Expecting SLRGear.com? We’re moving our lens reviews to Imaging Resource! Read about it here.

Nikon 28-100mm f/3.5-5.6G AF Nikkor

 
Lens Reviews / Nikon Lenses i Not yet tested

Your purchases support this site

Buy the Nikon 28-100mm f/3.5-5.6G AF Nikkor
28-100mm $83
average price
image of Nikon 28-100mm f/3.5-5.6G AF Nikkor

(From Nikon lens literature) Use of aspherical lens element minimizes distortion for superior optical performance. Rounded diaphragm opening (7 blades) makes out-of-focus elements appear more natural. High-grade Nikon Super Integrated Coating offers superior color reproduction, while minimizing ghost and flare. Ultra-compact and 8.6 oz light.

Nikon 28-100mm f/3.5-5.6G AF Nikkor

Your purchases support this site

Buy the Nikon 28-100mm f/3.5-5.6G AF Nikkor
B&H Sweepstake Rules

Nikon 28-100mm f/3.5-5.6G AF Nikkor User Reviews

4.4/10 average of 5 reviews Build Quality 3.4/10 Image Quality 4.6/10
  • 3 out of 10 points and recommended by (1 reviews)
    light - small - cheap - good focusing range
    contrast not good at all - build quality - bad sharpness in the edges - backlight situations dismal

    To be clear: this is probably the worst lens I have ever come across. Apart from being cheap and light it's close to worthless. Maybe I've come across an especially bad specimen. Sure you can use it for landscapes with good light from behind or from the side and if you don't want to carry around you expensive lenses, but trust me: even though I'm far from a pixel peeper, this thing is not worth it on a full frame camera, and it probably makes no sense on an APS-C/DX camera for many people due to its lack of wide angle there. If you need a more or less disposable lightweight standard zoom with decent performance take the 28-80 G lens. It's quite a bit better in my opinion.


    http://www.hitsticker.com | http://www.printradiant.com | http://www.adstateagent.com

    reviewed November 3rd, 2015 (purchased for $100)
  • 7 out of 10 points and recommended by (1 reviews)
    Full frame FX, lightweight, inexpensive, good glass, very decent when stopped down.
    Plastic lens mount. All plastic body. Requires outofocus motor in camera body.

    I have used this lens on a D800 FX body and was surprised at the great daylight image quality given it's price and and some negative reviews I have read.

    First thing to note is that this lens was designed for full frame film use therefore equivalent to FX. It is probably a waste of time using it on a DX body as there are a number of inexpensive DX lenses available, designed for cropped frame sensors. On FX however, it offers a useful focal range and as with most zoom lenses, when stopped down to f8 or f11 in aperture priority mode it is really quite good with only a little softness in the extreme corners . The main image area is as sharp as many zooms in the mid price range and perfect with a little unsharp mask applied.

    If you are photographing in a hazardous, wet, dirty, dusty or sandy area, why risk your expensive zoom when lenses like this or it's equally good 28-80mm cousin are available and can give good service for 'peanuts' or the price of a filter?

    reviewed May 23rd, 2013
  • 4 out of 10 points and recommended by (8 reviews)
    none
    buit quality, optical quality

    Very bad lens.

    optical quality is very bad, soft at all apertures.

    Good zoom range, but you can print only 10x15cm.

    reviewed January 15th, 2007 (purchased for $100)
  • 3 out of 10 points and not recommended by (12 reviews)
    Expendable
    Everything else

    First of all, this is a kit lens, being delivered with the old analog SLRs, so some of you propably have one lying around and are checking if someone has found anything useful to do with this lens.

    If youre thinkin about buying this lens, the answer is: No, dont do it. Save your buck.

    This is a lens you put on your camera when your kids are going to play with it, or you want to take pictures at a place where you have to use full body protection suits.

    When you think youre lens might not live through the assignment, then this is the lens to use.

    reviewed December 21st, 2006 (purchased for $50)
  • 5 out of 10 points and not recommended by (8 reviews)
    The lightest zoom lens you will ever find
    One of the worst lens Nikon will ever produce

    This lens came with my F80, and I have been using it since until I bought my 18-35mm from Nikon about a year ago. Everything about this lens is plastic, save the electronic contacts and a couple of screws as much as I can see. Everything about it is loose and cheap in feel. Even now one of the mounts have chipped off, but it still works.

    Resolution of this lens is horrible, color is dull, focus is noisy though its no snail. There is two rings on this lens, the front which is just a small ring does the focusing, the larger one is the zoom. Is is not internal focus which makes using a polarizer difficult.

    All that said its still an ok lens. Something you can safely use to photography (like it did) photograph friends working at the metal workshop with sparks flying. I also made numerous large B&W prints using this lens, which turned out beautifully IMHO, partly because it is sharp (for its class).

    If you must, go buy any other lens other then this one. But if you already own one go ahead and use it as a throw-away lens (recycle if possible). Use it where you will not use other expensive lenses.

    reviewed December 16th, 2006