Expecting SLRGear.com? We’re moving our lens reviews to Imaging Resource! Read about it here.

Tokina 19-35mm f/3.5-4.5 AF 193

 
Lens Reviews / Tokina Lenses i Not yet tested

Your purchases support this site

Buy the Tokina 19-35mm f/3.5-4.5 AF 193
19-35mm $135
average price
image of Tokina 19-35mm f/3.5-4.5 AF 193

(From Tokina lens literature) The value and performance of this wide-angle lens soars to new heights. Whether you're shooting landscapes, group portraits, or travel shots, this lens was built to travel light. But it's no lightweight on quality. Tokina's AF 193 uses high-refraction, low-dispersion (HLD) all-glass optics made by Hoya Corporation and multi-coated with Tokina's exclusive anti-reflection coatings for outstanding optical performance in a value-priced lens.

An internal zooming ability allows the focal length to be adjusted without the overall length of the lens changing. Filters, such as circular polarizers and other special effects, can be used, and thanks to the internal focusing mechanism the filter will not move during focusing.

The AF 193 handles and travels easily due to its compact design and lightweight materials. Which is important because now you can have the benefits of a super-wide angle zoom lens with you all the time!

Tokina 19-35mm f/3.5-4.5 AF 193

Your purchases support this site

Buy the Tokina 19-35mm f/3.5-4.5 AF 193
B&H Sweepstake Rules

Tokina 19-35mm f/3.5-4.5 AF 193 User Reviews

8.8/10 average of 6 reviews Build Quality 9.0/10 Image Quality 8.5/10
  • 9 out of 10 points and recommended by (37 reviews)
    very sharp wide angle zoom
    few CA's

    when stopped down to f8-11, sharpness is really high.

    beautiful colors and bokeh

    reviewed January 31st, 2014 (purchased for $130)
  • 9 out of 10 points and recommended by (8 reviews)
    Sharp optics, built like a tank, bargain price
    None, especially when it's so cheap.

    A friend of mine kindly let me borrow his AF193 whilst I was deciding on a 'full time' lens for my EOS 40D. To my surprise (especially at the price) the Tokina is superb.

    Good: It's beautifully built, feeling very solid. It's sharp right to the corners when stopped down beyond f5.6 and focuses very quickly. I did a back-to-back with my Canon 17-40L today and in good light (ie sunshine outdoors) the Tokina is virtually identical, only with the Canon showing slightly richer colours. If anything, the Tokina is slightly sharper!

    Bad: Seems cruel to criticise at this price.

    Summary: If there's a true bargain out there in photo-land it's called the Tokina AF193. I'm seriously considering selling my 17-40L and going FF, using the Tokina as a super wide-angle. It's a fabulous little lens. Buy one (for not much £!) and enjoy it.

    reviewed July 3rd, 2013
  • 9 out of 10 points and recommended by (2 reviews)
    good build, IQ and sharpness. excellent price.
    a little soft wide open and could be faster

    I have had this lens as a temporary lens till I had enough money to purchase a Canon 17-40 f4L lens. Shot many family outings and parties with it. So far all pics have come out very sharp with good detail, color and contrast. I was pleasantly surprised. I did use a Canon 430ex flash with it indoors. Lens still performed very well. With the money I paid for it and quality of the photos I had gotten, I may just save my money for the 17-40 and keep this lens as my primary wide angle lens. Enjoy !!!

    reviewed January 22nd, 2007 (purchased for $100)
  • 8 out of 10 points and recommended by (1 reviews)
    Rapport qualité/pris - fabrication au top
    pare soleil en option

    très bon zoom grand angle que ce soit pour de l'argentique 24x36 ou pour du numérique à petit capteur.
    Une excellente qualité de fabrication, metal et très peut de plastique. Zooming et mise au point fluide et silencieux.

    Un achat à recommander surtout si vous avez un petit budget, ce zoom est d'un excellent rapport qualité/prix.

    ;-)

    reviewed December 29th, 2006 (purchased for $190)
  • 9 out of 10 points and recommended by (1 reviews)
    solid construction, good image quality already wide open, improves with stopping down, exceptional value
    somewhat stiff zoom ring (minor nuisance, might be just my copy), limited zoom range

    The Tokina 19-35mm is a rather exceptional lens. I had never seen before such a well-built and optically good zoom lens sell for just a little more than a hundred dollars. A lens that delivers both on crop as well as on full frame bodies!

    Very little on CA, little distortion, good contrast and sharpness, some flare, slightly warm.
    You will not be in Canon L Lens territority but - considering the price - surprisingly near.

    If the limited zomm range is no major obstacle for you go for it. This will be one of your no-regrets purchases (if you don't pick up a dud).

    reviewed December 9th, 2006 (purchased for $120)
  • 9 out of 10 points and recommended by (1 reviews)
    build like a tank
    non

    works on Eos 33V and Eos 30D.

    reviewed April 19th, 2006