Expecting SLRGear.com? We’re moving our lens reviews to Imaging Resource! Read about it here.

Sigma 60mm f/2.8 DN "A"

 
Lens Reviews / Sigma Lenses i Not yet tested

Your purchases support this site

Buy the Sigma 60mm f/2.8 DN "A"
60mm $177
average price
image of Sigma 60mm f/2.8 DN "A"

(From Sigma lens literature) SIGMA 60mm F2.8 DN A | Art. This high-performance mid-range telephoto lens has an angle of view equivalent to 120mm on the Micro Four Thirds system and 90mm on the E-mount system (35mm equivalent focal length). Featuring the natural perspective and shallow depth of field,as well as beautiful bokeh effects, this lens allows the photographer to capture a single part of a subject. It brilliantly realizes the photographer’s intentions.

Sigma 60mm f/2.8 DN "A" User Reviews

10.0/10 average of 4 reviews Build Quality 9.5/10 Image Quality 10.0/10
Write your own review! link will open to SLRgear.com
  • 10 out of 10 points and recommended by (3 reviews)
    Very sharp
    Bit slow to focus on an OLympus E-P2 in low light but that is the Oly I think.

    Great lens, pin sharp on portraiture, excellent value and they include a hood and pouch which is a nice touch. Is very good at showing fine detail in the face. Get one!

    reviewed December 7th, 2013 (purchased for $211)
  • 10 out of 10 points and recommended by (4 reviews)
    Everything
    Nothing

    I echo the sentiments of the two posters below. Sharp and contrasty corner to corner with fast focus and excellent color wide open on an m4/3 size sensor. Even at the 120mm length, it makes an outstanding "across the street" walk-around lens if you like to see the world this way. The bokeh is a bit less creamy than my Pentax DA 70mm 2.4 with adapter, but is still quite good. If Sigma keeps this up, they could put a bit of a bite into the other lens makers' prices. Competition is good for us consumers.

    reviewed September 22nd, 2013
  • 10 out of 10 points and recommended by (40 reviews)
    Size, weight, excellent image quality, fast silent autofocus, metal barrel, outrageously low price
    None

    Updated: 2014/10/22

    Excellent lens for the price! It's super sharp with great contrast, the bokeh is good, CA is low, it doesn't flare easily, it focuses fast and accurate, the build quality is great and the price is outrageous. Sigma even included a lens hood and a sturdy pouch.

    With the camera turned off, a lens element moves freely inside the barrel. This makes a soft clunking sound. That's normal and part of the design. It's not broken. As soon as you turn on your camera, the element stays in place.

    There are some things that I don't like about this lens and that's the smooth shiny metal barrel. It attracts fingerprints, it looks stupid and it provides almost no grip. Also, the aperture rattles on my camera like the Panasonic 25mm f/1.4 and the AF system is slightly nervous and constantly (but softly) audible.

    If you don't need the special Olympus 75mm f/1.8 or the 60mm f/2.8 macro, this is the lens to get. It really is as sharp and contrasty, you won't miss out on anything. It's also sharper than the Olympus 45mm f/1.8. Again, this is amazing at this low price point. You should be able to find a like new second hand 60mm for about 120 dollars. That's a steal!

    I never liked the Sigma 19mm and 30mm (the new and old versions are optically identical). This 60mm definitely is something else! A gem and highly recommended.

    reviewed September 13th, 2013 (purchased for $120)
  • 10 out of 10 points and recommended by (26 reviews)
    OMG. Really for EU 169 it is rediculous what Sigma has done.
    You are kidding

    BUY THIS LENS FOR YOUR NEX! The greatest bang for the buck for NEX. Sharp as it gets.

    reviewed May 15th, 2013 (purchased for $199)