Expecting SLRGear.com? We’re moving our lens reviews to Imaging Resource! Read about it here.

Carl Zeiss 18mm f/3.5 Distagon T* 3.5/18

 
Lens Reviews / Carl Zeiss Lenses i Not yet tested
18mm $1,395
average price
image of Carl Zeiss 18mm f/3.5 Distagon T* 3.5/18

(From Carl Zeiss lens literature)

Focusing on the perfect moment
This ultra wide angle lens is ideal for capturing breathtaking moments in dramatic perspectives. The Distagon T* 3.5 / 18 offers excellent image performance over the entire image field. The precision floating elements design offers constant high performance over the entire distance range from 0.3 m (0.98 ft) to infinity.

Optimum reflection absorption combined with the Carl Zeiss T* anti-reflex coating allow for brilliant pictures even under difficult lighting conditions. Extremely contrasting edges are captured without color fringes due to the optimal color correction. Even combined with a digital SLR using a DX type sensor, this lens has an effective focal length of 27 mm, providing an interesting wide angle perspective.

The Distagon T* 3.5 / 18 is available with Nikon F bayonet (ZF, ZF.2) or Pentax K bayonet (ZK) mount. Above all, it is ideal for landscape, architecture and commercial photographers.

Update 09-14-2009: Carl Zeiss has announced a version with Canon EF bayonet (ZE) mount, available in the fall of 2009.

Carl Zeiss 18mm f/3.5 Distagon T* 3.5/18 User Reviews

10.0/10 average of 4 reviews Build Quality 9.8/10 Image Quality 10.0/10
  • 10 out of 10 points and recommended by (10 reviews)
    wide wide angle
    some vignette

    I'm a passionate photography amateur and I do astro photography this lens offers wide angle sights of the paradises that defy the imagination! The southern Milky Means proved to beautiful nebulosity and many of stars all identify to the edge of the area. Well worth the cost! So Glad I did not go other route!

    reviewed August 16th, 2016 (purchased for $1,390)
  • 10 out of 10 points and recommended by (4 reviews)
    Sharp, colour contrast, smooth focusing, reasonable price, build
    vignette, f/3.5

    Delivers exactly what it promises. Superb quality. Manual focus works very well with Canon 5D MkIII. Solid build - metal and glass, not a cheap plastic toy. Vignette can be a minor problem, but it adds to the taste of this lens. One pet peeve I have is that the shallow lens hood does not stop my finger from touching the front of the lens by accident... just my problem, I guess.

    If you are used to Canons (prime or otherwise), you will find that the colour contrast this lens delivers is another animal. Whether that is better or not, it is up to your taste.

    Highly recommended.

    reviewed March 9th, 2013
  • 10 out of 10 points and recommended by (1 reviews)
    light, sharp, crisp
    not so fast

    I jumped at an opportunity to get this lens for a very reasonable rate in like-new condition. I had read mixed reviews about it, particularly in comparison with the Nikon 14-24.
    I don't have the latter lens, I wanted a lighter, also cheaper alternative less prone to flare - as I live in a place with a lot of sunshine.
    I use this one on a Nikon d800e, and what I can say after a few days of extensive testing is that it compares excellently with the other lenses I use, all new, all bought for this camera. Whatever some reviews say, it is as sharp as I could with for, picking up every bloody cigarette stump on a pavement in the fringe of a night shot. It has a crisp image quality which gives me a lot of keepers, it is light, easy to focus - I am positively surprised!

    reviewed July 13th, 2012 (purchased for $850)
  • 10 out of 10 points and recommended by (9 reviews)
    Color, contrast, build
    Maybe a little too wide for regular use. Very specific need for this lens

    Sample images on a canon with thi slens can be found here

    http://www.zeissimages.com/showgallery.php?lenstype=356

    reviewed September 14th, 2010