Expecting SLRGear.com? We’re moving our lens reviews to Imaging Resource! Read about it here.

Sigma 14mm f/2.8 EX Aspherical HSM

 
Lens Reviews / Sigma Lenses i Not yet tested

Your purchases support this site

Buy the Sigma 14mm f/2.8 EX Aspherical HSM
14mm $541
average price
image of Sigma 14mm f/2.8 EX Aspherical HSM

(From Sigma lens literature) This large aperture f/2.8 lens has an angle of view of 114 degrees.

It is equipped with SLD and aspherical lenses for high image quality; 2 elements of aspherical lenses and 2 elements of SLD glass are being used to compensate aberrations and vignetting.

It has a minimum focusing distance of 18cm (7.1 in.), and a maximum magnification ratio of 1:4.5.

The HSM models for Sigma, Nikon and Canon mounts provide ultra quiet high-speed autofocusing as well as full-time manual focus override. An inner focus system provides high performance and convenience. The lens also incorporates a built-in lens hood and a gelatin filter holder behind the rear lens element.

Sigma 14mm f/2.8 EX Aspherical HSM User Reviews

8.8/10 average of 6 reviews Build Quality 9.5/10 Image Quality 8.2/10
  • 9 out of 10 points and recommended by (4 reviews)
    Well constructed, great pictures
    no front mount filters

    Here's some pictures I've taken with the lens:

    http://automotomedia.net/showthread.php/84-Canon-Sigma-14mm-2.8-Great-wide-angle-for-the-money!

    I like Canon "L" lenses a lot, but there are some times where finding bargains is a good way to go. The Sigma 14mm 2.8 is a really nice lens. It's solid and pretty heavy, image quality is quite good, and it's just Wiiiiiiidddddeeeee! It doesn't focus super fast (not needed for a lens like this) and with the rounded lens, you can't put a filter on to prot ect the glass (be careful!), and lens flare is easy to achieve (the positive spin ).

    I use the lens at least as much as anything else in my bag as I love the perspective.

    reviewed March 13th, 2011
  • 9 out of 10 points and recommended by (1 reviews)
    build quality
    weight

    Good lens, fits my needs. Not too expensive. Fast autofocus. Superb construction, nice image quality.

    reviewed January 17th, 2011 (purchased for $550)
  • 9 out of 10 points and recommended by (13 reviews)
    wide; great center sharpness at f/4 and less; solid build; autofocus is fast, silent and decisive
    hard to find; bulbous front element - flare and damage/rain/fingerprint risk; you have to use f/8 or less for great sharpness across the frame

    It was a real pain to find one today and get it to its new home. But that is beside the point.

    This lens is a gem. Most of the time it delivers outstanding images with dramatic perspective. Despite the 3mm difference in focal length it's very different (and much wider too) than my 17-35 L. Center sharpness is good from about f/4; corner sharpness is not something to write home about even at f/6.3 which I'm used to for outdoor work; I have to stop down more. At f/2.8 it's a little hazy overall (reduced contrast) and vignettes noticeably even on an 1.3x FOV crop body I'm using.

    The bulbous front element makes this lens near useless in rainy conditions - the image becomes covered with splats. I always find myself shielding the lens with something and always worrying not to get it damaged. However, I knew it was coming, so it's not so much a detracting element for me.

    Flare, however, is this lens' major weakness. You can forget aout this 14mm if you have sun anywhere near the frame, nevermind IN the frame. Maybe some people use it to their advantage; I'm yet to learn this. On the other hand, it's not this particular lens' flaw because every lens with a "lightbulb" front element is doomed to get flare.

    So, a 7 for image quality (technically), a 9 for build quality, and overall a 9. A very special lens which can only be highly recommended (if you can find it) despite the technically "average" image quality.

    reviewed May 2nd, 2010 (purchased for $750)
  • 8 out of 10 points and recommended by (1 reviews)
    Excellent center sharpness
    CA in corners

    I have had this lens for 3 years, using it on a Canon EOS 10D and really liked it. However, I just upgraded to a full-frame, Canon 5D mkII and I was shocked to see how much chromatic abberation shows up in the corners. Its a fine lens on an APS-C camera, but (at least in my experience) not on a full-frame. Build quaility is very good.

    reviewed December 17th, 2008
  • 9 out of 10 points and recommended by (24 reviews)
    price-quality
    slight corner-resolution-falloff and some shading

    This is a very good alternative to the Canon, Nikon 14mm 2.8. Very good centerresolution (a bit falloff in the corners between f2.8 and 5.6). I owned the Canon 14L and I was dissapointed about many aspects (finally I sold it). The Sigma is clearly better (CA´s, cornerresolution, flare and of course price!). I specially love the colourrendition (slightly warm) and solid construccion of this nice lens.
    99% recommended!

    reviewed June 6th, 2007 (purchased for $550)
  • 9 out of 10 points and recommended by (13 reviews)
    Sharp wide open. Fast AF. Build quality. Fast aperture
    Lens cap system annoying. Flare

    This is a very special lens - focal lenght 14mm! And as such it has very special characteristics.
    My copy of the Sigma 14mm f/2.8 Aspheric lens is great! It's built beautifully and focuses fast. On 1dMkII I've found this lens' image quality outstanding from it's F/2.8 full aperture till the diffraction limitation of it's smallest apertures which is an inherent flaw in practically any lens. But my Sigma 14mm f/2.8 Aspheric is very good at full aperture and with a unique Bokeh when focused on (very) closeup subjects.
    This is clearly one of Sigma's success's. If you need or desire a 14mm superwide for Canon mount then this gets my best recommandations!
    NB: Bought it used!

    reviewed December 6th, 2006 (purchased for $315)