Sony Alpha

Here are all of our Sony Alpha digital camera reviews, listed alphabetically by model.

image of the Sony Alpha ILCA-A77M2 digital camera

Sony A77 II

24.3 megapixel, SLR, 3.13x Zoom

Released June 2014

 

Now Shooting!

image of the Sony Alpha ILCE-A7 digital camera

Sony A7

24.3 megapixel, Compact System Camera, 2.50x Zoom

When we reviewed Sony's A7R mirrorless camera, we were thrilled by its combination of a full-frame image sensor and a compact body. The Sony A7 offers both, and yet it's even more affordable. It also boasts better autofocus and performance, but trades off some of its sibling's epic resolution to achieve these. We already knew the Sony A7 would be great, but we wanted to answer which was better: The Sony A7 or A7R? Does amazing image quality trump performance? Are you better off spending a little more, or can you be thrifty and still get the best full-frame mirrorless camera money can buy? Read our review and find out!

Released December 2013

$1798-2000
Dave's Pick

Review

image of the Sony Alpha ILCE-A7R digital camera

Sony A7R

36.4 megapixel, Compact System Camera, Non-Zoom

The news you've been waiting for has arrived! The age of the fully-featured, full-frame mirrorless camera is finally here -- and boy, what a duo of cameras kickstart the revolution. The Sony A7R promises absolutely amazing image quality in a compact body, while its closely-related sibling the A7 trades a little resolution for greater performance. Both cameras excite in their own way, but it's the Sony A7R -- our 2013 Camera of the Year -- which really floors us. This amazing compact system camera offers image quality to rival a medium format design, yet in a body that can fit in a coat pocket, even with a lens attached. Travel and street photographers in particular should have the Sony A7R at the top of their wishlist!

Released December 2013

$1715-2300
Dave's Pick

Review

image of the Sony Alpha ILCE-A7S digital camera

Sony A7S

12.2 megapixel, Compact System Camera, Non-Zoom

Released July 2014

$1999-2625

Now Shooting!

image of the Sony Alpha ILCE-A3000 digital camera

Sony A3000

20.1 megapixel, Compact System Camera, 3.06x Zoom

Some cameras are all about cramming in features; the Sony A3000 doesn't play that game. It's been pared down to the basics -- you get precisely what you need, and little more. But while rivals in its pricetag skimp on the basics with plastic lens mounts and years-old designs, Sony plays its own game, making an affordable camera that you'd actually want to own. But that's not to say that there are no compromises in the A3000. Read our in-depth Sony A3000 review, and find out whether Sony's hit the perfect balance between features and cost!

Released September 2013

$299-400
Dave's Pick

Review

image of the Sony Alpha ILCE-A5000 digital camera

Sony A5000

20.1 megapixel, Compact System Camera, 3.13x Zoom

Released March 2014

$448-471

Initial Test

image of the Sony Alpha ILCE-A5100 digital camera

Sony A5100

24.3 megapixel, Compact System Camera, 3.13x Zoom

Released September 2014

$698-700

Now Shooting!

image of the Sony Alpha ILCE-A6000 digital camera

Sony A6000

24.3 megapixel, Compact System Camera, 3.13x Zoom

Not only does this high-res speed demon cram in plenty of desirable features, the Sony A6000 also shaves a couple of hundred dollars off its predecessor's price. That's the recipe for greatness, so it's no surprise this has been one of our most popular reviews in recent memory -- and now, it's finished! So what was our final verdict on this affordable, swift-shooting camera, and is it time you bought one for yourself? Read our in-depth Sony A6000 review, and see what we thought!

Released April 2014

$748-798
Dave's Pick

Review

image of the Sony Alpha ILCE-QX1 digital camera

Sony QX1

20.1 megapixel, Other, Non-Zoom

Available November 2014

$398

Preview

image of the Sony Alpha SLT-A58 digital camera

Sony A58

20.1 megapixel, SLR, 3.06x Zoom

Replacing both the Sony A37 and A57 DSLRs in one fell swoop, the Sony A58 offers advanced photographic features and picture-taking skills at a consumer-friendly price. The A58 takes a big step up in resolution with a new 20.1-megapixel APS-C sensor, and it delivers pictures that are sharp and detailed, rivaling the image quality of much more expensive cameras. Although some sacrifices had to be made to drive down the cost -- namely a plastic lens mount rather than a metal one, and a simplified LCD screen -- the Sony A58 still stands out as one of the best entry-level DSLRs we've ever reviewed, as well as one of the best camera values on the market today.

Released April 2013

$448-583
Dave's Pick

Review

image of the Sony Alpha SLT-A65 digital camera

Sony A65

24.3 megapixel, SLR, 3.06x Zoom

With an attractive, yet understated design, Sony's hidden some of its finest, most advanced imaging technology in the Alpha A65. Its 24.3-megapixel sensor can capture up to 10 frames per second and shoot Full HD video. And they didn't skimp on the special features, with Sweep Panorama and 3D capture modes as well.

Released October 2011

 

Initial Test

image of the Sony Alpha SLT-A77 digital camera

Sony A77

24.3 megapixel, SLR, 3.13x Zoom

Making a major leap in the camera market, the Sony A77 reaches into pro territory, able to capture 12 frames per second with a 24.3-megapixel camera that feels great and handles like your typical enthusiast digital SLR. Its optional 16-50mm kit lens also delivers excellent quality for the money.

Released October 2011

$1199-1698
Dave's Pick

Full Review

image of the Sony Alpha SLT-A99 digital camera

Sony A99

24.3 megapixel, SLR, Non-Zoom

The Sony Alpha A99 boasts some of the most impressive technology ever placed in a DSLR, even more advanced than what's found in many high-end pro models. It's a fast-shooting, fast-focusing, weather-sealed, video-friendly and eminently customizable camera, all in a smaller and lighter package than its competition. As such, the A99 marks Sony's first -- and long-awaited -- attempt at becoming a true player in the pro DSLR arena.

Released October 2012

$1739-2360
Dave's Pick

Review

 

Can't find a camera? Go to the Sony discontinued cameras page.

 













Enter this month to win:

1 $300 Adorama Gift Certificate

2 $200 Adorama Gift Certificate

3 $100 Adorama Gift Certificate