Nikon 28mm f/2.8 AIS Nikkor

 
Lens Reviews / Nikon Lenses i Not yet tested
28mm $500
average price
image of Nikon 28mm f/2.8 AIS Nikkor

(From Nikon lens literature) Standard manual focus wide-angle lens for landscapes and general photography.

Key Features:

  • Compact, lightweight wide-angle lens
  • Close Range Correction (CRC) system
  • 74-degree picture angle with edge-to-edge sharpness

Note: Available through special order only against confirmed and non-cancelable orders. Allow 60 to 120 days for delivery. Subject to limited availability.

Nikon 28mm f/2.8 AIS Nikkor User Reviews

9.7/10 average of 7 reviews Build Quality 9.7/10 Image Quality 9.7/10
  • 9 out of 10 points and recommended by (6 reviews)
    Great performer, sharp all over, minimal distortion, wide enough
    A bit soft at the edges at 2.8

    35mm at full frame has always been of my taste. It is wide enough to get a lot in your frame, but not too wide to distort it.
    The only complain with this one would be the a bit soft edges at 2.8. Other than that is a never-ever-regret lens.

    reviewed February 23rd, 2015 (purchased for $80)
  • 10 out of 10 points and recommended by (1 reviews)
    Great build quality, great perfoemace
    None

    I practically stole this item on ebay as used.

    It was and remains in apparent unused condition.

    I always store it bagged, unlike most.

    Best buy I've made in a long time!

    reviewed July 10th, 2013
  • 10 out of 10 points and recommended by (6 reviews)
    Sharp, contrast, color, beautiful bokey, no ca, no distortion, delight to operate.
    Have to go back to my other lenses sometimes.

    Mine is serial 825936 and i'm using it with a D7000.
    This lens gives incredible result when used at close and mid range. At f/2.8 it's already sharp from edge to edge and sharpest at f/5.6.
    Bokey is splendid,color vivid, contrast close to Zeiss 28mm f/2 ZF (I rented one few weeks ago and would't trade it for Nikon).
    I tried very hard to find something wrong with Nikon 28mm ai-s but I can't find any con.
    Using this lens is a charm: Focus ring is just the good grip and perfectly damped.
    The lens can focus very close at 0.2 ft and with good close up (Nikon 4T or Canon 250D) I use it for photographying flowers, insects,etc... with excellent results.
    When focused at infinite still a good lens but nothing to rave about. It then compares to my Tamron 17-50mm 2.8 at 28 mm. Difficult to see a difference.

    reviewed April 11th, 2013 (purchased for $150)
  • 10 out of 10 points and recommended by (7 reviews)
    Sharp, Super Optics and Nikon classic 28mm. Bargain!
    No AF but...

    CRC and 50mm filters. No AF, but since when did wide angles need it? Smooth Focus and beautiful bokeh. I use it on F3, and older F Film cameras. One of the finest 28mm out there at a very low cost.

    reviewed October 16th, 2012 (purchased for $240)
  • 9 out of 10 points and recommended by (52 reviews)
    Wide (on fullframe), SHARP! small & light, takes standard 52mm filters
    none

    It's a shame that Nikon doesn't make lenses like this anymore. It's a landscapers' & photojournalists' dream lens. small, tough, fast & delivers top performance. I used to lug this lens to my FM2/FM3 for hiking/trekking. It's a really wonderful combo. It produces SHARP images, even sharper than the AF-version (shame on you Nikon).

    I would highly recommend this lens especially for FX/fullframe users. It's easy. For the price (used) today, nothing can go wrong with this lens.

    reviewed October 14th, 2012 (purchased for $125)
  • 10 out of 10 points and recommended by (40 reviews)
    Small, lightweight, sharp, good contrast, close focus, all metal, price
    Manual focus

    Feel free to use this lens wide open at f/2.8, because it's sharp and contrasty enough. Distortion is minimal. The build quality of this lens is excellent. It's made of metal and virtually indestructible. Old school quality. Focussing is smooth and precise and easy to do with the large rubberized ring.

    Most modern camera's have focus confirmation (dot) which makes focussing easy to do. Everything works fantastic. As a nice bonus, with this model you can focus up to 20cm and the image still remains sharp!

    You can find them relatively cheap these days (at the time of this review that is) and if you are looking for a professional Nikon prime in this range I can highly recommend it.

    reviewed February 18th, 2012 (purchased for $260)
  • 10 out of 10 points and recommended by (1 reviews)
    Exremely sharp as sharp as Nikkor 16-35 Zoom, very contrasty, small, light, perfect andle of view for everyday street photography
    Availability used, price New! Manula focus for some (not me), Other than that nothing...

    The Nikkor 28mm f2.8 Ai-S is one of the sharpest Nikon lenses ever. The manual focus is great and smooth with a dream-like dampened action. It's light and small and easily fits into any camera bag, on the camera it's not heavy and bulky like some of the newer lenses from Nikon! I purchased this gem in Osaka, Japan used and it just won't come off my D700! I still have my 20mm AF-D lens but find the angle of view of this 28mm lens more accommodating for street photography which I mostly do. You don't have to get in too close to your subjects (people, etc.) which can be an issue these days in public metropolitan areas. There are different versions of this 28mm lens available so be sure you're getting the newer Ai-S model, I almost bought the Ai version, they are remarkably similar. The Ai-S version has the Nikon marking etched on the inside of the front lens as opposed to the outer edge which is the case for the Ai version.

    What this lens brings to the game is extreme corner to corner sharpness from f2.8 up with a noticeable contrasty images to go with it! I read this in a review and put it to a test at the shop in Osaka, later looking at the images on my computer I was simply amazed, rushed back to the shop and grabbed the lens! Never looked back.

    If you're thinking about this lens, let me save you some time... BUY IT!

    reviewed February 23rd, 2011 (purchased for $290)