Expecting SLRGear.com? We’re moving our lens reviews to Imaging Resource! Read about it here.

Sigma 50-150mm f/2.8 EX DC HSM APO

 
Lens Reviews / Sigma Lenses i Not yet tested

Your purchases support this site

Buy the Sigma 50-150mm f/2.8 EX DC HSM APO
50-150mm $717
average price
image of Sigma 50-150mm f/2.8 EX DC HSM APO

(From Sigma lens literature) Compact, lightweight, large aperture telephoto zoom lens designed exclusively for digital SLR cameras and incorporating the very latest optical technology.

  • Compact and lightweight.
  • Incorporation of the very latest optical technology, high image quality is assured throughout the entire zoom range.
  • Four SLD (Special Low Dispersion) glass elements are used for utmost correction of chromatic aberrations.
  • Equipped with HSM (Hyper Sonic Motor) with full-time manual focus override.
  • Compatible with Sigma 1.4x EX DG and 2x EX DG APO Tele-Converters.
The Sigma Corporation is pleased to announce the launch of the new APO 50-150mm f/2.8 EX DC HSM lens.

Specially designed for digital SLR cameras with an APS-C size image sensor, this large aperture f/2.8 lens has a compact and lightweight construction of 76.3mm (3.0") in diameter, 132.6mm (5.2") in length and weighing just 780g (27.5oz) (Nikon Mount).

The incorporation of the very latest optical technology gives optimum lens performance providing excellent correction for flare, ghosting and all types of aberrations. High image quality is assured throughout the entire zoom range. Four SLD (Special Low Dispersion) glass elements are used for utmost correction of chromatic aberrations.

The HSM (Hyper Sonic Motor) system ensures quiet and high-speed auto focusing with full time manual focus override.

The addition of the 1.4x EX DG APO or 2x EX DG APO Tele Converters (optional extras) produces a 70-210mm f/4 AF tele-zoom lens and a 100-300mm f/5.6 AF ultra-telephoto zoom lens respectively.

* Vignetting will occur if the lens is used with digital cameras with image sensors larger than APS-C size or 35mm SLR cameras.

Sigma 50-150mm f/2.8 EX DC HSM APO

Your purchases support this site

Buy the Sigma 50-150mm f/2.8 EX DC HSM APO
B&H Sweepstake Rules

Sigma 50-150mm f/2.8 EX DC HSM APO User Reviews

8.6/10 average of 7 reviews Build Quality 8.6/10 Image Quality 8.4/10
  • 7 out of 10 points and not recommended by (11 reviews)
    HSM motor, EX built quality
    focusing issues, image quality is just average

    I used to be an owner of a Sigma 50-150mm f2.8, before i got Tokina 50-135mm f2.8.

    Sigma had problems with front focusing, so i sent it back to service. They somehow managed to adjust the focusing, but after using it for a year I sold it, because the image quality of Sigma 50-150mm f2.8 was not impressive.
    The only plus is excellent HSM motor.

    Tokina 50-135mm f2 is just way better than this problematic, bad focusing, average IQ Sigma...

    reviewed April 21st, 2009 (purchased for $600)
  • 9 out of 10 points and recommended by (3 reviews)
    Good build quality, fast and quiet autofocus, sharp, excellent contrast, light,
    minimal distance focusing is more than 1 meter

    I was rather worried to read about frontfocusing, chromatic aberration, softness at f/2.8. Maybe quality differs from one lens to another, but mine is quite OK. Images are crispy, contrast very good, excellent sharpness at almost all the focal range (especially at aperture smaller than f/4 and f/5.6). HSM autofocus performs very well.

    Zoom is light and easy to carry. Build quality very good. Focal range is ideal for APS-C, more convenient than a 70-200 mm.

    I am very pleased with this lens, a jewel. Just a pity it has no image stabilizer.

    reviewed June 28th, 2007 (purchased for $940)
  • 10 out of 10 points and recommended by (10 reviews)
    Zoom range, aperture, build and image quality, weight
    Focus accuracy (unit specific, mine fixed by Sigma Service)

    Extraordinarily sharp and contrasty when the focus is on. My particular unit front focuses by about an inch to two inches when shooting closer than 2-3 meters. However, the HSM allows for a quick touchup. This is fine when one has time to shoot, but not in close action with large apertures where the DOF really necessitates accurate placement of the focal plane, such as wedding receptions. Perhaps Sigma calibration will help, in which case I'll report new findings.

    A little CA in tricky situations.

    I should note that though the amount of blur caused by misfocusing still produces better images than certain cheap lenses, it's frustrating because manually tweaking the focus shows what this glass is really capable of, even at 150mm.

    Used on a Canon 350D and 400D. Setting AF to the back button rather than the shutter release can facilitate the manual tweaking process when taking many pictures at the same subject distance.

    eta: I sent the lens in to Sigma for service. Focus is now spot-on, making f/2.8 a real pleasure to use with this tool. Also works splendidly on a Canon 30D.

    reviewed May 18th, 2007 (purchased for $680)
  • 8 out of 10 points and recommended by (16 reviews)
    Light, fast, 50-150 range is more than 70-200 equiv, construction.
    Front focussing issue on my 300D, a little soft at 150mm wide open.

