Expecting SLRGear.com? We’re moving our lens reviews to Imaging Resource! Read about it here.

Sigma 15mm f/2.8 EX DG Diagonal Fisheye

 
Lens Reviews / Sigma Lenses i Not yet tested

Your purchases support this site

Buy the Sigma 15mm f/2.8 EX DG Diagonal Fisheye
15mm $478
average price
image of Sigma 15mm f/2.8 EX DG Diagonal Fisheye

(From Sigma lens literature) This digitally optimized diagonal fisheye lens is equipped with a new multi-layer coating technology that reduces both flare and ghosting. By taking advantage of both the distortion aberration, specific to fisheye lenses and the minimum shooting distance of 15 cm (5.9 in.), the photographer can shoot creative images.

The 180 degree field of view of this fisheye lens can be used to create amazing image expressions that cannot be seen with the human eye, such as exaggerated perspective and distortion.

The minimum shooting distance of this lens is only 15cm (5.9 in.) and it has maximum magnification of 1:3.8.

This lens is supplied with a gelatin filter holder at the rear, allowing the use of gelatin filters.

Sigma 15mm f/2.8 EX DG Diagonal Fisheye User Reviews

9.2/10 average of 6 reviews Build Quality 8.8/10 Image Quality 9.7/10
Write your own review! link will open to SLRgear.com
  • 9 out of 10 points and recommended by (10 reviews)
    Very sharp. Easy to use; small and light weight
    Tendency to overuse

    I was looking for an FX fisheye to replace my DX Nikon 10.5 Fish and it came down to this lens or the Nikon 16 f/2.8. The Nikon was over $200 more expensive and most reviews said this lens was slightly sharper. Both had the same 180 degree view somehow. This lens exceeded my expectations and produces very nice and very sharp images if I do my part. The only tendency is that some folks overuse fisheyes. It should be a very specialized lens.

    reviewed June 2nd, 2013 (purchased for $609)
  • 9 out of 10 points and recommended by (52 reviews)
    price, image quality, build quality
    bad finishing (body) paint

    Stellar performance for a fisheye lens. The lens is bright & fast. It's really fun to use. Simply set it in f/5.6 - f/8 and voila, all sharp images across the frame.

    I mostly use this lens for film (on my F75 or F90x). It brings great color saturation, sharpness & contrast across the images. It also comes in a small & light package. Like I've said earlier, it's a fun lens to use. If you see it, buy it. no regret!

    reviewed October 13th, 2012 (purchased for $360)
  • 9 out of 10 points and recommended by (12 reviews)
    sharp, sharper, Sigma 15.....
    none

    Very sharp!!! Very, very sharp on my 5 D M.II! Surprisingly good lens from Sigma, nearly without flaws, not much blooming, nice colours, good construction - BUY IT!!!

    reviewed March 19th, 2012 (purchased for $550)
  • 10 out of 10 points and recommended by (82 reviews)
    Fun sharp lens!
    I can't think of any...for a 15mm fisheye that has almost zero flare...super in my book!

    This is a great fun lens. I would save a lot of $$ and buy this fisheye over the Nikon and Canon versions...every bit as good.

    Here are some sample shots taken with a Nikon D200:

    Sigma 15mm f/2.8 EX DG Lens Photo Samples

    -Lex

    reviewed February 15th, 2008 (purchased for $500)
  • 9 out of 10 points and recommended by (24 reviews)
    good optic quality
    on APS-C sensor a 10mm would be better

    This is a nice lens! Very good optics with high resolution and only very few CA´s. Distorcion could be stronger - I would prefer 10-12mm (8mm are too much - I don´t like the full circle). Good buildings, I gave 9 in construccion and 9 in picturequality. A real fun lens with a hell lot of DOF !!!

    reviewed May 16th, 2007
  • 9 out of 10 points and recommended by (16 reviews)
    Fast, excellent IQ
    None

    What can I say...just an outstanding lens in every way.

    reviewed January 7th, 2007 (purchased for $370)