10 mm) there is some softness in the corners visible, which is really inherent with wide angle lenses, but again gets quite better stopped down to f5.6. The saturation/colors, contrast in the images are just splendid and have a 3D feel to it, creating the pop and punch what makes the images so beautiful.

    The distortions (barrel and pin cushion) is so well controlled with this marvelous optic, I only need to change perspective, and everything will straighten-up, if desired of course! This “fisheye-effect” this super wide angle lens provides can be both good and bad, depending on your personal style and creativity…The flare with this lens is very well controlled, to the point that a hood is in 95% of the shots taken really not necessary. Vignetting or light falloff of in the corners of the image is visible wide open at 10mm (taken picture of blue sky for example) but still very well controlled and quite less vignetting is present when stopped down to f8.0. Just be careful to use thin-filters, standard ones make matters quite worse. Chromatic aberrations (purple fringing) are present with this lens, nevertheless the use of the super UD glass element. I found that -all by all- it is not super bad at 10 mm and gets actually pretty good at 22 mm; but I would have hoped it was better since Canon has some lenses where it is quite better…

    Regarding the built and handling of this lens it is for sure not the same feel as the “L” Lenses; nevertheless the zoom ring has been a joy to use, silky smooth since it came out of the box. The reversed focus/zoom position does take some getting used to, but one learns…Note that this lens is not weather sealed, but currently no canon crop-sensor body is neither….thus what is the point? The canon auto focus (AF) motor design per USM, is super fast, accurate and basically noise free. Nothing more can be anticipated really from the AF, as good as it gets in my opinion…

    Please check a “out of the camera picture and a DxO corrected” one here for perspective, CA and vignetting:
    National parks picture Great Falls
    No correction: http://www.pbase.com/timwim/image/66039060
    With correction: http://www.pbase.com/timwim/image/66039061

    Since, I really enjoy landscape photography, this lens is a must have for crop sensors owners to capture big field of views. Optically the image quality is quite good wide open, but absolutely shines stopped down to f5.6 to f8.0. Please make SURE the UV or CP-L filters CLEARS the front glass piece it is very close (I own thin Hoya PRO1 Digitals w/front threads and it works beautifully, the standard thicker ones do create visible vignetting)

    Find some nice landscape shots here (feel free to enjoy the rest of my galleries as well…)
    http://www.pbase.com/timwim/image/66037883

    All by all some close-up focusing is possible even with this super wide angle lens …”macro” is not correct description, but surprisingly beautiful close-ups can be taken with this lens…

    See some images here:
    http://www.pbase.com/timwim/image/66038078
    http://www.pbase.com/timwim/image/66039123

    This hibiscus flower image gives is a good idea about the bokeh of this lens ( rendition of the out of focus areas, upper right hand corner here for flower shows a very pleasing bokeh IMO)

    In conclusion:
    Very sharp super wide angle lens even wide open but absolutely shines at f5.6 to f8.0, definitely the “sweet spot range for optimal optical quality (sharpness, minimize vignetting, and CA ” . The images have a 3D quality to them, without excessive distortion, creating bold and punchy images straight out of the box. Basically best super wide angle lens in my books, making it an enormous fun and creative lens. Optically, it is awesome. It's definitely an “L” version for us 1.6 crop sensors.

    However, for a “non-L” lens, it isn't cheap. On top of that there is no hood included for the price since this is not an “L”….

    All by all, I LOVE my copy of my lens….but be aware that my experience may not be the same as other users and you should read more reviews to get good feel about it. Highly recommended nevertheless.

    reviewed August 30th, 2006 (purchased for $605)
  • 9 out of 10 points and recommended by (7 reviews)
    so much fun - nice build - flair resistant - low distortion
    f 4.5 on the long end - silly lens hood

    The images have a 3D quality to them and there's not vertigo style distortion that plaques some ultra-wide lenses.

    The zoom ring is a joy to use, very smooth since it came out of the box.

    I often shoot in marginal light and find the f 4.5 a problem ... but there's no other ultra wide for an EFS camera I'd rather have.

    reviewed July 17th, 2006 (purchased for $589)
  • 9 out of 10 points and recommended by (3 reviews)
    Great construction, lightweight, crisp images
    expensive but worth it

    I've had so much fun with this lens and take it everywhere with me. I've used it mainly on a 300D but recently traded up to a 20D - both cameras love this lens. It's great for every kind of photo you can think of:
    indoor shots, landscapes, buildings, animal portraits, kids, groups, parties, just about anything.

    Glad I spent the money but here in rip-off Britain (paid £580GBP in Nov 04), it would be nice to pay the same prices as the US and Far East...

    reviewed December 17th, 2005 (purchased for $1,028)
  • 9 out of 10 points and recommended by (6 reviews)
    very sharp, good build, fairly compact & light, fast /accurate USM, well resistant to flare, colors jump out at you
    ef-s, a little pricey

    @ 22mm this is useful as a 'wide/normal' on 20D. Really fast and accurate focus. Super-wide 10mm is fun. Saturation/colors are splendid. Optically - overall - it is a lovely lens. THe complaint of reversed focus/zoom position is valid.. just have to get used to it..but I have to be careful when putting on WHERE I hold it with out holding focus ring. I like to keep it on as general snap lens @ 22mm. then grab some width when needed. I will keep the 20D (instead of/alongside a FF camera) for a long time BECAUSE of this lens. Wonderful. Make SURE the filter (thin Hoya pro w/front threads) CLEARS the front element in all positions - it is very close.

    reviewed November 18th, 2005 (purchased for $625)
  • 9 out of 10 points and recommended by (3 reviews)
    very sharp & very wide, sturdy build yet light and small, smooth USM,
    price, lens hood is expensive and only sold seperately, 22 is not long enough on the other end

    This lens is a must on the DRebel, it is so small and light - it goes everywhere. Beautiful landscape shots and great for sightseeing. It is so wide, you can fake tilt-lens effect (for buildings etc.) by shooting in portrait orientation, holding the lens level and then only use the top third of the image (resolution permitting).

    reviewed October 20th, 2005
  • 8 out of 10 points and recommended by (2 reviews)
    crisp image, lightweight, good AF, excellent companion to the 20D
    none for a EF-S lens

    this very fine lens withstood now 8 months of hard professional use without a problem, producing good image quality
    my only complaint is the lens shade, way too large (it uses the same as 16-35L), nearly more cumbersome than the lens

    reviewed October 20th, 2005