    I had the occasion of shooting tens of pictures in a store with this lens and my 300D.
    On many test shots i found that the lens front-focussed at any focal lenght. On the point where it was actually focussed, it was very sharp at f/2.8 from 50mm to about 135mm and then slightly soft at 150mm.
    At f/4 and above, sharp everywhere (at least in my test conditions).
    Build quality is very good, and as an equivalent of the 70-200/2.8 it is quite small and light, has a nice shape, and focusses silently and fast enough.
    Focal range is nice : 50-150 on a 1.6x cropped sensor means the same field of view as an 80-240 which is more than the big and heavy 80-200 for full frame.
    On a price point it is a good alternative to the 70-200/2.8 non IS and also it is wider.
    I think that on more recent bodies (such as the 400D or 30D) with more advanced autofocus than my 300D the front-focussing problem will go away, so it's a very good choice for those in my opinion.

    reviewed January 11th, 2007
  • 10 out of 10 points and recommended by (21 reviews)
    build quality, image quality, fast apeture
    vignetting, close-up softness

    This is my most recent lens purchased, (obviously since it just hit the shelves a couple months ago) ...and I really love it.

    I also have the Sigma 150mm f/2.8 macro, which is legendary for it's image quality, and upon testing I've found that the Sigma 50-150 (at 150mm) is on par by f/8 close up, and sooner near infinity.

    The lens is definitely not built to shoot close up wide open like the 150mm is, the 50-150 exhibits heavy vignetting and sever image softness at 3 ft. focus distance. The sharpness is drastically improved by f/5.6 though, and the vignetting also goes away a lot by stopping down or backing off from 150mm a little.

    The way I convinced myself to be happy with this performance is by telling myself that at 150mm on an APS-C DSLR, I'm actually at 225mm field of view, which is 25mm extra compared to a 70-200mm lens on an FF body. 135mm is what, on my D70, would roughly equal 200mm, and at 135mm the Sigma 50-150 does great.

    So I highly recommend this lens!

    -Matt-

    reviewed December 29th, 2006 (purchased for $690)
  • 7 out of 10 points and recommended by (12 reviews)
    50-150 range, fast, weight, Lens hood
    Vignette

    I havent used this lens extensively yet, so consider this review a first impressions one.

    The 50-150 range on a APS-C size camera is a incredibly suitable range for those of us who are not dependant on the 150 to 200 range of the photojournalist workhorse zooms. I have been using equivalent zooms that go up to 200mm and as for my personal needs, I noticed that I wasnt actually using the latter 50-60 mm that often, so when sigma announced this lens with fast focusing and half a kilo (or more) less weight than the competition, I ordered right away. And so far I have virtually nothing to complain about.

    The weight allows me to use the lens hand held for a couple of hours before my wrists are tired, event though the weight distribution on a D70 is a bit awkward, you get used to it after a while. The lens hood protects the lens really well, and that enables me to just leave the front cap off. Even with the lens hood on, the lens is roughly the sam diameter along the lenght, whivh means that it goes in and out of a camera bag fast without clinging to all the other stuff in the bag.

    As to the optical quality, the lens does deliver. There is little CA to my opinion, but I havent done any formal tests yet. This is (shockingly...) not a lens for architecture, but distortion is generally not a problem.

    There is however some vignetting, though very smooth and easy to remove, when using the lens wide open at 50mm.

    A good lens if you dont need the 150-200mm range but still want something thats fast, light and got focus speed.

    reviewed December 21st, 2006 (purchased for $750)
  • 9 out of 10 points and recommended by (1 reviews)
    Well made both optically and mechanically
    Some concern about front focus issues.

    I have had this lens for only a week but have done several tests on it. The sharpness is excellent at 50mm and 100mm, and very good at 150mm. The corner sharpness is better than my previous lens which is the Nikon 70-210 F4. Center sharpness is a little worse. This is comparing the Nikon at F4 to the Sigma at F2.8. I find the colors to be excellent, best I have seen, much better than 18-70 kit lens for D70. I measured the focus speed again the Nikon 70-210 F4 and the 18-70 3.5-4.5 Kit lens. Ends up closer to the 18-70mm lens, but the difference between the HSM, AFS and older screw drive was much less when actually measured than what I thought just by listening to them. Overall, a well balanced winner. I love the 50-150 length as well, much more natural than the 70-200 given a digital camera's 1.5 crop factor. Posted some pictures here:

    http://www.pbase.com/studio5photo/sigma_50150_test

    UPDATE: 1/18/07 - I just found out that this lens and my other HSM/AF-S lens do not like cold weather. I left both outside in my car for about 5 hours at 30F (freezing). My 50-150 would not focus, nor would my 18-70mm Nikon AF-S lens. My screw drive 50mm would. Consider this before purchasing. I still love the lens by the way. Love the 50-150 focal length better than 70-200.

    reviewed December 2nd, 2006 (purchased for $639)